We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #71 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

I am so pleased that I chose Le Pavillon and a 10 minute stroll instead of staying in the recommended conference hotel (Hilton), which was an expensive concrete bunker. Le Pavillon has great character, large rooms, and very courteous service. The turn-down service with freshly baked cookies, the bathrobe and slippers, the roof top terrace, and the late evening hot cocoa and sandwiches provide those extra touches that make for a more enjoyable stay. The location is great as it is just a few minutes from both the conference area and the French Quarter, so perfect for a good night's sleep. And the price was great too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,571
    639
    229
    128
    95
See reviews for
402
1,064
108
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I secured this hotel via Hotwire. My friends and I stayed for five days, and we loved the hotel. I researched the Le Pavillon, and approx. 10% of the reviews were negative. I crossed my fingers and wished for the best. Staying at the Le Pavillon was a highlight of our trip. The grand lobby got our attention as soon as we arrived, and we knew we were in for a treat. The staff was amazing, I felt like we were staying at a Bed & Breakfast, with all the personalized service and attention, but with the privacy and independence of a great hotel. The Crystal Room Restaurant was also a highlight with very good food. Edgar was a master class waiter. The location in the Business District was within walking distance to all the area attractions, and far enough away from the noise, and smells of Bourbon Street. The weight room was sufficient, with a water cooler, so we were able to save money by refilling our water bottles with cold clean water everyday. The dumbbells only went up to 45lbs and they had one 50lb dumbbell, so if you like to work out on vacation this can be limiting. The roof top pool is not anything to write home about, but its a great spot to cool off, and float with friends. The peanut butter and jelly buffet every night at 10:00-11:00 pm, with the best hot chocolate, homemade whipping cream, milk and chocolate milk was a wonderful complimentary treat that we looked forward to every day. Our room needed new comforters on the bed, and the carpet was worn, but with all things considered, I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top two floors are best, you can take the stairs to the pool and weight room. The eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2tuckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We just returned from a two-night stay at Le Pavillon and we were most pleased. We tacked on three days and two nights in NOLA after visiting family in Florida. We travel quite a bit but usually stay in Homewood Suites type places so our family will all fit in one room as our children aren't old enough for a separate room. For our visit we were looking for an affordably priced, older hotel with charm in a good location and Le Pavillon fit the bill wonderfully.

Pros: The staff is incredible! They were so welcoming and friendly and the bell hop had our little girl wrapped around his finger by addressing her as "Princess Helen" and asking her about her doll. The concierge was a huge help, giving us map and directions to attractions and for the street car, giving us the low-down on events, and giving us a card with their direct line so we could call with questions while we were out and about. And even though they were exhausted both nights of the trip, our kids (ages 8 & 10) couldn't wait to head down to the lobby in their pajamas to get sandwiches and hot chocolate at 10 p.m.. Our room was quite a bit larger than we anticipated. It had two nice queen-sized beds, a writing desk, a TV armoire, a table and two chairs and a *huge* walk-in closet. The bathroom was fairly small, but clean and nicely appointed. The room was also very beautifully furnished, with a 12 ft. coved and hand painted ceiling, beautiful mouldings, etc. The rooftop pool and hot tub were lovely, although we didn't have much time to spend there. The area and water were very clean and the private cabanas were the perfect place for our family to curl up and discuss our outings for the day before getting cleaned up to head out for the evening. Finally, the location of the hotel was ideal. The Riverfront was an easy walk (maybe .5 or .6 miles) and the French Quarter was also easy to get to on foot. On our last morning we got up early and walked over to St. Louis Cathedral for 7:30 a.m. mass and it was just about a mile away. The St. Charles and Carondolet street car lines also stop right by the hotel.

Cons: I honestly can't think of anything. We're not the most discerning travellers because we're always on a budget, but everything was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

After living in New Orleans for most of my life, a night at this hotel was my wife and I's final fairwell to the city before moving. Though I've stayed any many of the best hotels in town I've always wanted to stay here, but I was very disappointed.

Pros: The staff was very friendly and gave us a room upgrade on arrival. The building and lobby are quite attractive and historic. The location is good, in the center of downtown, close to the streetcar and within walking distance of the quarter. The rooftop pool area is nice, though small.

Cons: Even though our room was upgraded, it was very small. This wasn't too unexpected in such an old building, but the room was still smaller than I would have hoped. More importantly it was dirty. For such a "nice" hotel I was shocked at the poor quality of the housekeeping. It also smelled strongly of cigarettes, despite being a nonsmoking room. The shower didn't work well either.

Even though this hotel has a good price for it's rating, I can say with certainty that there are better values in New Orleans at the same price or cheaper. Keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NOLA_YNWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The details throughout the hotel are amazing. Very upscale atmosphere. Our room was perfect. The pb&j sandwiches in the evening are a nice touch. Good location in relation to the convention center, which I walked to for my business meetings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJW3935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,056 - ₹ 20,660
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
La Pavilion New Orleans
Le Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing