We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Barracks Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Barracks Guest House
Ranked #35 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Covington La
1 review
“Feels like family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Kelly is so wonderful!!! She makes you feel like you have been there your whole life. The location is wonderful! It is not to close to all the noise and commotion of Bourbon Street but close enough to get there easily to have a great time. I can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    38
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
82
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed at Royal Barracks for ten nights and had a wonderful visit. Kelly the innkeeper was very friendly, accommodating and really made us feel at home, we loved her. We thoroughly enjoyed being in a quiet part of the quarter and appreciated that it feels much more like a neighborhood than touristy areas of the quarter. It's really close to Frenchmans Street, and only about 10 minutes to Jackson Square. Most evenings guests hang out in the courtyard visiting and enjoying a drink - everyone we met was really friendly.

The first few nights we were in the Gothic Room, which was quiet, comfortable with lovely decor. The bed was great, we enjoyed having a fridge, microwave and nice sized bathroom and shower. We also got a kick out of the Zeus statue in the non-working fireplace.

Then we switched over to the Bunk Room, where we were supposed to be for the rest of our visit. The room is quirky and fun. The bunk beds were neat and I liked the big barrel sink. We found the room size to be comfortable for the two of us, but the bathroom was challenging. We joking started referring to the toilet as "the shed" since it's a tiny space with aluminum siding - the shower was also pretty small. A very loud family moved in to the suite our second night and were up past 1 am. Since the rooms share an adjoining door with a covered window on top (as was common in older homes) they kept us up. Fortunately, kindhearted Kelly was able to switch us back to the Gothic Room. The family did try to be more quiet after she talked with them, but there's only so quiet little kids can be. If you're adventurous and will only be staying a few nights, I'd recommend the Bunk Room, but for a longer stay it wasn't as comfortable.

We were VERY happy to be back in the Gothic Room, it was a much more peaceful and comfortable room for us.

I would have no hesitation recommending Royal Barracks, it was very reasonably priced, comfortable, charming and in a quiet, safe part of the quarter. Kelly and Sugah B (her cute doggie) were delightful and had great recommendations for restaurants and other local things.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ValerieAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Location is great, in the French Quarter but away from the messy part and Frenchmen Street is just around the corner (forget about Bourbon Street).
The Blue Room was convenient (a bit dark so if you are claustrophobic, I recommend to book another one of the house), the courtyard lovely and the innkeeper Kelly is the best host ever. Just to share a glass of wine on the stoop with her and the passing by neighbors is worth the stay.
Morgan, Paris, France

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan_Legarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cropwell, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

New Orleans is my home away from home..back in the day! Kelly made me remember why and where.....and how it was my home,again. My dear friends and clients owned it before Katrina...and Kelly and the quaintness of Royal Barracks Guest House made me remember why it is still my home. If you want to experience New Orleans as if you live and breathe it....then you must stay here. You are between Bourbon and Royal St. ,,,one block from Esplanade...not where just the tourist hang..but the locals exist and live. If you REALLY want to experience the French Quarter and want to feel welcome and comfortable this is the place for you.

Room Tip: If you are tired of the mainstream..and want the real experience of New Orleans,with personal care a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I absolutely LOVE this place! Kelly is the best inn keeper and makes all her guests feel at home. This was my 2nd stay and I will be going back every year! The courtyard is beautiful and a great place to gather with friends and meet new ones!

I highly recommend Royal Barracks Guest House. Beautiful, peaceful, and convenient location.

Room Tip: The Suite is SWEET! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jagator1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#19 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Lafitte Guest House
Lafitte Guest House
#21 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Old Historic Creole Inn
Old Historic Creole Inn
#31 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Barracks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Barracks Guest House

Property: Royal Barracks Guest House
Address: 717 Barracks St, Between Bourbon and Royal, New Orleans, LA 70116-2516
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,085 - ₹ 10,952
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Barracks Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Barracks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Barracks Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing