We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Grand Victorian B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Bonnie and Rachel went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. They were available but not bothersome. From accommodating our extremely late check in to recommendations for new spots to try to accommodating our extremely early departure...our stay was perfect. The house is beautiful, our room was spacious and our bath was gorgeous. The little extras available to guests really make you feel special while feeling like you're at home. The location is perfect in that there are many spots within walking distance as well as the St. Charles streetcar stops right outside the house. So many options for such a quaint establishment. I highly recommend staying here if you find yourself in New Orleans!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

My family stayed at the Grand Victorian B&B during spring break last week. It was a wonderful experience! My husband and I were traveling with our 12 year old daughter and another couple. Our rooms were excellent. Everything was very clean. Lots of bathroom space. It was very convenient to the St Charles Streetcar so traveling into the Quarter was easy. We had onsite free parking. It was perfect for quick trips out for shopping and eating at restaurants on Magazine. The only slightly negative thing was our mattress was a little too firm, but the other couple we were with bragged about their mattress and bedding. We will definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to friends in Memphis.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

New Orleans is well supplied with places to stay when visiting New Orleans. I suggest you try Grand Victorian. The GV B&B is a beasutiful pace to lay down each night. It is easily accesible, on St. Charles Ave, and the B&B is dated from the late 1800's Bonnie, thye inn-keeper greeted us, showed us our room, explained as much about New Orleans as we didn't already know. Breakfast is good, the beds are great, the ambiance is wonderful. And the great thing is that the streetcar stops in front of the house. Easy to go to and from the Fernch Quartersm if that is where you want to go. We enjoyed our stay and will return. As my beloved was busy with a workshop the day we checked out I was allowed to hang around after checking out. Hospitality was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambdutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

First of all we enjoy and almost always stay in a bed and breakfast when we travel. Below are our unbiased pros and cons for a seven night stay.

PROS
The Garden District is stunning with all of its historical homes.
Very convenient location for catching the street car across the street and walking the neighborhood.
Staff was friendly.
Towels were very good and changed daily.
Balcony was pleasant to relax on and sip house provided sherry.

CONS
Continental breakfast offered is not up to the room price level.
Daily room housekeeping was marginal.
Sherry glasses were not always washed after being used. Had to ask for bathroom water glasses.
Stained bath rug, which then became more soiled, was never replaced.
Sheets were not changed during our stay.
Bathroom floors, toilet and tub were not cleaned on a daily basis.
Older small TV had extremely poor unwatchable static reception when we turned it on to see the news.
Nice chocolates were left bedside but for only two out of the seven nights.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jbhnlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOLAbar, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Nanncy,

I am so sorry that you had such a bad housekeeping experience at my home. Realizing that this is way after the fact, I have brought this review to the attention of my staff and have implemented a more stringent review policy of daily housekeeping results.
Thanks for bringing this to my attention. My regret is that I didn't know this was happening at the time because corrections would have been made immediately and you might have had a more enjoyable stay at my house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here several days between Christmas and New Year's eve, we loved it. The owner and the staff are very welcoming and professional. The parlor was decorated for Christmas with traditional ornaments, right down to the Mr. Bingle doll on the sofa. The location is great, right by a streetcar stop and down the street from Commander's Palace and Coquette restaurant. Magazine Street has great shopping just 6 blocks away. The area is beautiful, lots of historic homes and lush landscaping. The house is beautifully restored and full of nice antique furniture. Our room was spacious and had a very comfortable bed with soft sheets. The bathroom and room were kept very clean by the staff. We liked the extra touches like the sherry in the room and the early bird coffee, and the little shared refrigerator on the second floor for your leftovers or soda. The staff was excellent, they gave great advice on places to eat, they also sell streetcar passes which was very convenient. They have a well stocked library of brochures for tourists, including streetcar routes/times/maps and maps of the shops etc on Magazine Street. I thought it was a very good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#98 of 167 in New Orleans
245 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 142 in New Orleans
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Garden District B&B
Garden District B&B
#47 of 142 in New Orleans
95 reviews
Hubbard Mansion
#31 of 142 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 142 in New Orleans
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2727 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5929
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 12,358 - ₹ 19,837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on St. Charles Ave. in the Garden District just minutes from the French Quarter, our New Orleans Bed and Breakfast was designed and built in 1893 by famed New Orleans architect Thomas Sully. Lovingly restored to its former glory and decorated with period furnishings, our romantic New Orleans B&B welcomes you to a majestic past with all the comforts and conveniences the modern travel needs. Enjoy our complimentary expanded continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and guest drinks and snacks. The perfect safe and secluded location steps to the St. Charles Ave. streetcar with access to the French Quarter, Tulane University, Magazine Street & the best restaurants of NOLA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing