We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lincoln Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed there in March and had a wonderful time,The room wasnt ready when we arrived but that was OK cuz we went and ate and by the time we got back it was ready,Had a really pretty view of the water and the room was very nice,and clean.Hope next time I get my suite but the whole staff was great and very polite. I have never been in a nicer Harrahs, some of the Hotels are really in need of upgrading but this one was very nice. I can not say enough about the freindly people there and how helpful they are. Great Place to stay, will come again

Room Tip: Stay up high enough so you can see the view of the city and water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmblazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,225
    1,002
    268
    104
    72
See reviews for
967
1,872
367
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We loved "Harrah's", beautiful room, great view of the river and attractions. It was "Fleet Week" so we enjoying watching the ships come up river. Very clean, nice decor, extra friendly staff, especially "Ernie". Only thing missing? A nice/great place to have breakfast. The "fluff" restaurants are nice but it would be great to have something simple, like a "Basic Cafe". Food at the French Quarter is always great but we want breakfast too. Very pleased the hotel is away from the casino too, makes it abit quieter. Thanks Harrah's, we will be back.
Deb & Ed in Denver

Room Tip: Get a "view" room facing the river, it's fun & tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgervel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had to make a last minute booking in NOLA -- Harrah's offered a nice price at a well located property. The bathroom was palatial -- the room was large and attractive -- BUT seemed odd when I realized that it did not have a desk! (and the TV was hidden behind a door flush with the wall) -- of course, perhaps, they want you to not spend much time in the room? -- But all in all, if you need sleeping quarters in NOLA, it is just fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 501casper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is a wonderful hotel with a great location. It is located on the edge of the French Quarter just a block away from Canal Street and only a couple more blocks from Bourbon Street. The hotel is VERY clean with a beautiful lobby, and nice clean rooms and corridors. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The staff is on point with customer service. From the front desk to the housekeeping staff, we were very well taken care of.

The hotel has a secured tunnel that goes underground to get to the casino. It's a short and SAFE walk to get back and forth. It was nice to be able to avoid the public street late at night with cash in my pocket.

I do see other reviews that mention this property is not kid friendly. No one should be bringing children to a city like New Orleans. There is NOTHING kid friendly about this town. It's an adult playground that should be left that way. I appreciate the level of security this establishment has. There is security at every single entrance to keep the teenagers and homeless out! For Harrah's safety, they cannot have anyone under the age of 21 on the casino floor, therefore no underage are allowed inside any casino doors.

The dealers are friendly, the cocktail staff is quick and accurate, and the restaurants are good. The buffet was excellent. Keep in mind that there is no competition next door, so you may not find the same experience that you would in Vegas or elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrewLuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel is not kid friendly by any means.
A majority of the hotel's food, like the buffet, Besh Steakhouse, Fuddruckers burgers, Starbucks, etc...are all within the casino building, making it ALL OFF-LIMITS to minors..and not just minors, anyone under 21....even if 20 yrs old, can't eat. Hotel has no pool. There's a tunnel from hotel to casino building so you can safely cross the street, except for anyone under 21. The website does NOT make any of this clear. For example, any mention of age in regards to the buffet is in the "Group Information" section....well, a small family isn't a "group" and not going to read it...it's hidden.
Hotel room was fine, nothing special. There must have been some roadwork on the city view side, because all night there was a loud banging like a steel drum...I think it was cars driving over a steel manhole or something.
Casino itself was good. Play was fine.
Bourbon Street is nasty. Smells like poo and more.
Superdome looks like brand new, like just built.

Room Tip: No kids in primary restaurants. Consider it an adult only hotel. Parking/Valet is $35 a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKimmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,005 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,391 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,670 - ₹ 26,561
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing