We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and great service”
Review of Hotel Mazarin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mazarin
Ranked #5 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing location and great service”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel Mazarin March 15th through the 19th. It was a wonderful stay. The hotel is between Bourbon street and Royal street. Amazing location. Steps from Bourbon but we never heard any music from the bars. We did hear people when they walked down the hallway and we could hear the valet's honk the horns throughout the night.


The service at the front desk was outstanding. We had so many questions during our stay and the doormen and front desk staff did everything they could to answer our questions and help us out.

The rooms were a bit cramped but they were very attractive. The beds were very comfortable, especially the pillows. The tv's were huge and the view of the courtyard was nice. There wasn't a fridge or safe in our room but that didn't bother us. My complaint about the bathroom was the lack of shelf space at the sink and the missing door on the shower. Even if we aimed the shower head to the side all of the water would splash out on the ground.

The breakfast was good when it was full. Sometimes the food went quickly but the staff was always working hard to refill it.

The best part of this hotel had to be the location. We didn't have a car for the week and we only needed a taxi to and from the airport, commander's palace and the old new Orleans rum distillery. Other than that we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texas07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,974
    956
    181
    89
    28
See reviews for
632
2,351
102
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I would like to rate this better than average, because it really is a lovely place, and fabulously located. It has the perfect New Orleans "feel", and was very clean and friendly. I love the open-air courtyard, and small lobby. The staff was awesome. We asked for water because it was in the room at arrival, and it was there before we could blink! Our balcony room was very nice and modern with marble floors and wonderful shower. Now the downside - although there is a small shelf above the sink, this is one of those bathrooms with a pedestal sink and no counter, so all of my hair accesories and makeup was in my bag on the floor. There is a perfect space for a corner rack/shelving unit beside the sink which needs to be added. The main reason I cannot rate it higher is the extreme noise level. I take fault since I rented a balcony room, but be prepared to stay out all night because the noise is unrelenting. As soon as I would fall asleep, another group would drive by blowing horns, and belting out rap music. I might as well have been in the car with them. You could actually hear conversations of drunk people. This went on until 4-5am. You just want to say "Quit blowing you #**$$ horn and playing rap music"! I'm all for staying out late and partying, but this was beyond that level of intelligence. This is not the hotel's fault obviously, but be wise when choosing your room.

Room Tip: Read my review first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slinger, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here on our first visit to New Orleans and we'll definitely be back. Great location in the French Quarter. Room was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Complimentary breakfast buffet was real food - eggs, bacon, oatmeal, grits, coffee, juice, cereal and croissants from the in-house bakery. All staff were extremely helpful, from front desk to housekeeping to the doorman. It was very nice to spend time in the quarter, then return to a clean and quiet room at night.

Room Tip: Had a room on the fifth (top) floor that faced the street. Despite the close proximity to Bourbon St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and New Orleans is great. The hotel is recently renovated and the rooms were fantastic with an excellent bed.
The free breakfast was fantastic.
Free wi fi.
The best location in NO, only a half block from Bourbon st yet not the noise of the party goers.
The staff were great also.
About a $30 cab ride ...with tip to airport.
We had a room on the second floor facing the courtyard and any noise from that area came into the room. This area is used for breakfast and also for functions and the noise from staff setting up tables is annoying. From our room we heard the guest rolling their luggage along the tiled walkway in front of our room. This hotel would rate excellent if they put some work into soundproofing the rooms more.
Overall a great stay....the position .....great.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank knowhowtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had a wonderful time earlier this week here. Got our reservation through Bookit and saved a lot of money. Beautiful courtyard where they serve a buffet breakfast every morning, enough food to keep you going til lunch. Beds are amazing and I really wanted to take a pillow home! Close enough to walk to everything, but not so close as to be bothered by crowds. I had no problem with noise. Staff makes all the difference. They are really very friendly and enjoyed telling us some of the history. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Would not pay extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie_r30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,125 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,562 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,107 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,043 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mazarin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mazarin

Property: Hotel Mazarin
Address: 730 Bienville St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,292 - ₹ 26,132
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mazarin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious boutique hotel in the heart of the quarter. Enjoy the following complimentary amenities: Wi-Fi, Breakfast, Fitness and Business Center access, In-room Bottled Water & Coffee, Local Calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mazarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Louis New Orleans
Hotel Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing