We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
152
148
60
33
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
148
60
33
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common areas private bathroom swimming pool mid city streetcar stop french quarter cooked breakfast canal street bourbon st jazz fest nola bayou trolley charm courtyard uber
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. 3 nights in the 16 bed dorm ($20 each/night) and 2 nights in a private room with just our group of three ($22 each/night). Would definitely recommend the private for groups of 2-4.
Good location, easy access to French quarter by street car.
Good pool!
Both of our bookings were stuffed up, we had booked a 12 bed with bathroom and ended up in 16 bed with No bathroom. When we told the staff member he just tried to convince us that the 16 bed dorm was better.
With the exception of one receptionist, the staff were pretty rude, especially the guy cooking breakfast - rude to us every day!!!
Bathrooms were pretty dirty but passable. Beds were comfortable enough.
Not usually one to complain but we feel as though people who work in hospitality should make more of an effort to be helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Ella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Hostels in the USA generally aren't that good. Usually pretty expensive, full of strange characters or children and with little atmosphere but the India Hostel was the complete opposite. It has a pool for starters - a cool vibe, lots of places to chill and drink and friendly staff. It's location isn't the greatest (about 15 minutes to Bourbon Street on the Street Car) and the showers and beds are poor but I still had a well good 4 nights here. If you are looking for a hostel in New Orleans then this is the one for you!

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

I just booked this hostel for the night. i'm 7 months pregnant and i felt super comfortable. i stayed at the Choir room which has a bunk bed (full size on the bottom and twin on top). it was next to 3 bathrooms, had AC, bed was clean. the design of the place is pretty cool too. it has a full kitchen and a few refrigerators if you need them. it also has a cute patio and pool. I didn't use the amenities due to the lenght of my stay. i did however used the cable cart which can be taken right in the corner and goes all the way down by French market. 10 minutes in the cart and you are there. The best part is that you pay $3 for an entire day, you can use the cart as many times as you want. i recommend it if you are looking for a less crazy neighborhood yet close to everything and safe. There are also plenty of parking at no charge.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lily v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

I stayed here for 5 nights in august 2015 and it was excellent.
I stayed in the 16 bed mixed dorm. The bed was clean, the ac was great and there were lockers in the room to store your valuables.
There was an excellent atmosphere when I stayed there. Everyone gathers on the patio area at night to socialise and there was always someone in or around the pool (which was a blessing in the heat) if you just want to hang out for the day.
The staff were also super cool, relaxed and easy to talk to.
It is in a slightly shady area but its less than 100m from a street car stop that brings you straight to the border of the French quarter so I can't imagine that being much of a problem.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank conorfergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

If you want to make new friends, and learn about the city from people who live here, this place is great! It has all the facilities you need, as well as a pool which is fantastic on really hot days ! Atmosphere is really great, you'll never be alone on a night out if your staying at this place ! Really recommend.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 777ciarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews