We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Po'Boy in NOLA!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkway Bakery & Tavern

Parkway Bakery & Tavern
Ranked #13 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Parkway Bakery & Tavern is a New Orleans restaurant and family dining tradition located at the corner of Hagan and Toulouse overlooking Bayou St. John in Louisiana.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
194 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best Po'Boy in NOLA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Ate here for the National Championship game wekeend. It was my second trip to this place and I will always return. Take the trolley all the way down and then hop off and walk. Best shrimp po'boy ever!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKrispyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    221
    62
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Poorboys in the Region! Don't tell anyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

From meatball to shrimp, the poorboys are the best. Don't bother to read the competition reviews...this is the place. Everyone eats here, even the Secret Service folks.....

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“po-boys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

the roast beef po-boy, dressed (lettuce, tomatoe, and pickle) is extremely messy, but worth the 500 napkins

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Shrimp Poboy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is my second time at Parkway, 1st back in November 2011 & got the shrimp poor boy that time too, once I was home (in Texas) just couldn't find another that came close. Upon returning in March, I begged to return to Parkway & again indulged myself. The shrimp are too numerous to count, they are tasty, & the tomato, lettuce topping just add to it. My family members tried other poor boys & liked them all but the shrimp is the winner to me. I'd move next door if I lived there, just good ole poor boys, down home atmosphere, great experience. Better hurry, a lot of other people think so too!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyintheSky12
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent shrimp poor boys using the best bread on earth!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were referred here by the owners of a French Qtr B&B we stayed at. This place did not dissapoint. IT IS NOT A FANCY JOINT! Once again, as with so many good places, the seating & atmosphere is basic. However, there are some interesting things on the wall-- old, original newpaper front page articles about Elvis' death & other Southern milestones, photos of politicians & famous folks who have visited, old show cards from concerts in New Orleans' past, and colorful paintings that interpret Parkway before, during & after Katrina's wrath. We're glad that this institution survived & is back to serve some excellent "working man's" food. I hear you might find a line, depending on what time of day you go. Service is fast and you can watch the prep in the kitchen while you wait. Parking is scarce, as in most of New Orleans.

We both had SUPER STUFFED shrimp poor boys & they were awesome. The shrimp inside was not greasy & was packed full to overflowing. I liked the addition of the tomato & lettuce "dressing." My father enjoyed his beef poor boy & gravy w/debris as well. The cuban bread they use for making their sandwiches is so light that you do not get the anticipated "heavy" feeling from eating a 12" sandwich. This bread is light as a feather, airy, crusty, fresh, crumby, & crunchy. (Are you hungry yet?) I have only had bread like this one other time, and that was at the Columbia House in Sarasota. The man who used to supply the bread to that restaurant died & refused to give anyone the recipe before he left.

A NOLA bakery is making this bread especially for Parkway and delivers it early each morning. Prices are reasonable, their fries were also crispy, & beer or soft drinks are available to wash it all down. There is a bar right inside the entrance as well, but I was there to make a bee line for the food ordering counter. We are really sorry we did not make it back on our return trip. We tried other poor boys, but theirs was tops. I should've swung by just to grab a sandwich & a few loaves of that bread to take home. My loss.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyintheSky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parkway Bakery & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Parkway Bakery & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing