We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality away from the bustle of the French quarter”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality away from the bustle of the French quarter”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Kevin (and Wendy, although I only saw her briefly in the mornings) were fantastic hosts and made my stay here very memorable. Communication before the stay was excellent and the welcome beer was much appreciated. Kevin gave excellent advice on places to visit, music and tours and was always happy to stop to chat. The room was large and comfortable with a huge, comfortable bed. The bathroom was through the guest lounge which some may not like, but it was rarely in use during my stay so this was fine.
Breakfast was simple but delicious and Boudin was adorable! The neighbourhood felt really safe and local bars and restaurants were friendly and hospitable. The ferry ride across to the French quarter was so convenient, meaning everything was easily accessible but it felt like you were staying out of the city - much better for a relaxing stay.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjf00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Look forward to seeing you back in N'Awlins sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    29
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
335
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

DH and I were in NOLA for 4 days in 4/2012. This was our 1st time in a B&B and we loved it! We are frequent bus. travelers and were tired of the cold, commercialistic confines of traveling. So we tried to make this vac travel different and I think we hit a home run! Kevin, Wendy and Boudin made us feel right at home while guiding us to some of the finer local spots in NOLA. I loved taking the free ferry across the Big Muddy to NOLA every morning and evening. I loved walking the neighborhood and looking at the enchanting house structures and greeting and talking with neighbors walking their dogs. I had a very memorable experience at "The House" and I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Very comfortable in the queen size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winniegirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review! Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I cannot say enough about this B&B. Everything (the atmosphere, room, food and owners) was absolutely wonderful!

Kevin & Wendy, thanks so much for making us feel at home (more like family, actually) instantly, for creating a clean & quiet respite after hot crazy days in the city, with front and back porches inviting us to relax and slow down awhile. Thanks for preparing a perfect, light breakfast to start the day with croissants and fruit (gotta save some appetite for all those wonderful restaurants!). Was that coffee really chickory? ;) Thanks for leaving water bottles in our room each day, too. Much better than chocolate on our pillows, for sure!

We got to know Algiers quite well by week's end, and found it to be charming, quiet, friendly, neighborly. It has a good positive vibe to it. Loved the guitar store around the corner, Toute de Suite cafe, and of course the neighborhood bars where we enjoyed good beer with great friends.

We can't wait to come back. We know what it means to miss New Orleans and our new Algiers family. Give Boudin a hug for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review! Hope to see you soon now you have discovered the wonders of Algiers Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Kevin and Wendy have a great little place there in Algiers Point. The room rate was incredibly reasonable and the accommodations ideal. My husband and I had never been to Algiers but are glad we discovered it. The neighboring restaurants and bars were welcoming and the locals are a lot of fun! Its a nice quiet neighborhood to stay in after a busy and hectic day touring through New Orleans... We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review! Looking forward to your next visit to Algiers Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Rising Sun is steps away from the free ferry to downtown NOLA in the charming, historic, quiet and lovely neighborhood of Algiers Point. Kevin and Wendy are ideal B&B hosts. Their home, in a comfortably remodeled 19th century vernacular architecture, offers a comfortable public space and two porches, and is furnished with a comprehensive library. There are affordable eating options within three blocks if you want a break from the city's restaurants. Unique and excellent.

Room Tip: The front room is lit by a street light and is thirty feet from its private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review! Hope you don't get too much snow up there and look forward to seeing y'all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,113 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,213 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,546 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,094 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Property: House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,459 - ₹ 9,689
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, this charming "shotgun double" cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short walk from the free ferry to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. Features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, and private bathrooms. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing