We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Elegant, southern hospitality with a French twist.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pavillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Pavillon Hotel
Ranked #72 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Elegant, southern hospitality with a French twist.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here during Jazz Fest. It is a beautufully-appointed, small hotel with smart, attentive, and friendly staff. Our room was small but it was large enough for our purposes. We found that everything we wanted to do was within walking distance or only a short cab ride away. And, though we usually steer clear of hotel food, a sudden torrential downpour upon our arrival at the hotel prompted us to eat the lunch buffet which was very tasty (big thumbs up for the baked fish and bread pudding). Breakfast there was good too - outstanding buttermilk biscuits. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GalleyCookNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,573
    640
    229
    128
    95
See reviews for
403
1,065
108
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed here for 8 days woken up 3 of those days at 06.15 by staff setting up meeting rooms banging in the kitchen and trollies running back and forth outside the rooms and the management did next to nothing and did not keep refund promise.why they have rooms on this floor I just dont understand apart from it making them money there is no thought for the customer.rooms look good but very poor cleaning dirty laundry covered in dust had been there years behind draws under TV so if anything of yours drops behind like mine just throw it away.

most of staff are ok food ok rooms ok location ok but do not book a room on the 2nd floor walls are paper thin so expect to here all that goes on next to you and you would not have the noise to put up with at 06.15 in the morning if I returned to New Orleans I would stay at another hotel.

Room Tip: dont touch the 2nd floor if you want to sleep or just choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We spent 6 nights here in April 2012. The location is tops. Just outside the French Quarter, it is in a quiet area and all the hilights of NOLA are easily accessible either on foot or nearby streetcars. The hotel has old world feel. Grand rooms on the main floor and the dining room is definitely of the period.

But 'old world' includes an old smell. Windows don't open in guest rooms. Ours certainly was in need of a breath of fresh air! Very musty odor. There is no modern air circulation here. Ventilation is controlled in the room but blew directly on our bed -off and on all night - awakening us every time it came on. The noise of the fan and the breeze from the vent (low velocity & set on a warmer temp) was a constant irritant.
Not enough electrical outlets in the room. I had to unplug the lamp on my side of the bed each night in order to plug in my laptop. Our iPhones were plugged into the other 2 outlets.

We are environmentally aware and took heed of the card in the room that said we could indicate when we wanted towel changes by placing towels in the tub when we wanted fresh ones. Since the ONLY towel rack was in the tub/shower area, and that was where we hung bath towels, we had trouble indicating to staff NOT to change our towels. But they were always replaced with clean ones. We asked the front desk to give our request to housekeeping NOT to change towels unless they are placed on the floor of the bathtub. Usually that was disregarded. We asked that our bed linen not be changed until we checked out & that request was heeded.

Speaking of bed: The bed was one of the worst beds I've ever slept in. Creaky springs!! I have not heard that noise in decades. When one of us moved in bed the other one bounced! A VERY old bed indeed.

The staff in the dining room was very good. One in particular gave us VERY helpful advice in planning our touring. And we found the concierges also were excellent in making our touring plans. And the peanut butter& jelly, hot chocolate & fruit in the lobby at night was a real flashback. Welcomed one!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed here for Jazz Fest Apr 2012. Couldn't get into the Omni as of Jan or Feb so stayed outside the quarter. Will try not to do this again; 16 blocks from Jackson Sq! However, the service was excellent. Hotel is old and if you like that kind of ambiance, nothing wrong with it. Odd things like the "French" shower door which allows half the water to splash all over the floor. Bed was rather like sleeping on the floor on a yoga mat but after two sleepless nights waking with a backache, asked for a foam mattress pad and they quickly accomodated. Room service breakfasts were excellent, esp the Creole omelet which we had twice. Jazz buffet brunch is way overpriced unless you are going to eat 2 or 3 times as much as you should. The jazz is a nice old guy playing 50's rock who is not a very good piano player. Crystal room dinner was surprisingly exellent. Pool is not accessible if you are in a wheelchair and difficult for people who have a hard time with stairs. A LONG way from elevator, too. And the mural by the pool is atrocious. The whole area needed maintenance and the pool was dirty, but, the water was around 86 and I got some good exercise. Would stay here again if I could not get the Omni or a more convenient location, definitely not my first choice tho.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Sophisticated, warm and friendly. My wife and I stayed for an extended weekend for Jazz Fest 2012.

Don't miss the Sunday Jazz Brunch it ranks among the best in the Big Easy.

Wonderful staff who remember your name and help at every turn.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Hotel

Property: Le Pavillon Hotel
Address: 833 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,958 - ₹ 20,725
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pavillon Hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown New Orleans, only 4 blocks from the world-famous French Quarter. Le Pavillon is an historic New Orleans hotel that provides guests with an unforgettable ambiance combining Old World elegance with modern amenities. Accommodation choices include themed suites like the European Castle Suite, the Plantation Suite, and the Art Deco Suite. Amenities include flat-screen high definition televisions with premium cable channels, and comforts like bathrobes and slippers. Our lobby features traditional antiques and art. Be sure to partake of a nightly peanut butter and jelly treat! As for dining, The Crystal Room is our signature restaurant and Le Gallery is the perfect spot to meet up for drinks and appetizers. Take advantage of the rooftop swimming pool, a relaxing retreat after a day spent exploring New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Le Pavillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pavillon New Orleans
Hotel Le Pavillon
La Pavilion New Orleans
Le Pavilion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing