We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A One Two Punch for a Perfect Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #26 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
st. Louis
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A One Two Punch for a Perfect Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I purchased a Living Social Coupon for the Royal Sonesta. I will admit that I did not pay particular attention to the details of the coupon as I knew the Royal Sonesta had a wonderful reputattion and I was happy to purchase a coupon for a room there. To my surprise the accomodatioins included coupons to the Royal Sonesta Cafe, Restaurant, and Night Club. What a great idea!! We never would have stopped by the night club, and what a shame that would have been! Some very talented musicians were present and we even purchased their cd.
The food at the cafe was great on the go and the Deisree Restarant had a wonderful lunch menu.

We were at the R club levef which I would reccommend to everyone. My adult family of four looked forward to the appetizer menu and abundant drink selection after a day of sight seeing .

The pool was terriific as well,

We were treated with the utmost courtesty and dignity at every level from the valet to the concierge.

The hotel was quiet, the rooms were really dark in the morning for sleep, and the beds were very comfotable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stlouisblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
We’re so happy to know that you had such an enjoyable stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel using your Living Social Voucher, including R Club concierge level accommodations, and credits to Desire Bistro & Oyster Bar, Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse, and PJ’s Coffee Café. We’re thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your authentic New Orleans experience all within our doors, and we hope you revisit us soon to try our newly opened fine dining venue with contemporary Louisiana cuisine, Restaurant R’evolution! Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,171
    1,082
    319
    107
    91
See reviews for
478
1,651
109
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. I had stayed there before for a convention back in 1991 and remembered that it was a lovely place. I wasn't dissappointed. It was still beautiful!

We lucked up on a 24-hour sale and got a good rate on the R-Club level (concierge level). I highly recommend staying on this level because breakfast and an evening reception are included at no additional charge. Our king room was small but nicely appointed. The breakfast was served from 7am to 9am in a small dining room on our hall and was very tasty. There were eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, pastries, cereal, yogurt, and fruit. Also, coffee, tea, cranberry juice, orange juice, and milk. The evening reception started at 5pm. It included cocktails or beer and a delightful array of hors d'ouerves. There is enough to fill you up if you only need a light supper. Of course, with all the wonderful restaurants in New Orleans, we just used this in place of ordering appetizers. The staff was wonderful and the concierge was right there if you needed any assistance. There was also a computer available only to R-Club guests.

The Royal Sonesta also has several restaurants but we only ate at one of them: Desire Oyster Bar. It was low-key and very delicious. We did go to the Jazz Club one night and it was also very enjoyable. The pool and garden area were beautiful!

The hotel's location is another thing that makes it a great place to stay. It was fun to walk down Bourbon Street and watch all the rowdy people, then escape into our quiet haven at the Royal Sonesta. (We did not have a room that overlooked Bourbon, which some people have said are noisy). Some of the places we wanted to go were right around the corner: Brennan's, GW Fins, the Hermann-Grima house, and the shops on Royal Street. Also, the St. Charles Street Car stop was only 2 blocks away and Harrah's, the French Market, and Jackson Square were also an easy walk for us 40-somethings.

Note: parking was an additional cost, but parking really is a premium in this area of New Orleans. Be sure to factor that in if you will be driving a car to the hotel.

I would absolutley recommend this hotel if you want a beautiful hotel right in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Recommend the R-Club level but it also would have been fun to stay in a balcony overlooking Bourbon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuschiaWallabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington Park, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

First time visiting the city, so I wanted to see the major attractions in New Orleans. This hotel has prime location on Bourbon Street, we were in walking distance of most of the attractions. The problem though is Bourbon Street is great for a night or two but the uncleaniness and rowdiness gets a bit old after that, we stayed for a week. Next time, I come back I'll choose a location off Bourbon with a bit more amenties such as in room fridge, microwave, and possibly in door pool (it rain alot during our stay). Good stay overall, mission accomplish.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnyaDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Hotel on your first visit to New Orleans! We’re glad that our convenient location in the French Quarter is exactly what you were looking forward to. We are sorry to read that Bourbon Street isn’t what you expected after a week’s stay, but please know the benefit of staying at the Royal Sonesta is the ability to have an authentic New Orleans experience all within our doors, from live jazz nightly at Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse and our casual and fine dining restaurants, to the locally brewed coffee at PJ’s Coffee Café. In addition, all the antique shops of Royal Street are a block away and the Riverboats and historical sites of the French Quarter also a short walk away. New Orleans is a small city with its major attractions just 10 to 15 minutes away. Our award winning concierges are always happy to help you plan your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, clean and comfortable. The bellhops were prompt and friendly. If you book with Expedia - they section off budget rooms that are very small- ask for an upgrade. But overall great experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Deebee527
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
We’re glad that you chose to stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel, and we appreciate your compliments! We hope you remember to revisit us next time you’re in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
238 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We chose the Royal Sonesta for its location and, surprisingly, pricing: the internet came up with a deal and we took it. This is an elegant hotel in classic southern style, positioned along Bourbon Street at the center of everything and a short walk from the rest of the French Quarter and the river. Pay parking is located around the corner underground, but was easy to find and secure.(although map guidance will help in finding it).

Check-in was handled well: there was a minor problem with the way that the reservation was booked, but the manager quickly stepped in to correct the problem without issue. The lobby is elegant, with nice inner courtyards and shops, restaurants and business facilities. The street noise is not a problem and the doormen keep the lobby clear. The hotel seems accessible throughout.

The rooms were crisp and clean, period-stylish without being overstuffed. The bed was firm and comfortable, there was local and cable television, in-room safe and coffee, a mini-fridge, and wifi access. The bathroom was clean and fresh - the shower / tub had good hot water and moderate pressure. The pool is outside in an upper courtyard, there is an adjacent bar and lots of chairs for sunning. It's a nice oasis apart from the rest of the French Quarter and is good if you are alternating active/passive periods during your vacation.

Recommended in any case, but especially if there is a special (or special occasion).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dave, thanks for your detailed review of your stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel’s positioning, ambiance and service teams all met your expectations. Please know that we do provide on-site, protected parking with optional valet service for your convenience. Thank you for your recommendation and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,119 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,690 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,899 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Property: Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,416 - ₹ 35,618
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing