We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
portland me
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best of the best”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

we are not fans of b&bs but this experience was truly unique. Kevin and Wendy are the perfect hosts with every consideration thought out. And they share their space with the petable "Boudin" Nola without the hassle. This secret is getting out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review. Hope to see you back here some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    29
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
334
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tijeras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My only complaint was that we did not have enough time. Kevin was kind enough to greet us at the landing and show us the way a couple blocks to his wonderful B&B. Just charming. The most comfortable bed and a great breakfast to send us regretfully on our way the next morning. We did not even get a chance to meet Boudin :( Kudos Kevin!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dierdre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thanks for the great review. Hope you can stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Algiers Point at this fun B & B. Kevin and Wendy were the perfect hosts, very knowledgeable about New Orleans and all it has to offer. We liked the fact that the ferry was available just a short walk away in this historic neighborhood. Relaxing on the cozy back porch overlooking a compact garden was a bonus, as was meeting a very friendly pooch. The breakfast offered is not the large cooked variety found at many bed and breakfasts, but is well appointed, healthy, and nutritious. We would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thanks for the great review. Look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We recently stayed at the House of the Rising Sun B&B during the Mardi Gras holiday and it was awesome. The location was convenient to everything and was only a short ride across the river on the free (for pedestrians) ferry. Kevin and Wendy were the perfect hosts. By the time we left we truly felt as if we'd made new friends. Can't wait to return. Thanks Kevin and Wendy for the best vacation we've had in years!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenVandiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review! We are sure you will both be back here some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had a great time at NOLA. It was our first time and it was Mardi Gras too. One item we checked off from our bucket list. Kevin was wonderful. He even waited for us until 12MN (flight got delayed). Sorry Kevin :( The place was clean and it was quiet. Bed was comfy. We loved the house, especially the location.
Its only a 3 min walk to the ferry. A 5 min ferry ride directly to the French Quarter. This place is retreat from the madness happening at Bourbon Street. I enjoyed waking up early and running along the levee looking out at the mighty Mississippi River. Such an awesome sight. We would love to go back and stay again at the House of the Rising Sun BnB. I'm not surprised that people leave great comments about this place.
Don't want to miss the part that our hosts Kevin and Wendy were very nice.

Room Tip: The Red room, had the King size bed but the bathroom is not adjacent to the room, its private though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plum94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thanks for the great review. Look forward to seeing you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,105 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,205 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,536 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,090 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Property: House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,461 - ₹ 9,692
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, this charming "shotgun double" cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short walk from the free ferry to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. Features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, and private bathrooms. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing