We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friend Fish and Grits”

Hobnobbers Varieties Bar
Ranked #114 of 2,124 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Welcome to Hobnobber's Variety Bar & Restaurant. We cure huge appetites in New Orleans, LA with our homestyle flavors and portions. Our bar is open 7 days a week from 10am-3am. The restaurant is open Monday-Saturday from 6am-2pm. Some of the favorites include the Po'Boy Special (choice of shrimp, oysters, or catfish) with gumbo and steaming French bread, massive breakfast plates, fresh coffee, shrimp and crab casserole, crab claws/legs, buttery grits, bloody mary, delectable hash brown special, hot biscuits, and peach cobbler. Our bar has exactly what you need for prices that leave more cash in your wallet! Our crowd is split between locals and tourists. People stroll through our long hallway because the food is cooked how it should be in NOLA, you won't leave hungry, and they usually can't resist the appetizing food aromas from our homestyle cooking. Dine in with us and throw on your favorite tune in our jukebox, watch some TV, play pool, or internet poker! We provide take-out, off-site catering, and free bicycle delivery! So come on down to Hobnobber's where the food is fresh, drinks are cheap, and faces are always smilin'!
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We used to pass this lil place daily! We went in for Sunday brunch and have ordered from them 3 times since! They left the menu's in the lobby of our building and we were and still are amazed. There's not many places even here you can get fried fish with grits... Fabulous!! Its quaint, it's small, but it's delicious and they service whether in the diner or delivery is exceptional.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WHODAT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, Owner at Hobnobbers Varieties Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

So glad to hear how much y'all always love visiting us for a meal -- hope we get to welcome you back for more shrimp and grits again soon. We're wishing you all the best in the meantime. Who dat!

Cheers,
Paul and Cheryl Timphony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2016

There is nothing flashy about the Hobnobbed. The dining room is down a hall, behind a pool room. You order from a window to the kitchen and pick up your food at another. Your food is served on the finest plastic plate with plastic cutlery. So you're not paying for the decor, but the food is plentiful and good. I had the $5 breakfast special and was happy with my bacon and eggs with hash browns. My brother had a giant omelet. Don't be putt off by the lack of flash. The food is good and the price is right.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, Owner at Hobnobbers Varieties Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

So glad to hear how much you enjoyed your meal, Bob. You're right -- we aren't the fanciest place, but we're all about good food and good company -- if you felt like family with us, then we definitely did our job. Can't wait to welcome you back for another visit again soon. Keep the good times rollin' till then!

Take care,
Paul and Cheryl Timphony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2016

I got interested when I saw the delivery person find the hotel staffer, open the order to show as he repeat the order and showed it was hot. Asked for the payment, quickly done and gone. When the hotel staff eats there, you can usually trust it.

Classified as "hole in the wall" - this place has it all..charm, all the locals seem to know it, and divine food for breakfast and lunch. The 14 seat long bar (past the pool table) was our first entrance. Later we entered thru the "cafe" entrance with the wonderful art covered "walkway" into the back corner. The corrugated tin wainscot, only 13 tables - and hand written "today's menu". Eclectic artifacts, and clever shirts added to the constant jokesters give it a truly local atmosphere - "ain't nothing a po'boy can't fix" -
We had gumbo, oyster po' boy, fried fish - all perfectly cooked. Our breakfast was fresh eggs and good! Cooked to order- just the way we wanted it. The coffee was delicious.
We watched staffers from lots of local businesses, college students, construction workers, and tourists stream in and quickly get served. The cleanliness and great food at very reasonable prices kept us coming back. (The location was perfect for us - near Canal and Bourbon street.)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, Owner at Hobnobbers Varieties Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Well, Loraine, you just made our whole day. It's true -- ain't nothing a poboy can't fix! So glad you decided to join us for breakfast and lunch while you were visiting. We're lucky that we get to serve locals and visitors alike, here -- you're family now! Don't forget to stop in again next time you're in Nola. Keep the good times rollin' till then!

Cheers,
Paul and Cheryl Timphony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Finding breakfast during Jazz Fest can be a challenge as long lines greet you almost everywhere, but we had stumbled upon Hobnobbers for a Bloody Mary the day before (decent) and decided to give it a try for breakfast. No lines, no waiting, and pretty decent. This is a true hole in the wall, but the cooks know their stuff and when we ordered our eggs at the counter, the cooks snapped them onto the grill and we were served within 5 minutes. Skip the thin, greasy bacon but savor those delicious Southern grits, perfectly seasoned and exactly the right consistency. Nicely done. Yes, the eggs were greasy, but in a diner sort of way - what do you expect? The staff are friendly and fast and that's all we were looking for. Nicely done.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AprilSalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, Owner at Hobnobbers Varieties Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Really glad y'all decided to join us for breakfast, April! We can't wait to welcome you back for more eggs and grits again next time you're in New Orleans. Jazz Fest is a good time, no doubt about it, and we're honored that we got to be a part of your Nola experience.

Take care,
Paul and Cheryl Timphony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

My friends and I went here for breakfast as a recommendation from our hotel concierge. We were a little skeptical when we first approached. The place looked closed (becuase it was Easter Sunday) but a nice man came out and greeted us and told us to come on in. The staff was super nice and joked around with us. The portions were huge and the price was low! Check it out!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank twils12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl T, Owner at Hobnobbers Varieties Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Thank you and your friends for stopping by -- it sure was a pleasure to have you over! We can't wait to welcome you back for more great food, prices, and service. That's all you deserve.

Kind regards,
Paul and Cheryl Timphony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hobnobbers Varieties Bar also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Hobnobbers Varieties Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing