We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olivier House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2017

I stayed with my two teenage daughters for five days and had a great time. We had a split level room right by the pool which was beautiful. The girls loved the pool and having our room so close to it was great because at night when it was not so busy, it was almost like having a private pool all to our self's. One of the coolest things that happened was one night we saw one of the staff checking a room and we asked if we could look in the room, since we had been told that all the rooms are different. He let us look at it and then asked if we would like a tour of the building since it was Sunday night and a lot of people had checked out that day. We saw the old stables, the original kitchen with its huge fireplace, the servants quarters, even the old attic storage space, all of which are now guest rooms. Also we had a chance to see the old creole cottage which also makes up part of the hotel. We would have loved to have seen the Petite Masion also, but it was occupied.
The room had everything you would expect of any good hotel, good A/C, great bed and linens, etc. but what made it for us was the beauty and uniqueness of all the rooms and public areas. So different from the chain hotels. I think that most of the buildings that make up the hotel are around 200 years old and you can sometimes see the wear of that many years of hands touching or rubbing on doors , furniture, etc. That kind of character cannot be built.
The staff is first rate and seem so sincere and casually gracious in helping people. My daughters, being teenagers, loved that and actually felt comfortable asking for recommendations about what to see and where to eat.
If you are looking for a true New Orleans experience, I would highly recommend the Olivier House hotel.

Room Tip: One or the staff told me that if you ask at check in time, they will let you look at whatever rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katiesnkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Any time we stay in New Orleans I try to stay somewhere authentic to the area. This place did not disappoint in that aspect! The staff was extremely polite and helpful. We stayed in a two bedroom suite that was very spacious. It did have two bathrooms as advertised, however, there was only one shower but it was still nice to have two sinks and two toilets for the 5 of us. My main reason for the 3 stars is because the room was very musty. Like I already stated, we typically stay in the older buildings so some might feel that this is just part of it. The smell did not bother the others in my family but I do have asthma and it did affect me. That's the only reason that I'm putting this out there so that if you have a breathing issue then this might not be the place for you. If you don't and you want authentic New Orleans feel and to be close to bourbon street without all the noise then this place is great! The courtyard is very small but there is a pool. It needed to be cleaned but there were several people who did use it (we did not and my children had no desire to use it because it was not as clean as they are use to from ours).

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Crystal Kight T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Absolutely loved our stay at Olivier House. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. There is a lot of character in this hotel, very quirky. Great location about half a block from Bourbon Street. $25 for parking was competitive with all the surrounding hotels. We were able to park on the street one of our two days. I loved this hotel and definitely will plan to stay again. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shanynr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for four nights and loved it, the room was great. The AC kept it perfectly cool, even in the summer heat of New Orleans.

Showers were great with good water temperature and pressure. Bedding and pillows were comfortable and we enjoyed the pool, which is in a lovely courtyard with lots of lush greenery.

The main thing that really made our stay was the authentic New Orleans ambiance of the restored building and the helpful staff. If you don't like 180 year old architecture or antiques then you should stay at one if the generic hotels instead. However for people who want something different I would highly recommend the Oliver House Hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank lctravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Before I booked the room, I read a lot of reviews. After reading review after review espousing what a great place it is, I almost worried I might go there expecting too much and be disappointed! I need not have worried. In all ways, it more than surpassed what I was hoping for.
The whole place has such a cool, old world feel about it. It feels much more like a quaint old European style hotel than the usual "cookie cutter" hotels that plague American cities. I guess the big sterile chain hotels have their place. I don't mean to sound elitist, but maybe not everyone gets the "authentic experience" idea. The review entitled "Birthday Visit" made me realize that the Oliver House is not for everyone. Some people feel more comfortable in a more generic or standard hotel. If as that reviewer said, you wish to order food (in New Orleans?), need a big elevator, a security guard, think the outside halls in an authentically renovated historic property should be air conditioned or think that it is a negative thing that the hotel has a fan (along with an iron, ironing board and hairdryer) in the closet, then the Oliver House is definitely not for you.
As for me, I can't wait to go back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jürgen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,795 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,150 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,537 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,250 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivier House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivier House Hotel

Address: 828 Toulouse St., New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 9,118 - ₹ 25,725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olivier House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olivier House Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the French Quarter of New Orleans. It is a unique and historic property that was originally constructed in 1839 as a Creole townhouse for the wealthy Olivier family. It has been privately owned and operated as the Olivier House Hotel since 1970. The hotel offers 42 unique guest rooms, lovely public areas, a refreshing outdoor pool, and paid off street parking. The Olivier House Hotel maintains a feeling of old world New Orleans, while providing modern conveniences such as free wireless internet and flat screen TVs in all rooms. The Olivier House Hotel represents New Orleans, and feels a responsibility to share our unique history, traditions, and culture in order to enhance the experience of guests to our city. Guests at the Olivier House Hotel can feel at home in the French Quarter, while experiencing the best New Orleans has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Olivier House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivier House Hotel New Orleans
Olivier Hotel New Orleans
Olivier New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing