We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bourbon st was party central!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Ranked #30 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel was a great location!! We had a balcony 2 n floor. If you like to party it is great, if you want quiet I do not suggest this hotel. Music & noise never ended! Hotel was beautiful, rooms could use an up grade, kinda aged.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and recommending the Royal Sonesta Hotel for a fun time due to our convenient location in heart of the French Quarter. We’re sorry if any street noise disturbed your rest. Please know we have many quiet interior rooms which face our lush courtyards or pool deck. Also note, we are currently renovating our 2nd to 5th floor guest rooms to a modern New Orleans influenced décor, expected to be complete by late this year. We hope you decide to come back to visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,648 - 3,652 of 4,501 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

We went to Christmas Brunch at the royal Sonesta this past (2011) Christmas Day and had an outstanding experience. From the moment we were greeted and walked through a hallway lined with every desert imaginable, the tour of the layout of all of the food stations, the impeccable service of our waiter, the high quality and sophistication of the food, the complimentary photographs, the great jazz band, the free flowing mimosa’s and open bar, and that we were not rushed at all. If you are looking to find a memorable and a very "Christmassy" way to spend the day look no further.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loriwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Thanks for attending our Christmas Brunch! It’s a wonderful way to spend the holiday with your friends and family surrounded by every dish you can think of…soup, seafood, carving & sauté stations, omelets & benedicts, fruit & cheese, sushi & caviar, salad, boulangerie, desserts, children's menu, along with the photographer, music and open bar! We are very grateful for your detailed feedback about this event, and we hope to celebrate other seasons with you this year! Also note, we do a weekly Sunday Champagne Brunch so no need to wait for the next holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend on the R Level of the Royal Sonesta and we could not have asked for a better experience. The hotel is beautiful and everyone there is very polite and helpful. On the R-Club level, everyone was so friendly and we really enjoyed talking to Janette and Khadija at breakfast and in the evening. They made us feel at home! Linda was also so helpful and made a wonderful recommendation at one of the restaurants.

We ate at Desire and the food was very good - especially the BBQ shrimp. The jazz club was very classy and the music was great. It is amazing to see people with such skill perform. The coffee house service was wonderful as well - and the turtle cheesecake there was outstanding!

We will definitely stay here the next time we go to New Orleans - which I hope to be soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celeste S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

And a grand experience. Everything was perfect - everyone was helpful. We stayed on the concierge floor and the appetizers and drinks were great. Staff was eager to help - and eager to make their guests smile! Loved the touch of fresh flowers everywhere. Good food, good music, and good times! Rooms were a little small, but you expect that in an older hotel. They make up for it with personal touches. And of course, everything the French Quarter has to offer is right there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Allison, we loved having you here and can’t wait to see you again. We’re so pleased to know that you found “everything perfect,” including your accommodations on the R Club concierge level, the convenient location, the food, the music, and the flowers. Thank you for your feedback and please come back soon to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We arrived the day after a Saints game and people were late checking out. The front desk was polite, apologetic and went above and beyond to accommodate us for the "inconvenience". The minute our room was ready, we received a call (while sipping cocktails and eating oysters off site) and when we arrived, our bags were waiting in the room.
Perfect location, phenomenal staff, great atmosphere and wonderful food!! We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

We’re sorry that check in was later than you expected, but we’re overjoyed that you used the opportunity to experience our “perfect location, phenomenal staff, great atmosphere and wonderful food.” We hope that the rest of your stay with us was just as enjoyable! Please come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,910 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,053 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,720 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,395 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 13,545 - ₹ 45,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing