We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Mardi Gras Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon / French Quarter Area
Ranked #108 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ended up booking this hotel last minute due to reservations at another hotel being cancelled because of city waterline problems. Hotel staff made our stay by being happy to have us in their house. Closet space is minimal at this hotel but when we arrived with ball gowns they supplied us with a rolling closet for hanging clothes at no expense, delivering it when we were out of our room and hanging our gowns for us. Staff made our picture and came to get us when our Uber arrived so we were not waiting outside. Also were more than willing to give us late checkout. Extra towels and anything else we asked for. The staff made our last minute stay with them.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Cherie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Checked in today, so far a little disappointed but maybe that’s my fault. Tended to assume “AC” meant “Autograph Collection” and the hotel would provide facilities I am used too, notably including breakfast. I guess “AC” is more akin to Starwood’s aloft product, lower tier, less amenities etc.

The rooms are pleasant if fairly dark, I do not think I’ve seen such a small window in any hotel room I’ve stayed in, bed seems comfortable and the bathroom looks promising. This “AC” thing just seems misleading though, stayed in the Q&C last week which while funky apparently is an “Autograph Collection” - be fair Marriott, if it’s not “Autograph Collection” call it something other than “AC” otherwise it’s just a con.

Probably will not comment on breakfast as the platinum “amenities” are dictated to you at checkin, not offered as a choice. Not thrilled.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank lawlessc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, General Manager at AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon / French Quarter Area, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello lawlessc,

Thank you for staying with us at AC New Orleans. I am sorry about the confusion regarding the name of our hotel and hence the offerings that differ from our Marriott full service brands. I'm happy to offer you complimentary breakfast for your stay on your next visit with us and do anything we can to make your stay a fantastic one.

Please reach out to me if I can ever assist you in the future.

Best Regards,
Kenny Jacques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to New Orleans for business and booked this hotel. Was surprised at the price and very pleased with the location. The staff was very helpful, yet rather incompetent. I asked for directions for something and the girl said I will get those and never came back. Also I asked for an email copy of my receipt and never received it. I asked if she had my email and I even reconfirmed it with her.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location 2 blocks fr canel st. Hotel is very contemporary

My 1st stay in Marriott AC. Moved here as First Marriott did not have water. Not their fault-most New Orleans was without.

I prefer a suite with a couch- not available. Wife felt room was boring.

Staff very warm and welcoming.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank glennjosephd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’m currently staying at the AC Hotel and I am extremely disappointed. My husband and I are driving to where he will be stationed for the next 6 months and using it as a kind of getaway before he leaves. We’ve stayed at other hotels on this road trip and this one is by far the worst.

Let me start off by saying that the front desk gentlemen was very friendly and the only good part of our stay thus far.

That being said the valet was extremely rude and not very helpful and after driving for hours a warmer welcome would of been appreciated. To top it off they tell you the price is more then it actually is, I’m guessing to make it so they don’t actually have to valet your car. The rooms are on the smaller side but nicely updated. However road noise is a serious problem along with the door being so thin you can hear anyone coming down the hall and doors opening and closing. Also there is some sort of flashing white light that won’t stop flashing on the ceiling. I’m guessing it’s a smoke detector of some sort but I don’t believe the flashing light is necessary. The bathroom is really on the smaller side with a very odd shaped toilet. As I’m typing this I can hear people yelling from the street below and I’m on the 5th floor.

Overall I am extremely disappointed with this Marriott boutique hotel and will not be staying here again. Very upsetting because we love The Bohemian in Savannah Georgia.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BQuill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth J, General Manager at AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon / French Quarter Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello BQuill,

Thank you for sharing with us! Please contact me if you are still staying at the hotel, as I am unable to determine your reservation information based on the Trip Advisor username.

I have reached out to the Valet Parking company that we use and informed them of your feedback to address with the parking team. I am so sorry that you are not enjoying your experience, but would be happy to do whatever we can to ensure the remainder of your stay is a great one.

Best Regards,
Kenny Jacques
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,620 reviews
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon / French Quarter Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon / French Quarter Area

Address: 221 Carondelet St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3002 (Formerly Cotton Exchange Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 9,254 - ₹ 23,522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon / French Quarter Area 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connect to the city in a completely new way at the AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon in the French Quarter Area. The first AC Hotel by Marriott in the United States, we provide innovative spaces of freedom and comfort, with a style that defines the most contemporary hospitality. We cater to travelers looking to immerse themselves in the energy of downtown New Orleans, LA. Stretched over eight floors, our 220 hotel rooms offer modern style and functional comfort with a touch of downtown flair. Thoughtful and intuitive amenities include complimentary mini-fridges, adjustable reading lamps, 47-inch flat-screen TVs featuring premium movie channels and deluxe bedding and pillows. Enjoy the freedom of complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, and stay energized with a workout in our fitness center. Whether you're planning an intimate get-together for 10 or a reception for 160, our state-of-the-art event venues set the stage for memorable gatherings. Our lounge is open nightly, with a Happy Hour from 5pm to 7 pm and a light bite menu that will delight visitors and New Orleans locals alike. And while we want you feel welcome at the hotel, we also encourage you to explore; the French Quarter and the Warehouse district are right on our doorstep. Ready for an immersive and authentic travel experience here in New Orleans' most iconic neighborhood? Plan your urban adventure at the AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon, where personalized service and a modern mindset define us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon / French Quarter Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing