We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 4 star, great location”
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
Ranked #18 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed during Mardi Gras, ideal location, very close to everything but also far enough away from late night revellers on Bourbon to ensure good nights sleep. Reception staff very helpful and friendly, easy and quick check-in. Didn't eat in the hotel as lots of places to eat nearby. Rooms on the small side and bathroom not very big (with a leaky faucet). Hotel overall is great but lacks some attention to detail. Had to ask for hand towels one night, and had a different number each night for 3 nights. Worth becoming part of the guest programme (free morning Tea and coffee delivered to room and free wi-fi)

Didn't have a car so can't comment on valet parking but the garage is right next door.

When busy the bar service can be a little slow (but it was Mardi Gras, so forgivable).

The concierge was very helpful and friendly, always ready with a smile. If you are thinking of going on a swamp tour or plantation tour, book them through the hotel, I wished that I had.

Visited cafe Beignet for breakfast , just a short walk away; very good value.

Didn't use the pool as it was quite cold in the wind but the top terrace has great views. Disappointed that the pool cafe wasn't open while we were there.

I would still recommend this hotel despite the minor issues above. As a Brit visiting the USA the room size is not an issue for us and the overall location, friendliness of the staff, and general atmosphere would attract me back again

Room Tip: there were 4 of us, (2 couples) and we had one room at the front of the hotel overlooking the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timbo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,977 - 3,981 of 4,786 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

The bathroom faucet leaked onto the counter and floor, causing a puddle we had to keep soaking up with towels. There aren't enough outlets in the room. Front desk employee was snooty and unfriendly. Some parts of the hotel are musty and unclean. Location is great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We looked around and found the perfect place to renew our vows. The Omni hotel is in the middle of the French Quarter, which made it the perfect place to stay. Guests could easily walk anywhere to enjoy the French Quarter. The hotel staff was wonderful. They made our day perfect with suggestions and set up. Being that we are from New York, it can be challenging to have a destination party. We had our cocktail hour on a terrace, then we went inside to enjoy a 5 piece jazz band. The hotel was beautiful and clean.I would highly suggest the Omni hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveart07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I stayed the weekend 1 1/2 weeks before Mardi Gras. Good Mardi Gras vibe, but with much less hassle. Overall, we liked this hotel, and would come again.

The positives ...

- Great location. Easy walk to most things in the FQ, but still quiet near the hotel.
- Nice New Orleans feel to the whole hotel.
- All the staff was excellent, with no exceptions.
- Go to the roof for a nice view of the area.
- Bed was way comfy. We slept well.

The negatives ...

- A bit run down. Rooms need new carpet, and other updating.
- TV was a 20 inch old style tube version. We don't watch TV much, so we didn't care.
- We stayed in a petite queen room. By US standards, it is a small room. By European standards, it is a standard size room. This didn't bother us too much.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor facing the inner courtyard. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgemTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hotel wsas very nice and right in the French Quarter. The staff was extremely gratious and helpful. We were on a busines trip but found time in the evening to enjoy fabulous meals and listen to cool music. We of course had crawfish etoufee, boudin, gumbo, and beignets at the Cafe DuMonde. Hotel was on St. Louis and Royal and only 2 blocks from Bourbon St. Listened to buskers right outside the hotel and recommend Tuba Skinny. Cool blues/jazz. Their website is tubaskinny.tk.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artelting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,239 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,522 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,252 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,479 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 11,417 - ₹ 29,517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni Royal Orleans offers graceful elegance in a landmark New Orleans French Quarter hotel. Located on the most fashionable corner, St. Louis at Royal, the hotel has received the Four Diamond luxury award for the past 31 years and has earned the Pinnacle Award for meeting services. Our full property renovation, completed in March 2013, incorporates modern amenities with classic design in our guest rooms, including 24 new iconic wrought-iron balconies and redesigned public spaces inspired by the liveliness of the area's culture through various color palettes and artwork. Whether you're visiting New Orleans for work or play, you're in excellent company – Omni Royal Orleans is truly the place to see and be seen. Our popular Zagat-rated Rib Room – Rotisserie Extraordinaire has been the haunt of literary greats and the politically infamous for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing