We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome atmosphere at great price ”
Review of India House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
India House Hostel
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed at the India house hostel for five nights. I chose a private room with bunk beds and bathroom. The room was clean and had air conditioning. The place has a very laid back feel and was amazing. There is a huge back communal area for people to sit around and a pool with music usually playing, fridges for your drinks and food a kitchen and just a great feel. Had an amazing time and would highly recommend staying here if you want to meet new people and have a comfortable place to stay at a reasonable price. The tram is also a very short stroll away.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 110 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. 3 nights in the 16 bed dorm ($20 each/night) and 2 nights in a private room with just our group of three ($22 each/night). Would definitely recommend the private for groups of 2-4.
Good location, easy access to French quarter by street car.
Good pool!
Both of our bookings were stuffed up, we had booked a 12 bed with bathroom and ended up in 16 bed with No bathroom. When we told the staff member he just tried to convince us that the 16 bed dorm was better.
With the exception of one receptionist, the staff were pretty rude, especially the guy cooking breakfast - rude to us every day!!!
Bathrooms were pretty dirty but passable. Beds were comfortable enough.
Not usually one to complain but we feel as though people who work in hospitality should make more of an effort to be helpful and friendly.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank Ella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Hostels in the USA generally aren't that good. Usually pretty expensive, full of strange characters or children and with little atmosphere but the India Hostel was the complete opposite. It has a pool for starters - a cool vibe, lots of places to chill and drink and friendly staff. It's location isn't the greatest (about 15 minutes to Bourbon Street on the Street Car) and the showers and beds are poor but I still had a well good 4 nights here. If you are looking for a hostel in New Orleans then this is the one for you!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

I just booked this hostel for the night. i'm 7 months pregnant and i felt super comfortable. i stayed at the Choir room which has a bunk bed (full size on the bottom and twin on top). it was next to 3 bathrooms, had AC, bed was clean. the design of the place is pretty cool too. it has a full kitchen and a few refrigerators if you need them. it also has a cute patio and pool. I didn't use the amenities due to the lenght of my stay. i did however used the cable cart which can be taken right in the corner and goes all the way down by French market. 10 minutes in the cart and you are there. The best part is that you pay $3 for an entire day, you can use the cart as many times as you want. i recommend it if you are looking for a less crazy neighborhood yet close to everything and safe. There are also plenty of parking at no charge.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lily v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights in august 2015 and it was excellent.
I stayed in the 16 bed mixed dorm. The bed was clean, the ac was great and there were lockers in the room to store your valuables.
There was an excellent atmosphere when I stayed there. Everyone gathers on the patio area at night to socialise and there was always someone in or around the pool (which was a blessing in the heat) if you just want to hang out for the day.
The staff were also super cool, relaxed and easy to talk to.
It is in a slightly shady area but its less than 100m from a street car stop that brings you straight to the border of the French quarter so I can't imagine that being much of a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank conorfergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
291 reviews
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 37 in New Orleans
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#10 of 37 in New Orleans
79 reviews
Mid-City
Site 61 Hostel
Site 61 Hostel
#7 of 37 in New Orleans
83 reviews
Mid-City
NOLA Jazz House
NOLA Jazz House
#14 of 37 in New Orleans
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to India House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about India House Hostel

Address: 124 S Lopez St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6214
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 1,292 - ₹ 3,553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located near the corner of 3200 Canal St. and South Lopez St., in the Mid-City area of New Orleans. The streetcar runs along Canal St. to the French Quarter. It is only a ten minute walk to JazzFest and Voodoo Fest in City Park. There are male, female and mixed dorms, as well as private rooms available. Spacious comfortable common areas, a fully equipped kitchen with a rear courtyard, a swimming pool, a stage and full breakfast and cheap evening meals cooked daily. India House is a hostel, not a hotel so please be aware of that before booking. We provide inexpensive, sociable accommodation usually dormitory style with shared bathrooms and communal facilities. We do have Private en suite rooms available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your India House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
India House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing