We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place Xxx”
Review of India House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
India House Hostel
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Read about the place in a book on the way from Austin Texas. Amazing value for money, a hostel with a pool is hard to come by and the staff were sensational. Constantly met people and made a great group of friends. The place is bright and colourful and the random all you can eat crawfish boil was amazing! The place is incredibly laid back and every night we just had to stay another day.
The only down points were a couple of rooms were a bit hot at times and the plumbing was iffy but defiantly stay there again! In top hostels of America defiantly!

Room Tip: Get on with air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 283 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

So this is going to be an honest review..I've given it 4 as we had a GREAT time here but worth noting a few things to consider.

Start with the good...
1) Staff were great! Worth noting Sam and Steve in particular, they made us very welcome and took us out on a few great pub crawls, gave us lots of good tips on where to go and what to see. Few of the other staff members were slightly unfriendly but maybe that’s just due to how great the guys were and also it could just be that they were extremely ‘laid back’

2) Location…easy access to town on the street car which was very cheap. However, worth noting it is quite a dodgy area so wouldn’t wander round at night, fine in the day but just keep your wits about you and get a taxi home. We were all a bit shocked when the taxi driver turned off the main road and felt very relieved to get inside the hostel as we realised the surrounding areas were dodgy. Just keep safe at night..common sense really!

3) Other travelers – everyone we met in the hostel was lovely! We had a few nights out in big groups and it really made the trip for us as we had a few great pre drinking games outside and everyone was friendly and got involved.

5) Price – Very cheap compared to all the other hostels we stayed in it was definitely the cheapest

Now for the bad…

1) Cleanliness – it’s a very ‘earthy’ hostel which makes it cool and in keeping with the New Orleans vibe. However, it is quite dirty. The communal areas/ furniture inside are very old and dirty, we chilled one afternoon and I was constantly itching from sitting on the sofa (I’m sure it was covered in midgies of some sort!). Cockroaches in the kitchens…think they need to get in the pest control as I never cooked in there but saw a LOT just walking through. Bathrooms were ok but very old and full of cobwebs etc. Bedding was stained with questionable substances…

2) Location…it’s good and bad, as I said, it’s in a slightly dodgy area so just be careful at night as we heard of a few muggings from people getting the street car at night (just don’t use them after dark, the cabs are cheap enough!)

Overall, it’s great for young solo travelers or groups who want somewhere to crash. Perfect for meeting people to party and pre drink with before going off to explore the city. The cleanliness didn’t affect our stay and we are all very girly girls, if we can cope with it and still call it the most fun hostel we stayed in then I think that says it all!

Would DEFINITELY recommend this to anyone staying in New Orleans, you’re too drunk or hungover to notice any of the bad stuff anyway. New Orleans is a party town and India Hostel is the perfect facilitator for this!!

Few things about New Orleans itself…a GREAT city! Party town! You can get drunk and dance from midday until 5am…so many choices.

- Bourbon St is extremely tacky and commercial but a LOT of fun! Plenty of bars, clubs offering cheap drinks and all of them were busy with a great atmosphere, the street is packed of an evening full of people having fun! But it’s neon lights..not exactly the jazz style you expect so make sure you venture further into the French Quarter to experience the ‘real’ New Orleans.

- Would recommend the Spotted Cat for some live music – great music, atmosphere and random men asking you to dance to a bit of swing with them – we loved it!

- Voodoo museum – is ok but the more interesting story comes from asking the guy who runs it about his python that he keeps upstairs…that guy knows how to tell a story!

- WW2 museum - worth a visit if you have a few days in the city, very modern and interesting. In a nice part of town too so you can explore Magazine Street afterwards (full of shops and cool places to see). The movie they show you at the end is quite impressive and VERY Hollywood...directed by Tom Hanks and full of famous voices like Brad Pitt etc. Good for a bit of history....from an American viewpoint of course ;o)

Room Tip: First night we stayed within the main complex of the hostel which we loved, remaining nights was in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Soph1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hostel had a great vibe in the common areas and I met some wicked people but that's where my positive note ends. We stayed in a private 4 bed room and one bed had period stained sheets. Yep, you read that right. The pool was a nice touch, yet it was murky and I felt quite sticky afterwards. The kitchen area looked clean & tidy so we decided to cook a cheap meal. We picked up the pots & pan and literally 40 cockroaches scattered away. NO exaggeration. I almost felt like there was a candid camera filming because it was such a joke!! When you looked closely you noticed baby cockroaches crawling all over the bench space & running out from under the toaster.

I found all the staff rude, except one chick and the Kiwi guy. I will name and shame one girl (Kirsten). I was hoping to ask for her recommendation on a swamp tour and as the words came out of my mouth she put her hand in front of my face and turned away.

This hostel has soooo much potential. It's in serious need of TLC.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Siracdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I can see why solo travelers looking to meet new people love the atmosphere here. It is super relaxed and friendly, and the house is very quirky. But the rooms are pathetic and the system for assigning them seems rather disorganized. And unlike a lot of hostels, breakfast is not complimentary.

After being shown the Mombasa room (two single bunk beds) when I had clearly booked a double bed, we were given the Bayou room, which sits over a pond on stilts and consists of a bed, mirror with half of the glass missing, decrepit non-functional lamp, a ceiling fan, and an AC. The sheets were unravelling and had hair in them. After our first night, we booked a cheap hotel downtown.

I usually enjoy roughing it at hostels, but India House was asking too much. The place has so much potential, I don't understand why the owners can't invest more in the rooms, which made us want to stay out all night to avoid coming back to. Come for the atmosphere, but don't expect anything from the amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank eshook37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was not a good experience! When we arrived at the hostel by car, I noticed that the neighborhood was looking a little sketchy, but I am an experienced traveler and have definitely been in worse places. I just assumed it was some New Orleans charm. I booked a double bed with a shared bathroom for me and my girlfriend. When we arrived at the hostel, I was told that we were "upgraded". So far, so good. Then the woman working the desk gave us a nice tour of the place, and was friendly. The typical hostel type of stuff was there: people hanging out in the lounge area on their laptops and some watching TV, some community showers and toilets, a communal kitchen. Then, when we arrived at our "upgraded" room. There were two bunk beds, with one of the bunks on the bottom being a double sized bed. All four of the beds in this room looked as if they had just been slept in. There was some one else's hair and crumbs on our sheets. The trash bin in the room was literally overflowing with garbage. The state of the room made it unclear to my girlfriend and me if someone else was staying there. Then we decided to put our stuff back in my car and we went into the city of New Orleans. Upon returning to the room around 11pm, we sat on the bed, lamenting our decision to stay in this hostel because the room was still a mess. As we were talking, a COCKROACH ran across the floor between us! That was it. We literally packed up our things immediately, went to the front desk and calmly told the man working there the problem. He was very professional and immediately gave us back our money and apologized. I think he realized there was no point in trying to convince us to change rooms. We ended up driving 40 minutes in the middle of the night out of New Orleans to get a room at a motel. It was more expensive, but well worth the peace of mind. If you want to stay in New Orleans and want a decent place to spend the night(s), spend the extra money and get a proper hotel room. This place was a joke!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jman8673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
290 reviews
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 37 in New Orleans
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#10 of 37 in New Orleans
79 reviews
Mid-City
Site 61 Hostel
Site 61 Hostel
#7 of 37 in New Orleans
83 reviews
Mid-City
NOLA Jazz House
NOLA Jazz House
#14 of 37 in New Orleans
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to India House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about India House Hostel

Address: 124 S Lopez St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6214
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 1,292 - ₹ 3,488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located near the corner of 3200 Canal St. and South Lopez St., in the Mid-City area of New Orleans. The streetcar runs along Canal St. to the French Quarter. It is only a ten minute walk to JazzFest and Voodoo Fest in City Park. There are male, female and mixed dorms, as well as private rooms available. Spacious comfortable common areas, a fully equipped kitchen with a rear courtyard, a swimming pool, a stage and full breakfast and cheap evening meals cooked daily. India House is a hostel, not a hotel so please be aware of that before booking. We provide inexpensive, sociable accommodation usually dormitory style with shared bathrooms and communal facilities. We do have Private en suite rooms available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your India House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
India House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing