We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY VERY NICE STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Five Continents Inn
Ranked #68 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2009

TOP level Bed and Breakfast
Frendly and hot welcome by Jess the housekeeper
Wonderful breakfasts
Very nice house well situetd not far from French quartier
We'll come back

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielMartinique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2009

Perfectly preserved antebellum townhouse with 14ft ceilings, 10ft high doors, original light fixtures (converted from gas) and a kitchen that produces breakfast of the highest order. We stayed in the cottage ("garconniere" ask about it). Very comfortable, beautifully furnished, own patio to sit and read. Very helpful and charming host who thinks of everything (he noticed we brought champagne, so he provided champagne glasses. I left my pyjamas, he sent them ( I had no idea).
So for an island of pampered civility away from the busy city, this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I feel as if I've just spent 4 days with a wonderful friend, who happens to have a gorgeous home and who makes the most delicious breakfasts. In fact I have, Jess Beaty is the proprietor of 5 Continents, which is one of the most comfortable and comforting places a person could visit. I felt so pampered there that it's kind of a let down to return home. You don't need to eat breakfast at Brennan's when Jess is around. The egg souffle with mushrooms and sausage is amazing... and Jess will give you the recipe! The beds are really comfortable and there is a little garden out back. Pay attention to the beautiful furniture, architectural details in this historic home and all of the items from Jess's travels around the world. I'm already planning my next trip to the 5 Continents.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanpr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

The 5 Continents is an excellent choice for a stay in New Orleans. It is conveniently located within a short cab ride($7.50) to the Quarter on Esplanade Avenue. It is about 14 blocks to the edge of the French Quarter. Esplanade is one of the loveliest streets anywhere and the 5Cs is a diamond among these many architectural jewels. My wife and I are both New Orleans natives but are forever tourists in our own city. Jess is a superb host and cook who makes you feel very welcome in his home. Breakfast with Jess is a meal not to be missed in a city with many great meals. He knows New Orleans well and can provide valuable information about touring.
We stayed in the European suite and it was very large and beautifully furnished with a magnificent balcony overlooking Esplanade Avenue. You and your car are very safe while staying @ the 5Cs. However, I would definitely not walk at night back to the B&B because there are high crime areas adjacent to this area of town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WickedWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We had a great visit. The house is beautiful. We really enjoyed the size of the rooms and how comfortable the bed was. The breakfast was delicious. When we looked at the other bed and breakfasts in the area, this was the only one that had a full breakfast in the morning rather than the same continental breakfast the hotels have. The food was yummy and Jess paid amazing attention to every detail. He will make great recommendations for what to do and where to eat and we recommend that you follow his recommendations! We liked that his house was just outside of the activity of the French Quarter so that it was quiet at night, but it was close enough to walk anywhere we wanted to go. We will not stay anywhere else on our visits in New Orleans. I cannot put into words how highly we recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HilleryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
766 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
496 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 166 in New Orleans
4,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,630 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Continents Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Continents Inn

Address: 1731 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 8,108 - ₹ 19,135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Five Continents Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Continents Guest House is a 5500 SF 1880's Greek Revival Mansion on beautiful live oak lined Esplanade Avenue 8 blocks from the historic French Quarter. It has a separate cottage in the back, off street gated parking, a balcony and front, back and side upstairs porch. Each room is themed for a different continent. Luxury on a budget. Either individual room rentals or the entire compound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Five Continents Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Continents Bed And Breakfast
Five Continents b&b
Five Continents Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing