We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm in New Orleans”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Park
Ranked #88 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Winters, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Old World Charm in New Orleans”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We recently traveled from California to Pensacola, Florida by way of New Orleans... Southwest doesn't fly into Pensacola, Mobile, or Gulfport. In any case, it was a day of travel, and I knew I wouldn't be up to the almost four-hour drive upon arrival. I checked TripAdvisor to see what the best option would be for my family for a one-night stay in New Orleans. I settled on the Prytania Park Hotel, which turned out to be perfect! I loved the charm and character of the old world home away from home; seemed almost Victorian, what with the dark wood doors and floors. Our room was on the second floor and came furnished with a queen bed, armoire, dresser, television, refrigerator, microwave, and to top it off, a loft with two twin beds and a dresser. Having two young adult children makes finding the perfect hotel a little difficult when we all travel together, but I must say this place was perfect. Free wi-fi was available and a continental breakfast was served. The free parking makes this hotel almost too good to be true. One block to the St. Charles Street Car stop, which takes you right into the French quarter, the stop also happens to be right in front of the Voodoo BBQ - check out their reviews, the food was awesome! I imagine we'll be back - hopefully for a little longer stay so we can enjoy the magic that is New Orleans.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedandmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guest,
I want to take a moment to Thank You for writing your review. With all the traveling and keeping up with the kids, I remember when you checked in and how tired you were from the day's travel. I appreciate knowing we were able to make your brief time in New Orleans, and with the Prytania Park a memorable stay. The beginning of your vacation started out to be wonderful, and I am sure the rest of it on the Florida Gulf Coast was too. Have a safe trip home, and see you next time you are in our area. Your room awaits your return.

Fondly,
Dori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    340
    98
    26
    54
See reviews for
183
287
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Loved this hotel, it was an awesome deal! My kids 6&7, loved loft style sleeping area and fought over who got to sleep up there. Great convenience to the convention center and French quarter. I will definitely stay here again if we had to venture this way. We were here for a cheer competition so it was a great value for us. If u stay here make the walk to Surrey's Juice Bar, awesome food and fresh juices!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsChuckCheermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Clap, Clap, High V- CheerMom, Go, Fight, Win!!!..... Thank you for finding time between competitions to write to us. I know how busy you are, as I too have had cheerleading daughters. The loft room is very unique and so I can definitely understand how you stated they fought as to who was going to sleep upstairs. It does make for a nicer stay when ever you have some separation from the kids and you are still in the same room. Keep the Pom-Pons ready for a return trip to New Orleans, as their is another competition here in March. We hope to see you then.

Fondly,
Dori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed for 4 nights over the new year period at an expensive rate (fair enough, it was over new year and other hotels were the same price). At check in, the guy we spoke to seemed distracted by a taxi outside and although he wasn't rude, he failed to give us any information about breakfast, how to get to our room, and even (after we asked) gave us directions to a lift which doesn't exist.

The room was reasonable, with a second bed reached by climbing a tight spiral metal staircase. The bathroom was tiny, and it was difficult to close the door when using the toilet.

Location is pretty good, there's a short walk to a selection of bars and restaurants on St. Charles Street, or you can catch the streetcar which takes you directly to the French Quarter. We also walked to the French Quarter and back a couple of times and it was fine.

"Breakfast" was a bit of a joke, there's no designated room for breakfast so there's just a table set up outside with coffee, some cereals and some pastries. It was cold, so we had to take stuff back to our room although the selection was so bad that we had to have a second breakfast elsewhere anyway.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alexdodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
I am truly sorry they did not completely enjoy their stay. Most European's find the hotel quite charming, as it reminds them of days gone by back home. The distraction of the cab was unfortnate, as there were 2 grps of guests fighting over who's cab it was. It was New Years weekend, need I say more? We would never intentionally ignore our guests or giving out important details. He apologized to them, but it did not seem to matter.

Being in an "historic" district, we were barred from putting in a "lift" (elevator), as the housing for it would have to stand above the roof life and that is not allowed. We show pictures of the courtyard in various web sites, but with a 2 story courtyard hotel, one must not just assume there is an elevator. If a guest needs help getting his luggage up, we have personel to lend a hand. Typically, we ask if we see alot of luggage, or if its someone clearly obvious that might not be able to handle the stairs. This was not the case.

The loft style rooms are very unique, and all websites show the spiral staircase that one must climb. We did make the shower/commode area smaller, but the sink/vanity dressing area much larger than the standard, which is usually more important to a guest, with its spansive natural Italian Travertine marble top and triple wide mirrors.

On our Contemporary side, (80% of rooms), are modeled after a small courtyard in, where breakfast is served in the courtyard with trays to carry back to your room. We do have seating for those who wish to sit around the courtyard, but in winter, it does present a challenge. It is a 'continental" breakfast with some additions to the menu. We just recently purchased the adjacent property, that we have planned to make a breakfast room that will serve a hot breakfast. This project won't be complete for a while as we must go through re-construction with it.

Thank you,
Dori H Schulman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
219 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This old New Orleans home converted to a Garden District hotel is convenient, clean, updated. It can be noisy-this is New Orleans, right? The rooms are nicely appointed with microwave, fridge, non working fireplace, and wood floors. The last thing is the problem-the other guests coming in and out, rolling suitcases on wood floors can be a bit noisy. The location is fantastic. A one block walk will take you to the streetcar and you can be in the French Quarter in a lot less time than you can find reasonably priced parking in the Quarter.

The hotel provides the typical Continental breakfast but why would you do that when you could walk the 3-4 blocks to Surrey's? The free parking at the hotel will help you afford going to one of the great restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Texastravelers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carthage, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Nice, helpful staff, great rooms, well maintained property. Not fancy, but quaint and comfortable. Location was safe within the property, but one street over got a little rough. Just don't go down that street. No seedy characters ventured near the hotel to hang around the outside parking lot of the hotel property, and there was a watchman at the edge of the parking lot on Saturday night. It is a short distance to the streetcar stop (near Voodoo BBQ), and it is sparse of pedestrians, so that part of the walk at night(St. Charles) was a little bit shaky. We were nervous because we were in a part of the city we did not know a lot about, and because there were no crowds or businesses open there. We had no problems, though, just walked speedily until we turned the corner onto Terpishore and saw the parking lot in the distance. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumsie75633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
I go greatly appreciate you taking a moment out to right a review, and wish to Thank You. But I do need to clarify for the readers to ease their mind about their safety, we are a very urban city, and like most, things look scarier than they really are.
On the main drag, St. Charles, where the Streetcar is, it is multi-faceted, with businesses, and restaurants alike. Of course, the businesses are closed in the evenings, but all the restaurants are open til late, some past mid-night, some open 24 hrs. From fine dining to Burger-King. There are always ppl walking, but just not as many as during the day. The pedestrian traffic slows down at night as most either take the Streetcar in the late afternoon –early evening, but by dinner time, they either drive, themselves or go by taxi, just for the sake of speed to dinner reservations in the Quarter or just not wanting to mess up a nice outfit or a pair of shoes walking.
Our main streets for walking are very well lit. St. Charles Ave is highly visable at night with all the hi pressure sodium street lamps, so is Prytania. But the main difference is Prytania Street is lined with Large Tall Live Oak trees that create a canopy and can shadow the light.
As with every major city, one must always be cautious when walking at night, no matter where you are walking to and from. It does not matter if you are all females or with male companions, always be smart about it is a good rule of thumb.
We offer Security from 6pm to wee hours of the morning, to watch over our 3 hotels, parking lots, and area to ensure our little niche of the Lower Garden District remains peaceful and quiet. Most hotels in New Orleans have Security guards, as do most hotels in all urban cities. We are not the exception due to our location.
As long as your aware of our surroundings and are smart about it, it is fine to walk to and from our hotel to the F/Q, or Uptown areas, day and night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#112 of 161 in New Orleans
234 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#72 of 161 in New Orleans
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Property: Prytania Park
Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#76 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,220 - ₹ 11,986
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing