We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay, a little off the beaten path” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Ranked #54 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, MS
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, a little off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This Hilton Garden Inn is not really in the French Quarter, but it's not terribly far away. During the day the walk isn't bad at all, but at night it can be a little scary. The hotel itself is nice. We got upgraded to a corner suite, which was great. The check in area can be a littel confusing, since it's on, like the 11th floor of the building. Valet service has always been very fast, and the staff are freindly and helpful. All in all, this is a nice place to stay in New Orleans, but if you want the real flavor of the French Quarter, this may not be the place for you.

Room Tip: If you can get a corner suite, do it. There is a large living area and separate bedroom, with mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceegee7858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    424
    168
    68
    28
See reviews for
247
404
58
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridel, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We, a party of 4 had 2 rooms for 2 nights. While the one had a great view over the city and the Metrodome, the other had a disappointing one on a interior court. The rooms were decently arranged, clean and spacious enough. Was conveniently located, next the french quarter and the business district. For the value, I think it was good. Would probbaly stay there again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Check in was OK with valet parking doing their best at 6pm. One hour later as we left the hotel to walk to B Street, cars were backed up all way down the block waiting to enter the hotel. The valet parking area is small, but you need to unload and ride up to 11th floor reception to check in. Room was fine and clean. Walk to B St is convenient altho a bit dodgy with the occasional transient. Check out was a slight hassle, again due to the limited valet parking staging area. In summary, if you do not mind the mandatory $25 valet parking cost and process, then this hotel is well located and worthy of consideration.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solyluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed at this location for several nights while in town on business. Overall it was a decent stay but for the price, I was a disappointed.

When arriving, valet parking is mandatory ($26/night!!) and the front desk is located on the 11th floor. The room I stayed in was decent but clearly showing signs of wear. Not being in their "elite" club, put me in an interior court room which was rather dim and drab. I could not wait to get out of there in the morning. I am not sure why but the hotel seemed much older that it likely is. The room decoration is very uninspiring and it's almost as if they found the most "commercial" furniture available. The mattress firming dial was broken as was my toilet. I do have to say that the hotel addressed the toilet issue immediately.

The location is in the heart of the business district and away from the French Quarter which I appreciated but still only a short walk when I wanted to restaurants in that area at night.

Overall it's a hotel room so I have realistic expectations. An average place but not something I would jump to book if I am in that area again.

Room Tip: Make you try to get a room with a view versus an "interior" court yard room. It makes a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERRANTTRAVELERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel has all you need to make your New Orleans vacation an easy to get around experience. The only downside is the valet parking requirement running 26 dollars per night. We only used our car a couple of times when it was raining so the rest of the time it sat in the hotel's garage. The hotel rooms are clean and neat, the beds are fine and the flat screen tv's with many channel options make the room a respite at the end of the evening. Complimentary wifi worked well and we found that a plus. There is a small outdoor pool with chairs tables, and standing ashtrays as well as a small but high quality gym, which we used on the top floor of the hotel. Each floor has ice machines and each room has a microwave and small refrigerator. I asked our cleaning lady for extra regular coffee and none of the decaf and she was great at remembering them each of the days of our stay. The hotel has a small bar and restaurant on the 11th floor near the registration desk. We did not use either of these so I cannot speak to the quality of either service. The hotel is very secure and you cannot access the floors above the 11th without placing your room key into the slot on the elevator. You must also use your room key to enter the gym and to exit the door leading to the outdoor pool and rooftop seating area. (So just a note: Ask for an extra room key at check-in in case you misplace one, and make the effort to have your room key on you at all times!) The Hilton Garden Inn is just a couple of blocks to the west of Canal St. (a main north-south street separating the French Quarter - Bourbon St. from the Business district) and the main action of Bourbon Street and the shopping opportunities, restaurants and clubs of the French Quarter. It is also located just a block north of St. Charles St. and two blocks north of Magazine St. both offering shopping and foodie options. We purchased a 3 day metro pass at the kiosk on Canal St. just down the way from our hotel and we were able to use it for both the trolleys and buses. At the start of our 6-day vacation, we took the Canal St. trolley north to the RTA (public transportation) offices to pick up a map of the bus routes which cannot be found anywhere else on the system. The trolley is limited to 3 lines so it is easy to figure out without the map; however to fully use the bus system options you need this map. (The online version is not that useful for viewing the whole layout at once!) We could easily pick up the Canal St. or Charles St. trolleys within minutes from our hotel. A Magazine St. bus can take you down Magazine St. (from Canal St.) to the World War II Museum and beyond. There is a CVS which sells some food products and spirits as well as beer and other sundries within a 6 minute walk from the hotel, at the corner of Canal. (Be aware there is virtually no paperback fiction section at this CVS, although there are a small number of magazines and non-fiction books available.) Once on Canal there is additionally a Walgreen's a couple of blocks away as well as many restaurants and stores. If you are looking to purchase literature to read while on vacation we did pass a privately owned bookstore on a walk down Decatur St. heading from Canal St. east. There you will also find many clothing and decorative arts stores as well as restaurants including Cafe du Monde, a definite must stop, on your tour of New Orleans.

All in all our vacation using the Hilton Garden Inn as a base was a success. We felt comfortable and safe there and enjoyed the facilities. There are washing machines and dryers on certain floors but we did not use them. The rooms are comfortable though not particularly special in any way. Everything was kept clean. We were able to walk to the Arena for a pro basketball game north and west of the hotel, and we were able to walk to trolleys and connecting buses to get to everywhere else we wanted to explore in the city. I can strongly recommend a stay at this hotel and I suggest you go onto their website to check on promotional deals they offer (like the stay 3 or more days including a Sunday offer) to make the cost more affordable and to offset the exorbitant garage fees which by the way are fairly standard for hotels in the center of New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sallywallerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
WOW! Thanks so much for the great review. You have provided TONS of great information and insight for our future guests.

We hope to serve you again soon!

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#55 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Address: 821 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,940 - ₹ 27,075
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous attractions are at your fingertips at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. Located in the heart of the Central Business District, steps from the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers contemporary conveniences in the heart of historic New Orleans. Enjoy great onsite services such as a heated rooftop swimming pool and fitness room with panoramic views of downtown. Guests can also enjoy the options of meeting space with banquet facilities, onsite dining and New Orleans vacation packages. Guest room accommodations are located on floors 11 to 18 with convenient parking on floors 10 to the ground level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing