We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$ 209
US$ 179
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$ 135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 301
US$ 267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Mazarin(New Orleans)
US$ 228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal St Charles Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$ 140
US$ 127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
US$ 80
US$ 77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 245
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$ 230
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Crescent Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 326
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
550
31
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
31
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalgiers pointboudincrown and anchora short ferry ridedry dock cafehistoric neighborhoodgreat hostsalgiers ferryallen roomprivate bathroomfrench quartercanal streetlovely homewealth of informationfive minute walkfresh fruitthe perfect place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My only complaint was that we did not have enough time. Kevin was kind enough to greet us at the landing and show us the way a couple blocks to his wonderful B&B. Just charming. The most comfortable bed and a great breakfast to send us regretfully on our way the next morning. We did not even get a chance to meet Boudin :( Kudos Kevin!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dierdre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thanks for the great review. Hope you can stay longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Algiers Point at this fun B & B. Kevin and Wendy were the perfect hosts, very knowledgeable about New Orleans and all it has to offer. We liked the fact that the ferry was available just a short walk away in this historic neighborhood. Relaxing on the cozy back porch overlooking a compact garden was a bonus, as was meeting a very friendly pooch. The breakfast offered is not the large cooked variety found at many bed and breakfasts, but is well appointed, healthy, and nutritious. We would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thanks for the great review. Look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We recently stayed at the House of the Rising Sun B&B during the Mardi Gras holiday and it was awesome. The location was convenient to everything and was only a short ride across the river on the free (for pedestrians) ferry. Kevin and Wendy were the perfect hosts. By the time we left we truly felt as if we'd made new friends. Can't wait to return. Thanks Kevin and Wendy for the best vacation we've had in years!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenVandiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thanks for the wonderful review! We are sure you will both be back here some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had a great time at NOLA. It was our first time and it was Mardi Gras too. One item we checked off from our bucket list. Kevin was wonderful. He even waited for us until 12MN (flight got delayed). Sorry Kevin :( The place was clean and it was quiet. Bed was comfy. We loved the house, especially the location.
Its only a 3 min walk to the ferry. A 5 min ferry ride directly to the French Quarter. This place is retreat from the madness happening at Bourbon Street. I enjoyed waking up early and running along the levee looking out at the mighty Mississippi River. Such an awesome sight. We would love to go back and stay again at the House of the Rising Sun BnB. I'm not surprised that people leave great comments about this place.
Don't want to miss the part that our hosts Kevin and Wendy were very nice.

Room Tip: The Red room, had the King size bed but the bathroom is not adjacent to the room, its private though. You have to walk pass the common area. We didn't mind because the house was so private, we felt we were the only one staying there.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plum94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thanks for the great review. Look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Kevin, the owner, was a gracious Southern host with an English accent. He greeted us along with his rescue pup "Boudin" upon arrival. Combined with an easy walk to (3 min.) and ride across the ferry into downtown New Orleans (10 min.), it made this a comfortable trip for a weekend Mardi Gras parade and cooking school. Would definitely stay again. The Algiers point neighborhood reminded me of Key West-- friendly people, all of them seem to have dogs; many of the pets joined the locals at the Crown and Anchor pub, just two blocks away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Thanks for the great review. Hope you can stay longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews