We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel great location great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #70 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location great value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Very good hotel pwalking distance to about anything you'll ever desire! Great customer service! True the bathrooms are "One butt" baths but an overall good place to stay. Only negative is large number of smokers near the front door in the evenings. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    1,328
    680
    215
    105
See reviews for
450
806
125
1,155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Me and my two sons and wife stayed at this Marriott on Canal St. at the edge of the French Quarter! It was great stay the staff was polite and quite helpful with all our needs! Located close to everything, Bars and Eaters and Casinos! We went for a convention and stayed for a hurrican. Hurrican Isaac. Not a hurrican from pat o brians but we did have a couple of those too! The pool and spa area was great and the view of the river and jackson square unfogettable! We will return...maybe for Mardi Gras! Thanks guys and keep up the good job!!!!!!!

Room Tip: •"Corner suites are large and have breath taking views of the city and a refrigerators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinosciambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Picked up some cheap flights and a good Priceline price on this hotel for quick weekend jaunt to NOLA. Some have noted that the New Orleans Marriott is not a "true four-star hotel." Tha may be true, but my own experience has taught me you have to give any hotel in the Big Easy a one-star handicap. With the Marriott at the Priceline price, we got more than our money's worth. It is located on Canal just close enough, but not too close, to Bourbon Street. You are steps to the trolleys and walking distance to most of the French Quarter attractions. The hotel itself was pretty clean, quiet (by New Orleans standards) and comfortable. It had all the amenities we needed, including a Starbucks EMRR (early morning recovery room) in the lobby. But beware: extras like wi-fi charges and parking can add up fast here so we just avoided using them. Service was good and the staff very friendly. All in all, if you are looking for a good quality stay at a more than reasonable price with most of the good and little of the bad about proximity to the Quarter, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get a higher floor on the inner courtyard and pool area you can avoid some of the late ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullzfanzclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I love New Orleans. We decided we'd spend our 5 year anniversary at Marriott because we spent our first night as husband and wife in a Marriott in Nashville. We arrived at 8:30pm on a Friday night which happened also to be the Saints vs Texas game weekend. The check in process was smooth and fast. The lady gave us a city view in room 2719. The elevators are upgraded to the Miconic 10 system so you put your floor number in rather than up/down. It's quite an efficient process and the elevators were easy and fast our entire stay. Watch out for people not understanding. We had to help several people. The room was clean mostly and smelled fresh. They are small rooms but if you plan on being in your room the entire time, why visit Nola!? So we dropped our bags and went off on our journey. We Got a bloody Mary at the lobby bar. Very friendly bar staff. The lobby is huge and clean and well organized with the bar, a full service Starbucks, and the 555 restaurant. There are comfortable seats and couches and tables everywhere so the hotel in itself provides a great atmosphere for lounging and people watching. We took our drinks to the pool area. I was amazed at how nice the two pools were. Most New Orleans pools are the size of a hot tub but these were huge and have changing color lights. The pool furniture was in great shape and very comfortable. We came in contact with many of the staff from security to valet and every single person was helpful and kind. The behind the scenes staff seemed well organized. Several elevators had spills and other various messes that were cleaned quickly. The area around the hotel is well lit, highly populated and clean. The negatives were few and insignificant but the shower was slow to heat up and the pressure was too low. There was a small amount of mildew (NOT mold, believe it or not not all black stuff is mold!!!) in the grout and on the ceiling directly above the shower. I believe this is because for the life of us we couldn't find a fan switch. The tub drain was slow and the coffee drawer was dirty and had used sugar/ equal packets in it. Again, just small things. Checkout was efficient except getting our car. The management did warn everyone that getting your car out of valet would be a longer wait the line was easily 50 people long and we were grumpy and ready to complain but honestly they were working super fast and we had our car within 25 minutes. Hotel staff was very efficient and worked the best they could to accomodate so many check outs. They were also directing traffic so that the exit garage didn't back up. We did many fun things during our two day stay and Marriott truly felt like a home away from home. When coming in from other adventures it was so nice to have a place to sit and relax down in the lobby. Sat night we ate our Icecream down on one of the couches. I highly recommend this particular Marriott. The rooms were well insulated and we hardly heard any outside noise. We were able to take a few naps and sleep undisturbed. We stayed at Doubletree once and could not sleep at all because of poor insulation. We will definitely make this Marriott our home when we come to Nola! Overall this hotel runs like a well managed machine. A very nice experience!

Room Tip: Ask when you checkin for a river or city view. The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1njen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The hotel was not the top of the line..BUT you cannot beat the location. I was able to walk everywhere, even in the summer heat. Be careful at night because some areas around Bourbon Street can get a little sketchy...but as long as you stay on the lighted paths you should be fine. Room service is a little slow (I requested more towels and shampoo and it took 40 minutes and multiple calls) but it is a big and busy hotel. Free internet in the lobby which was nice because you can meet lots of new faces there and I was there during the Olympics so it was alot of fun. Overall for the price and location, I would return to the Marriott in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladylana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#57 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#78 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,891 - ₹ 25,671
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing