We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trip yet”
Review of La Dauphine B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Dauphine B&B
Ranked #70 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Michael and I love coming to N.O. for the French Quarter Fest. We have always stayed in the Marigny district because it is fun, affordable with easy access to the Riverfront streetcar and FQ. This was our first stay at La Dauphine, we love it ! The historic shotgun style house has modern conveniences including highspeed internet access, cable TV/DVD/VCR, new plumbing fixtures, but in a romantic room with a comfy 4 poster bed. Michael has had back surgery so a good bed and good night sleep is not easy to find away from home. The lovely gardenspace courtyard is a great place to enjoy breakfast including fresh fruit from a large papaya tree growing there. The welcoming international hospitality and artistic ambiance are reflected throughout their home from the music room with piano, books, movies and framed works. All of this plus two friendly small dogs make La Dauphine our new New Orleans homeplace. Thanks Ray and Kim, We will see you again. Sandy

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy_MichaelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2009

My husband and I have been to New Orleans many times over the years and we love it.
I have always dreamt of having a place there and living with the locals. After staying at stuffy hotels on Canal St. and in the French Quarter, 'La Dauphine' was just the change that we were looking for. The style and decor of the home is wonderful, I loved looking at Rays wonderful paintings and photographs throughout the house. The bed was cozy and we enjoyed the extensive video/DVD collection. While sitting in the adorable courtyard garden we relaxed and truly felt like we were at a home away from home. We even had a warm greeting from the two sweet little dogs that live there (I wanted to take them home to Chicago with me!)every time we came in the door. The neighborhood is charming and the people who live there are so warm and friendly, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The parks, cafes, burger joints, are better than any in the French Quarter and be sure to go to the aquatic gardens a block away and enjoy the fountains and plants. We will be sure to be back soon and it is the perfect place for anyone who wants to feel welcomed and at home.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxson666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

This bed and breakfast is wonderful for people who like a relaxed atmosphere with a comfortable room and high ceilings. The owners are Ray and Kim; Ray knows practically everything and everyone in New Orleans and was quite familiar with restaurants and other spots throughout the city. His recommendations were always accurate. Ray and Kim went out of their way to make sure we were happy, and even interrupted their own routines to accommodate us when we wanted to use the kitchen for an evening snack. There is also an actual computer that you can use, not just a wi-fi connection. The B&B is only about a four-minute walk from the center of the action on Frenchmen Street which has replaced the French Quarter as the reigning club scene every night of the week. If you plan to go to any of the nearby stores or restaurants, Ray can tell you the names of the owners and even about their personal lives, so you feel like a local instead of a tourist.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank StevenJonKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

What makes this B&B exceptional isn't that it's extremely luxurious, because it's not. It's a atmospheric, traditional New Orleans house with beautifully decorated (though a little bit crowded) rooms, a back garden ideal for al fresco breakfasting in a very nice and quiet neighborhood.

What makes it truly lovely though is the hosts. Ray and Kim went above and beyond in their efforts to make me feel at home. I was travelling on my own, meeting friends in NO, and the hospitality made me feel very comfortable, safe and relaxed. I would definitely stay at La Dauphine again - in fact I can't think of a reason to stay anywhere else in New Orleans!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dernwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2007

We stayed here in December, and again, it is just so comfortable.

I noticed that in my last review I stated that the rooms had very "NO decor "-- and then in rereading it, realized that not everyone will understand that "NO" means New Orleans, and not "none".
The rooms are large, comfortable and each one has a different New Orleans theme.

Another update: there was a small shower in one of the bathrooms that has now been replaced with a fabulous European style shower.

Ray and Kim will give you excellent dining recommendations - and will steer you away from some that you may have read are wonderful -- but in actuality are not. One of our best meals on this trip was in a little upstairs restaurant on Frenchman Street. Had we not been sent there, no way would we have even considered opening the door.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank patiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#20 of 141 in New Orleans
143 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,496 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dauphine B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dauphine B&B

Address: 2316 Dauphine St, Faubourg Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117-8506
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 7,262 - ₹ 7,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are $109-$150 per night, 3 night minimum. La Dauphine is a laid-back guest house for the budget-minded traveler, located in the Bohemian, artsy, gay part of town, 4 blocks from the French Quarter, a 12 minute streetcar ride to the Convention Center. No unregistered guests are allowed in the rooms. A mellow, village-like atmosphere prevails throughout the neighborhood. Rooms have 4-poster queen beds, 2 persons to a room maximum. Free Wi-Fi; there is a small house dog- Shiba Inu (Japanese). No smoking. All welcome (except uptight, rigid people :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Dauphine B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing