We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated elegance in the French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #10 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Understated elegance in the French Quarter”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My wife and I have visited New Orleans on many occasions but this was our first stay at the Bourbon Orleans. The location is excellent, just a couple blocks from Jackson Square and seconds from either Bourbon or Royal Streets. The hotel can easily be overlooked among the other larger "classic" accommodations in the area such as the Royal Sonesta, the Monteleone or the Omni Royal Orleans. This would be a pity.

The Bourbon Orleans is elegant and historic without being old-fashioned. The rooms are large and quiet -- even our room facing Bourbon Street was well insulated from the frenzy outside. The bathrooms are spacious and the shower excellent -- water controls at the back . . . how sensible! The staff were friendly and professional, looking out for the comfort of their guests. Our complaints were entirely minor--a wet bar but no mini-fridge, a couple stray clothing tags left in a drawer when we checked in, a particularly harried morning in the breakfast restaurant--and in no way detracted from our visit.

When visiting New Orleans it is always great to find a hotel that, even inside, lets you know you are in New Orleans. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotchNSoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,569
    1,375
    306
    88
    49
See reviews for
1,071
2,320
159
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dawsonville, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at The Bourbon Orleans Hotel this past weekend. We LOVED it! We travel a lot and have stayed at a variety of properties and the service here is exceptional. The front doors of the hotel were always opened for us any time of the day or night...they were always staffed. Check-in was both quick, professional and friendly. Our room was very nice and large for a historic hotel. The bed was also extremely comfortable! Our room faced the pool and was very quiet. We also loved the location of the hotel. It is right behind Jackson Square. Easy walk to Frenchmen's Street for great jazz (and a more low key experience than the French Quarter). Cafe Du Monde is also very close by for the required beignets (a must when you visit). The Bourbon Orleans Hotel will definitely be our hotel of choice when visiting New Orleans. They also have a special for stays Sunday - Thursday - Use Promo Code "barcoup" for $25 off per night!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruising28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I didn't intend to stay at the Bourbon Orleans, but our other hotel canceled due to Hurricane Isaac damage. We were scrambling to find two rooms--quick--and the Bourbon Orleans gave us a great rate. We loved the loft-style rooms (you can entertain--or escape--downstairs while someone sleeps/dresses upstairs). The hotel is very clean with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Great air conditioning. Pillows were a bit unyielding... The room was also very quiet. No street noise at all.

The location is FANTASTIC. Situated between Bourbon & Royal, you can choose between quiet window-shopping and all that other craziness. If you do indulge in all that craziness, the best cure is Cafe du Monde only a short walk away! And you just might, because the hotel bar makes a fantastic Sazerac!

I highly recommend this lovely and charming hotel.

Room Tip: Sleeping on the 5th floor, we weren't bothered by street noise or other hotel noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My Husband and I made reservations to spend our honeymoon at the Bourbon Orleans. From the very beginning the staff was so helpful. When we arrived we were made to feel like the most important guest they had. Valet parking was very attentive and the reception desk was so sweet. We walked into our cool (Temperature) room and immediately started exploring. The letter from the general manager was such a surprise, the upstairs bedroom was so nice, the walk in shower was so clean and sleek, and when we walked out on our balcony we had such a stunning view!!! We were close to everything. We walked everywhere, the aquarium, Canal Street, Jackson Square. Our first night was so comfortable and relaxing, it was so nice to rent a movie right in in our room. The next morning we went out and enjoyed shopping and some local restuarants and came back to relax...unfortunatly we were faced with hurricane Isaac. When we had made the decision to get out of the storm path the staff were more than sympathetic and assisted us with a quick check out and bringing our car around. I cannot wait to stay at The Bourbon Orleans again...(HONEYMOON PART TWO!!!) Clean, comfortable and outstanding hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, LA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This was our second visit to the Bourbon Orleans because of its location. Since our last visit, the rooms have been remodeled. They are lovely, but I was very disappointed because none of the rooms have bathrubs anymore. Being a "tub bather", I was not happy! Also, the halls are very noisy because of the uncarpeted floors. Again, it is beautiful, but we could hear every word of conversations in the hall. Part of our package was drinks in the Bourbon bar, which was very nice, and breakfast in the restaurant. The variety of food was good, but all the food was cold. This could be because we came down to eat at 10:00 and the buffet closed at 11:00, but, still, it was cold. I LIKE this hotel, but there are too many others from which to choose. I'll be looking for a tub, quiet, and hot breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,386 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,114 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,850 - ₹ 27,542
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing