We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only thing good about this place was the location”
Review of The Pelham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pelham
Ranked #87 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Only thing good about this place was the location”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

They advertise this hotel as being "This historic landmark hotel offers 60 uniquely appointed guestrooms featuring grand 18 foot ceilings, original old brick walls, crown molding and 10 feet tall windows". So that was my expectation. I arrived later in the evening in the pouring rain. No valet parking, you have to park the car near the hotel out front, then the "valet" will go get it at some point and move it. There is no one on staff to greet you outside.

When I entered the building, the gentleman barely looked up at me. When I asked about the valet, he said "pffffhhhh we don't have no valet, just leave the car, someone will get it tomorrow". I was tired from traveling, driving etc and just wanted to go to bed. Looking forward to the ambiance, antique setting of a historic hotel.

Unfortunately for me my room was on the 3rd floor, right next to the elevator, and there were NO windows. There were old stains on the carpet, and everytime someone got in the elevator, I heard the squeaky up and down. I called to say I had no window, it was very small, didn't look real clean, and I felt claustrophobic, It was like I was in someone's closet. "Sorry, there are no other rooms available". I booked and paid for this room 4 months in advance.

The amenities were fair to average. Old television, no flat screen and few channels. No place to really put my suitcase, room was too small unless I wanted to unpack and throw everything in the closet.

If it wasn't so late I would have left to find other accommodations. At about 4AM I was awoken by a very loud beeping sound, that would not stop. I called downstairs and was told "well I didn't hear anything". Gee, maybe because I am 3 floors up. Could you get off your lazy butt and come check it out? After an hour of this noise, I went outside my room, and could hear it in the hallway. Turns out it was an alarm from the adjacent room which was vacant. If he had taken 5 min to check, then this problem could have been easily resolved.

Check out was fine, they were probably happy to see me leave. I would never stay here again. It needs a MAJOR renovation, upgrades, and a good cleaning! I will say that the person at the front desk did comp me part of the room rate (I would have fought the charge anyhow) and she apologized but the experience was terrible.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donitta21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    214
    76
    30
    29
See reviews for
98
181
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littlerock
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Pros -
Location
Price of room
customer service
great restaurant next door
atmosphere and history
comfortable bed

Cons -
LACK OF A/C (really hot and stuffy)
No windows to open
$30 car valet daily

Room Tip: Bring a small fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Located steps from the French Quarter, casino and Warehouse District. The staff were amazing & fantastic breakfast at the Ruby Slipper located within the Hotel. Joseph was extremely helpful and loved his recommendation of The Chophouse restaurant located just down from the Pelham. During our 3 day stay we had the unusual experience of when we could make our room available so they could install double glazing to our windows which the manager promised would only take an hour, when we arrived back that afternoon the windows had being installed and we could not believe the difference during the night, it was so quiet and peaceful. Our room was beautifully appointed, carpet was dated, new bathrooms, antique furniture. Loved the Pelham. I will def stay again!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark09ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I recently travelled to New Orleans and I needed nice, inexpensive place to stay and Pelham was just it. Great location!Quiet area and the best service ever-thank you Thomas for your excellent service, you should be promoted or get a raise!!Hopefully we will see you in Montreal sometime:)Joseph- you were cool too:)Whenever I will be back in New Orleans I will stay in this hotel again if Thomas is still working there.
To all the people with AC problems-ask how to fix it and the stuff will help you...And if you do not like the room you get(cause some of them do not have windows) ask for another one,if one is available I'm sure the boys will change it for you
The resto was very good as well-I totally recommend it

Room Tip: Some rooms have no windows (so choose wisely) and AC has a movement detector- you can override it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agababajaga13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed at The Pelham for a wedding and throughly enjoyed our stay.we stayed in room 201 with a king,beautiful room,new bathroom,high ceilings,friendly informative staff,Hotels restaurant Ruby Slipper serves a fantastic breakfast,but does not open for dinner,we had to wait 30 minutes to get in,highly recommend .Fantastic Location

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#43 of 162 in New Orleans
1,241 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelham? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham

Property: The Pelham
Address: 444 Common St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2415
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#85 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,517 - ₹ 19,551
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pelham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelham Hotel is in the heart of what you come to New Orleans for. Only minutes from the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino, the Riverwalk and the Warehouse District, distinctive styling, uncompromised convenience and a friendly staff await you. Historically located on a site that was formerly the plantation of Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, founder of New Orleans, the Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old-world European grace. The hotel offers the luxurious living standards of elegant New Orleans combined with personal attention and an unwavering commitment to your happiness. This historic landmark hotel offers 60 uniquely appointed guestrooms featuring grand 18-foot ceilings, original old brick walls, crown molding and 10-foot-tall windows. Each room is fitted in imported white linens, duvets and antique furnishings. In-room amenities include a self-programmable safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and radio alarm clocks with iPod/MP3 connections. Marble floors, granite vanity tops and curved shower rods adorn each bathroom. Adjacent to the Pelham Hotel is the highly acclaimed Ruby Slipper Restaurant, featuring local flavors such as BBQ Shrimp & Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. Surf the web or catch up on some work with peace of mind as all guests of the Pelham Hotel can enjoy free wireless Internet access! Hotel is 100% Smoke-Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pelham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham Hotel New Orleans
Pelham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing