We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful , worth the time and money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GW Fins

GW Fins
Reserve with OpenTable
GW Fins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 50 - US$ 58
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Bourbon, Dauphine
Transit: Bienville & Rampart
Description: Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (two time winner of "Chef of the Year" in New Orleans Magazine) ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and variety are two of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily and has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.
Waynesburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“wonderful , worth the time and money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

went at 5 pm on a monday,, the staff made us feel like we were the only guests...service and every detail was covered. The barbque shrimp was heavenly, crab and corn chowder fresh and tasty. Fish was pepared to detail , salad tasted wonderful and looked like a work of art , fried green tomatoes, chilled shrimp , greens and red pepper dressing. Scalibut was tender and melted in your mouth. Dessert was a raspberry layer cake with choclate glaze with rubarb ice cream. Enough said, service,food, wine all A+++

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glenda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,022
    847
    259
    70
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Too Much Wrong to Give a High Rating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

There is really a lot of good and bad with this place. I wanted to go to a high end seafood restaurant while in New Orleans and after looking at Tripadvisor decided on GW Fins. But so many little things went wrong it's hard to give it a 5 rating. These things individually would not have been a big deal but all added up it made for an experience that was lacking from the number one restaurant in the Quarter. Got there about 10 mintes before our reservation. The restaurant was about 3/4 full. Plenty of empty tables. We were told they could not seat us and said wait in the bar. No problem. We had a beer and by the time I was finished we still had not been seated 20 minutes after our scheduled time. Went to the hostess and was told she was waiting for me to come to the desk. WHAT! I've never heard of a restaurant that expected the customer to have to ask if the table was ready. Then had heard about the sizzling oysters and they were not available. Disappointing. Then the two of us ordered our entrees and were told they were out of both. Again disappointing. Ordered a piece of fish. It was a really nice piece of fish but it was cooked too much on the bottom and had a crust that you needed a knife to cut through. I've never had to eat a piece of fish with a knife before. The top was fine so i didn't send it back. For the price this place is lacking. Jason and Omar were friendly and really nice. The restaurant is beautiful inside. Maybe it was a bad night for us but for the price it there should not be bad times. The lobster potstickers were wonderful. Would have gone really nice with the sizzling oysters.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowlett9105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Social Media Manager at GW Fins, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Good afternoon,
We're very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at GW Fins. Your visit to the restaurant clearly did not live up to your expectations, nor our standards. Gary Wollerman, the owner, would like to reach out to you, as he has personally asked if he could get in touch with you to talk about your recent experience at GW Fins. We're upset your meal was so far short of stellar. At your earliest convenience, please give Gary a call at the restaurant - (504) 581-3467. Thank you and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sword!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Had blackened swordfish... Very very good! A little slow but worth the wait!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rascal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

Very nice place for a higher-end dinner. Food and service was excellent. I thought it was a little pricey for what you get but still very good. They didn't have the oysters on the day I went because they were out of season apparently. That was what I was really looking forward to trying

Helpful?
Thank TampaGuy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“#1 for non-fried seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

In my mind this is the very best upscale seafood house in New Orleans. Do not miss out on the Apple Pie.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank txswinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GW Fins also viewed

 

Been to GW Fins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing