We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great in NOLA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #11 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Florida
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Almost great in NOLA”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed for a conference at this hotel. It is within walking distance to the French Quarter and right near the Riverfront. It is connected to the Casino, of course, and the Casino is nice.

The lobby is not huge, but the staff is friendly. I had reserved a king room. I was told on checking in that they did not have any more king rooms. I was told I had no choice but to take 2 queens as there were no upgrades available. At least they gave me a higher floor facing the river.

The room was nice. The TV, fridge and safe are well hidden in a closet like area facing the bed. Next to it is the actual cost. The room stayed cool and you could hear very little noise. Housekeeping did a good job. The bed was very comfortable. The only downside is there is no desk at all. Bathroom was large with a stand up shower and a nice tub as well.

Plenty of places to eat. Either walk to the French Quarter, of course, or there is plenty right there either in the Casino or near the casino. Mother's is just a block away, too.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,478
    1,085
    306
    119
    87
See reviews for
1,086
2,012
394
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were lucky enough to be able to book the hotel for the 3days weekend during recent Mardi Gras....what a crazy time in Nola!

Very nice, clean, good location for visitors to New Orleans, walking distance to the French Quarter, the famous, crazy Bourbon Street & minutes away from the pier, and the famous Cafe Du Monde. If you are not a gambler, but a shopper like me, the mall, and Saks Fifth Avenue is right across the street! Location wise, can't not beat!

Friendly & courteous staffs, greet you everytime you pass by, any question you might have, they are there to answer to the best of their knowledge. Rooms are roomy, clean, no bad smell, even house keeping staffs are nice & friendly. We were upgraded to the suite due to our "high roller" friends that were with us! The suite was awesome! Very spacious...beautifully decorated, all the essentials you need for your stay. Bed is comfortable, sheets are very clean & nice, smell great. Bathroom is huge, shower is huge & strong water pressure. Remind me of all the nice hotels that I've been in Vegas. If you play a to a certain limit, the casino sure will fix you up good w the hotel...Lots more benefits... I used the free business center, free internet, free printing....

Ruth Chris restaurant is nothing to ride home about since we are from Houston w. lots of good steak houses. But if you want a nice meal, try the Besh Steakhouse in the Harrah casino, all the dishes were delish...deserts are wonderful, price is a little pricey, but where else is not in this city? The Bambu restaurant serves great Asian dishes, to my standard since I'm Asian & have tried all great Asian dishes in Houston, still, this place is very good. They even have real shark fins soup, which is a bit expensive, but of course, when they serve you the real thing, it's $60/bow serving 4person.

Do not wast your money on the buffet in the casino! So bad! Omg...no word to describe...Please do not eat here!

Overall, great hotel to stay during your visit to New Orleans, if you are registered or play with the casino, you are for sure will be getting lots of their perks (upgrade rooms, free parking...) Had a great time here :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Staff was terrible to deal with. There are much better hotels in the area with a nicer staff than Harrah's that are more affordable! Hands down the WORST hotel I have ever stayed at in New Orleans. Do your homework and you can find much better.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what room you ask for. You get what they give you whether you like it or not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Beautiful room and lovely staff! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yadkinville
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I've stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very nice. The location is great. It's a easy walk downtown and to the French Quarter. The streetcar line is also close by.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yadkinvalleycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
2,512 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,291 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 164 in New Orleans
1,660 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 164 in New Orleans
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,465 - ₹ 27,499
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing