We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, a little off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Ranked #59 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This Hilton Garden Inn is not really in the French Quarter, but it's not terribly far away. During the day the walk isn't bad at all, but at night it can be a little scary. The hotel itself is nice. We got upgraded to a corner suite, which was great. The check in area can be a littel confusing, since it's on, like the 11th floor of the building. Valet service has always been very fast, and the staff are freindly and helpful. All in all, this is a nice place to stay in New Orleans, but if you want the real flavor of the French Quarter, this may not be the place for you.

Room Tip: If you can get a corner suite, do it. There is a large living area and separate bedroom, with mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceegee7858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,147 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

We, a party of 4 had 2 rooms for 2 nights. While the one had a great view over the city and the Metrodome, the other had a disappointing one on a interior court. The rooms were decently arranged, clean and spacious enough. Was conveniently located, next the french quarter and the business district. For the value, I think it was good. Would probbaly stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Check in was OK with valet parking doing their best at 6pm. One hour later as we left the hotel to walk to B Street, cars were backed up all way down the block waiting to enter the hotel. The valet parking area is small, but you need to unload and ride up to 11th floor reception to check in. Room was fine and clean. Walk to B St is convenient altho a bit dodgy with the occasional transient. Check out was a slight hassle, again due to the limited valet parking staging area. In summary, if you do not mind the mandatory $25 valet parking cost and process, then this hotel is well located and worthy of consideration.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solyluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed at this location for several nights while in town on business. Overall it was a decent stay but for the price, I was a disappointed.

When arriving, valet parking is mandatory ($26/night!!) and the front desk is located on the 11th floor. The room I stayed in was decent but clearly showing signs of wear. Not being in their "elite" club, put me in an interior court room which was rather dim and drab. I could not wait to get out of there in the morning. I am not sure why but the hotel seemed much older that it likely is. The room decoration is very uninspiring and it's almost as if they found the most "commercial" furniture available. The mattress firming dial was broken as was my toilet. I do have to say that the hotel addressed the toilet issue immediately.

The location is in the heart of the business district and away from the French Quarter which I appreciated but still only a short walk when I wanted to restaurants in that area at night.

Overall it's a hotel room so I have realistic expectations. An average place but not something I would jump to book if I am in that area again.

Room Tip: Make you try to get a room with a view versus an "interior" court yard room. It makes a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERRANTTRAVELERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel has all you need to make your New Orleans vacation an easy to get around experience. The only downside is the valet parking requirement running 26 dollars per night. We only used our car a couple of times when it was raining so the rest of the time it sat in the hotel's garage. The hotel rooms are clean and neat, the beds are fine and the flat screen tv's with many channel options make the room a respite at the end of the evening. Complimentary wifi worked well and we found that a plus. There is a small outdoor pool with chairs tables, and standing ashtrays as well as a small but high quality gym, which we used on the top floor of the hotel. Each floor has ice machines and each room has a microwave and small refrigerator. I asked our cleaning lady for extra regular coffee and none of the decaf and she was great at remembering them each of the days of our stay. The hotel has a small bar and restaurant on the 11th floor near the registration desk. We did not use either of these so I cannot speak to the quality of either service. The hotel is very secure and you cannot access the floors above the 11th without placing your room key into the slot on the elevator. You must also use your room key to enter the gym and to exit the door leading to the outdoor pool and rooftop seating area. (So just a note: Ask for an extra room key at check-in in case you misplace one, and make the effort to have your room key on you at all times!) The Hilton Garden Inn is just a couple of blocks to the west of Canal St. (a main north-south street separating the French Quarter - Bourbon St. from the Business district) and the main action of Bourbon Street and the shopping opportunities, restaurants and clubs of the French Quarter. It is also located just a block north of St. Charles St. and two blocks north of Magazine St. both offering shopping and foodie options. We purchased a 3 day metro pass at the kiosk on Canal St. just down the way from our hotel and we were able to use it for both the trolleys and buses. At the start of our 6-day vacation, we took the Canal St. trolley north to the RTA (public transportation) offices to pick up a map of the bus routes which cannot be found anywhere else on the system. The trolley is limited to 3 lines so it is easy to figure out without the map; however to fully use the bus system options you need this map. (The online version is not that useful for viewing the whole layout at once!) We could easily pick up the Canal St. or Charles St. trolleys within minutes from our hotel. A Magazine St. bus can take you down Magazine St. (from Canal St.) to the World War II Museum and beyond. There is a CVS which sells some food products and spirits as well as beer and other sundries within a 6 minute walk from the hotel, at the corner of Canal. (Be aware there is virtually no paperback fiction section at this CVS, although there are a small number of magazines and non-fiction books available.) Once on Canal there is additionally a Walgreen's a couple of blocks away as well as many restaurants and stores. If you are looking to purchase literature to read while on vacation we did pass a privately owned bookstore on a walk down Decatur St. heading from Canal St. east. There you will also find many clothing and decorative arts stores as well as restaurants including Cafe du Monde, a definite must stop, on your tour of New Orleans.

All in all our vacation using the Hilton Garden Inn as a base was a success. We felt comfortable and safe there and enjoyed the facilities. There are washing machines and dryers on certain floors but we did not use them. The rooms are comfortable though not particularly special in any way. Everything was kept clean. We were able to walk to the Arena for a pro basketball game north and west of the hotel, and we were able to walk to trolleys and connecting buses to get to everywhere else we wanted to explore in the city. I can strongly recommend a stay at this hotel and I suggest you go onto their website to check on promotional deals they offer (like the stay 3 or more days including a Sunday offer) to make the cost more affordable and to offset the exorbitant garage fees which by the way are fairly standard for hotels in the center of New Orleans.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sallywallerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

WOW! Thanks so much for the great review. You have provided TONS of great information and insight for our future guests.

We hope to serve you again soon!

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#31 of 167 in New Orleans
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Central Business District
The Troubadour Hotel New Orleans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Address: 821 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 9,929 - ₹ 27,724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous attractions are at your fingertips at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. Located steps from the French Quarter, our hotel offers contemporary conveniences in the heart of historic New Orleans. Enjoy great onsite services such as a heated rooftop swimming pool and fitness room with panoramic views of downtown. Guests can also enjoy the options of meeting space with banquet facilities, onsite dining and New Orleans vacation packages. Guest room accommodations are located on floors 11 to 18 with convenient parking on floors 10 to the ground level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing