We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel's lack of charm is overcome by excellent service and good location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Orleans Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Orleans Marriott
Ranked #72 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel's lack of charm is overcome by excellent service and good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is my second review on this hotel. I came last year by myself for a conference and returned this year with my family. This is a standard run-of-the-mill conference hotel. The rooms are fine, but nothing extraordinary.

I choose to stay here with my family because the location is great and the reviews are so spotty on all of the other New Orleans hotels. There are different routes to take with the kids and avoid some portions of Bourbon Street. It is secure. The security staff is nice and polite, but still vigilant.

The bellman and valet parkers are super nice, make you feel at home, and will have your car ready on time. The concierge ladies that found my Blackberry last year are still here. Upon check-in, a waitress from the 55 Restaurant found me a map and explained the transit system to me. We saw her again at breakfast and she was super nice again - offering a transit time to our swamp tour in Slidell and wishing us well. The check-in person was friendly also, offered us an upgrade, and easily swapped out the $10 gambling certificate for 4 passes to the Aquarium.

The charm in this hotel is the people. Be friendly, keep an open mind, and they are so happy and willing to help you enjoy your trip to New Orleans. The employees seem to enjoy their job and our rightfully proud to show off their awesome city.

Room Tip: I think the river view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestFamilyTvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    1,309
    669
    214
    104
See reviews for
438
796
125
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (918)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victorville, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I received excellent service at this hotel and received a nice room with a view of the lights of downtown at night. The room was nice, but nothing exceptional. There was mold in the grout in the shower and the mattress was due for a change. Pillow-top mattresses are great when they are new, but they need to be tossed once they are permanently indented. The food in the restaurant was pretty greasy, but I found that a lot everywhere. It was New Orleans!!!! I would definitely stay here again, but only if I got a really good discounted rate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatlParklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife & I decided to spend a night before & after our 7 day cruise to the Western Caribbean and we left the choice up to the Cruise consultant. The choice was a bit on the expensive side for us but it was definitely worth it for the location & the free shuttle to the Port the next day. Even with the extra $20 we had to pay (which I thought was odd) to be in a room "with a view" overlooking the wide Mississippi River. The address is 555 Canal Street which is only 3-4 ideal blocks to the Port & about the same to Burbon Street. In other words right in the middle of the action. We got up at about 5 AM that day, travelled all day, arrived tired & late at about 9:30 PM. but not sleepy, we unpacked and hit the road for a jaunt at night in New Orleans. We have been there before a long time ago and were wondering if it would still have the same feel to it. Well, we were not disappointed. Interestingly enough it was kind of cool with a breeze, yet it was hot & muggy because of the high humidity. The streets were alive at 11 PM like it was daylight. Some stores and bars and the Casino still open, cable cars still running, etc. We were very interested (do to old memories of a good time) in the River Walk but being the middle of the week, to our disappointment it closed at 6 PM. so we hit a fast food outlet for some food and a cold drink, but they ran out of ice (alas, we were sweating & no cold drinks). Shopped for a few items and headed back to the hotel around midnight for a well deserved and restful night's sleep. Great beds and a very different yet very functional elevator system. You punch in the floor you want and it will give you the apropriate letter (A, B, C, etc.) of the next available lift to take you to your floor. Yes, all bldg's lifts should have this system it would save a lot of electrical power. The next morning as we stepped outside the hotel to the right on Canal Street we went around the corner to a very busy little restaurant, in a narrow street like an alley. We had to wait to get in. No wonder, the food was THAT GOOD and plenty of it. I wish I could remember the name of the place. After breakfast we walked around a bit. Not much time left, we packed up and took the shuttle to the Port.
On the way back from the Cruise we stayed at the same hotel, but this time we didn't pay the extra $20 for the view and we saw what was on the other side of the hotel. The room was OK, and it was cheeper too but, We were not at all impressed. New Orleans however is back in business and had it not been pre-arranged to meet our daughter in Florida, we would have stayed for the Mardis Gras frivolities and to have a blast.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible for the view in the TOWER facing the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ifrane, Morocco
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My room had some issues with condensation from the HVAC system. There was so much water that the carpet was moist and smelled musty. The smell was not pleasant.

On the cool side, the elevators operate by keying in the floor you want to go to, then you're told which elevator to board. It works well, even if there are no floor numbers inside the elevator car. It takes a little getting used to, especially if you like to push buttons inside the elevator.

Fairly convenient to the French quarter. A pleasant walk if the weather cooperates!

Room Tip: You can hear the elevator "ding" from a long way, so don't get a room too close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Loved the location of the hotel. It was also really nice on the inside. Very clean and everyone was very friendly. One compliant was that there were not safe's or refrigerators in the rooms. Other than that the rooms were great. The water is very soft there though so hard to get soap off of you in the shower. Gym was very nice too. Pool was nice but its located between two buildings so only part of the pool gets sun at one time. I laid out one day and had to keep moving my chair. It was jsut nice to be in the sun so I didn't care.
Make sure if you stay here that you pay attention to the elevator system. Its very different!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#57 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#80 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Marriott? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Marriott

Property: New Orleans Marriott
Address: 555 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2349
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,922 - ₹ 27,054
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in spacious style and modern convenience at the New Orleans Marriott. Located within the heart of the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers a range of premium amenities that will make you feel at home. Choose from 1,333 rooms and suites, each appointed with chic furnishings and thoughtful extras like high-speed WiFi and flat-panel TVs, or upgrade to a MClub Level room, and take advantage of exclusive access to the MClub Lounge. Experience innovative dining at 5 Fifty 5, our French Quarter hotel's restaurant, or order a delicious meal from the comfort of your room or suite. Planning a meeting or social event? Explore our 80,000 square feet of sophisticated event space, and let our dedicated planning team help you organize every detail, saving you time and stress. And of course, no visit to the city would be complete without taking time to experience Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarter - all located near our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your New Orleans Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing