We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sanitary Inspector need to go there and check the rooms.”
Review of India House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
India House Hostel
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Stayed two weeks. Rms are cleaned occasionally. Dirty clothes are everywhere. The common areas are cleaner than the rooms. You cant breath in rooms. Storage for dirty clothes, cheesy shoes and insects attacking you. Its better to sleep outside and thats even worst.
Europeans dont believe in taking showers i think or they just have a very bad smell. Health Inspector please. Young springbreakers that are so desperate to get away from their parents and school to be wild, oftentimes get themselves in trouble. They keep the neighbourhood up. Where is the staff. I guess busy watching television or getting in trouble.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaAngels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 346 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2009

I would say that this is the kind of hotel you go to simply to sleep and pehaps take a quick shower. Not much to it. The service simply tries to do its job, but they do not go the extra mile.

However, I have to say that it was clean, everything worked in our room and we did not have any issues.

All in all, it is simply a hotel that offers no excitement

Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
Thank VijadoraMundial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

I stayed at this place pre-K and it was really lovely, i had the time of my life there. everyone was friendly, the decorating was so cool, i liked the group parties and meals and it felt really safe and nothing got stolen from our room even though we just left stuff around. mid city was beautiful then and a fun trip to the FQ.
at the time it was great, but i havent been there post-K and the neighborhood really is terrible now. how sad, i hate Katrina with all my heart!

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azur_skies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

I've stayed at hostels all over the world for the past 25 years and this was the filthiest dump I've ever seen. It should be condemned.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank puxesaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

We spent 4 nights at India House and regretted every minute of it. The "staff" couldn't really be bothered to be friendly and we felt like we were imposing on them by asking to check in.

Our private room was a tiny cabin in the garden, with only just enough room for a bed, and we had to go to another building to use the bathroom.

We were shocked when we asked if we would be provided with towels, or could hire them, and were rudely told that we would have to buy them for $5 each, something we have never encountered at other hostels.

The hostel is incredibly noisy. Music blares through speakers most of the time, and guests (and staff) don't realise that some people might actually want to sleep. As our "private" room was in the garden/party area, we were kept awake by music, shouting and loud phone conversations for large parts of the night.

India House seems to attract a weird bunch of travellers. Every time we walked through the hostel we were met by staring, unfriendly people who seemed to just lounge around in front of the TV all day and have no interest in seeing what the city had to offer.

The hostel is in an area badly affected by Katrina and is semi-derelict and pretty rough. There is nothing around (shops, restaurants etc), it's badly lit, and it's quite a long streetcar ride into town, which you might not want to take late at night.

We ended up moving to a fairly reasonable hotel in the French Quarter for our last two nights in New Orleans and wished we'd been there the whole time.

It's amazing that some people seem to be happy to pay to stay at India House. If you want to enjoy your time in a great city (and not dread going back to your accommodation), find somewhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelAdvisor06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#68 of 166 in New Orleans
293 reviews
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 37 in New Orleans
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#7 of 37 in New Orleans
80 reviews
Mid-City
Site 61 Hostel
Site 61 Hostel
#10 of 37 in New Orleans
83 reviews
Mid-City
NOLA Jazz House
NOLA Jazz House
#13 of 37 in New Orleans
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to India House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about India House Hostel

Address: 124 S Lopez St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6214
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 1,290 - ₹ 3,546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located near the corner of 3200 Canal St. and South Lopez St., in the Mid-City area of New Orleans. The streetcar runs along Canal St. to the French Quarter. It is only a ten minute walk to JazzFest and Voodoo Fest in City Park. There are male, female and mixed dorms, as well as private rooms available. Spacious comfortable common areas, a fully equipped kitchen with a rear courtyard, a swimming pool, a stage and full breakfast and cheap evening meals cooked daily. India House is a hostel, not a hotel so please be aware of that before booking. We provide inexpensive, sociable accommodation usually dormitory style with shared bathrooms and communal facilities. We do have Private en suite rooms available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your India House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
India House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing