We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in a wonderful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in a wonderful city”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

New Orleans is one of our favorite cities, and the Lions Inn makes it even better! Floyd, the owner and proprietor, and his staff are gracious and helpful. The inn is lovely, the rooms are nice and the pool and gardens are green and luscious. It's in a great location - close enough to walk to the Quarter, but in a friendly, quiet neighborhood. One of our family came down with a respiratory infection, and they took good care of her with trips to a nearby Walgreen's for remedies. Some of the other guests were repeat customers, and I can see why!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    46
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
31
95
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

On my second, extended visit to New Orleans I returned to the Lions Inn and once again had peaceful sleep and a most relaxing time in excellent surroundings. Their accommodation is clean and comfortable, the breakfast is hearty and convivial with other guests and the standard of service from Floyd McLamb and his staff is very high. Rooms have all facilities, but if you have particular needs or require information on local activities and attractions, Floyd is always on hand to oblige. Otherwise you are left in peace to enjoy the lovely pool, the garden and the great neighbourhood. Close to Frenchmen Street and the French Quarter, yet away from the hustle and bustle, it really is an oasis of calm and serenity to return to and enjoy. Rooms are very fairly priced and I will certainly be staying there again (travelling from Ireland). Locally, I recommend you visit the Healing Centre, Maurepas Foods (great cocktails!), Elizabeths (great dinner), Schiros (authentic curry) and Dr. Bobs (folk art). I have fallen in love with New Orleans (who wouldn't!) and I can say with certainty that my two stays at the Lions Inn contributed immensely to my enjoyment of vacations there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruinTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Everything about this B&B is lovely. The rooms (our group was in 1, A, B, and D) were cozy and comfortable. Room A, in particular, was much bigger then it appeared in the pictures on the website.

The hosts were sweet and accommodating, the patio and pool area a welcome respite on the warm afternoons.

I have nothing negative to say about our stay, at all!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Lion's Inn Bed & Breakfast provided clean functional lodging for part of my stay in New Orleans while attending the Tennessee Williams Festival. It was also very affordable in a city that CAN be very expensive. Floyd McLamb puts out a generous and healthy cold breakfast (plus coffee and tea) and is a very welcoming, relaxed and informed host. There's a lovely garden and pool which must be a haven on very hot days. It's also just a beautiful house to spend some time in. Thanks to Floyd and Ed .... Steven Bush

Room Tip: Note that Room D - where I stayed - is VERY cosy: If you're very tall or wide or tend to claustr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 734Marrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

It was a great location. Wish we could've stayed longer and enjoyed the perks of a B&B. We have never been to one and we had a great time. We were able to make breakfastone morning and it was very nice. We were able to meet other guests and chat for a while. We unfortunatley never made the wine and cheese hour. Floyd was always there and very very nice. He had plenty of stories to share. We stayed in Room C. It has two quuen beds that are comfortable, a ceiling fan (a must for me) and great a/c. I will caution, the stairs are very very steep. The ONLY complaint, and it was lisited with someone else, was the bars of soap were extremely small. I understand wanting to save on it but they were small. One bar lasted one shower for two people. Close enough to the french quarter yet far anough away from the noise. Again, was very nice and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room C is a nice room, two queen beds. Howver, very steep stairs to get there, but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#41 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#6 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#40 of 138 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#15 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2517 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,277 - ₹ 13,689
Hotel Class:3 star — Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Inn Bed And Breakfast
Lions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing