We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy & friendly spot”
Review of La Dauphine B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Dauphine B&B
Ranked #70 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 October 2016

If you are expecting a conventional, sterile hotel experience, La Dauphine is not for you. But if you want a clean, comfortable, quirky B&B with friendly owners at a budget price, you should absolutely stay here! Ray & Kim were very welcoming and had great recommendations for local food & music. Our room was really comfy and a perfect place to recharge after exploring New Orleans for hours. Breakfast is good but simple (breads, granola, yogurt, coffee) due to a law prohibiting B&Bs from serving hot food, but with so much great food nearby we rarely ate much at breakfast anyway. The location is just beyond the traditional tourist zone, so it is quiet and a 5 minute walk to Frenchmen Street. We had a great time & strongly recommend La Dauphine!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbrooksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

My fiancé and I had an unforgettable and fun stay at La Dauphine B&B Memorial Day wknd. Ray and Kim were very informative and welcoming. It was in a safe neighborhood, very close to a bike rental shop and Frenchmen Street. You can walk everywhere. We loved our stay!!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

This was our second trip to La Dauphine. We stayed for 4 days this time. This place is perfect for people who just want to have a nice, clean and quiet place to stay at night while being out visiting during the day. The location is great being a walking distance from the French Quarter. We enjoyed staying outside on the patio while drinking our coffee. We also like the Coffee shop a block from the house with great homemade food and excellent coffee while being in a quiet area away from the Crazyness of Bourbon street. The host Ray is wonderful giving us advices on where to go or not to walk to, where to eat, the best cab company in town. He went above and beyond for us: he let my boyfriend use his iron in order to look sharp for his cousin's wedding and then he called the cab for us. Whenever we will go visit new Orleans again, we will stay there!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twistos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Spent 5 very comfortable nights at this friendly and funky Marigny Bed and Breakfast recently. The house is very authentic New Orleans shotgun style with shabby chic rooms that are quite comfortable if you have an open mind for that sort of travel. The managing owner Ray is very open, friendly, full of useful advise, and absolutely a great host. The patio is very special and a fun place to hang out with your continental breakfast in the morning. The location is really perfect, especially if you would rather enjoy the pleasures of Frenchmen Street which is very close by. The main tourist area of the French Quarter is within easy walking distance as well. If you are driving it is very convenient to have your car parked for free in front of your home away from home. I plan on returning there when I get back to that fabulous city.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bethalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014

We had a wonderful experience at LaDauphine on our first trip to New Orleans. Ray and Kim provided most pleasant accommodations for a long weekend. We were there for the Blues and BBQ Festival. Ray provided very important directions, transportation advice, and recommendations for dining. Frenchmen Street has developed into an attractive alternative to the crowded and touristy Bourbon Street. Excellent restaurants and live music everywhere within easy walking distance.
The B&B was extremely comfortable and clean. Their front porch overlooks a Bohemian street with friendly people going by. Ray's seems always ready with fascinating stories about local people and history.
Well worth the effort to stay there

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#10 of 141 in New Orleans
597 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#19 of 141 in New Orleans
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 141 in New Orleans
482 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dauphine B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dauphine B&B

Address: 2316 Dauphine St, Faubourg Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117-8506
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 7,323 - ₹ 7,388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are $109-$150 per night, 3 night minimum. La Dauphine is a laid-back guest house for the budget-minded traveler, located in the Bohemian, artsy, gay part of town, 4 blocks from the French Quarter, a 12 minute streetcar ride to the Convention Center. No unregistered guests are allowed in the rooms. A mellow, village-like atmosphere prevails throughout the neighborhood. Rooms have 4-poster queen beds, 2 persons to a room maximum. Free Wi-Fi; there is a small house dog- Shiba Inu (Japanese). No smoking. All welcome (except uptight, rigid people :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Dauphine B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing