We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They got it right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #5 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“They got it right”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I recently stayed at this property in January 2012, when I booked two rooms since I had visitors in from out of town. I used to live in New Orleans and now live about an hour away and spend frequent weekends in town so I have experienced numerous area hotels. I have to say this is probably my favorite in New Orleans. Of course, its connected to the Casino, which is a nice plus and provides plenty of entertainment. However, this is not some cheesy casino hotel, this is a stand alone, classy property. Also, on many occasions I have eaten at Ruths Chris Steakhouse which is located in the hotel as well. Ruths is always a fine choice. This hotel is located adjacent to Fulton Street which is an area that continues to be developed with restaurants and bars, a very nice little area in my opinion.

The rooms are a good size, clean, and leave very little to complain about, I was very satisfied. The bathrooms were great, a stand alone shower, seperate from a comfortable jetted tub. I found the service to be excellent as well.

The hotel is located a short walk from the French Quarter and all attractions in the area. You can also walk a short distance to catch a streetcar to numerous other attractions/areas of town. If the price is within your range, I would easily stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffv216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,101
    966
    250
    93
    70
See reviews for
923
1,796
352
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I checked in over the holidays in December. I had five nights at the hotel property afforded to me complimentary on behalf of Harrah's. I am a Diamond member of the Total Rewards program. Reservation was made the month prior to my stay over the winter holidays.

I arrived at the hotel property shortly before noon and was notified by the front desk attendant that I would not be able to check-in early. With that notice I took the liberty of utilizing self-parking. There is a charge for the Harrah's parking garage, but I was pleasantly surprised that I had my parking fees waived as another privilege of being a Diamond Total Rewards member. The parking garage is connected to the hotel property and offers an underground connection the the Harrah's Casino across the street.

Check-In
As it was the winter holiday season the lobby was bustling with pedestrian traffic of all types ranging from families to couples of all ages and types. I approached the front desk counter where my reservation of five complimentary nights was confirmed. Since I do not prefer to leave a credit card on file, I was allowed to place a cash deposit on the hotel room ($100 per night of stay required). I was placed in room 1505 that offered a very scenic view of the Mississippi River. Total check-in time was less than eight (8) minutes.

The Room
The assigned room for my reservation was on the 15th floor of the hotel property. Upon entering the hotel room it was surprisingly spacious and well-kept compared to other Harrah's properties that I have stayed at. The bathroom is spacious, offering a separate shower and bath tub as well as large vanity area and separate toilet area. The closet and entertainment center were cleverly designed into the wall to permit a more open floor plan. The king-size bed as well as other linens in the room exhibited a purple color scheme that is distinctive of many Harrah's properties.

The Stay
The room was well-kept throughout our stay during the week. The best part about this property is the proximity to many of the attractions in the area and nearby French Quarter. You did have to utilize your room key as evidence of stay, which I found to be a great security measure especially during the holiday season. Also, the hotel rooms utilize an electronic notification system that allows you to digitally label the room as occupied, requiring housekeeping service or simply "Do Not Disturb". I did enjoy the turn down service provided to my hotel room after arriving each day of busy excursions throughout the city.

I did eat at the Gordon Biersch restaurant located on property, which offered great classic American food. The garlic fries were especially delicious. I also ate at the Grand Isle Fresh Seafood Restaurant located adjacent to the hotel property, which is a fantastic restaurant serving great local cuisine. Both meals were pricey, but complimentary on behalf of Harrah's and their restaurant partner locations throughout the city.

The hotel does offer a business center located among their conference rooms, but internet access does cost extra.

Check-Out
The check-out process was quick. I was furnished my cash deposit immediately upon check-out and the process took less than two minutes.

Overall Experience
I thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary stay at this Harrah's property and was a great way to experience New Orleans at little cost to me. The partnerships with this hotel made using my Total Rewards points even more lucrative with such a vast array of choices throughout the city. I would highly recommend this stay if you want to remain in the heart of New Orleans and savor the local culture and flare.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shornilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife stayed here for 1 night recently. We reserved a king, smoking room. I called twice during the day to reconfirm our reservation. We were assured that our room would be available as requested regardless of our arrival time. When we arrived late in the evening, we were told that there were no king OR smoking rooms available. I protested, and spoke to the front desk manager. He checked the computer and actually told us that because we were only 'gold' Total Rewards members, there was nothing he could do for us. So basically, because we don't gamble alot in their casino, we were second class citizens. As we were tired, and there was no other availabe rooms nearby, we stayed there reluctantly. Also, without notice, they put a hold on our bank account for more than double the room rate. I was told it would be a week or so before that charge is refunded. This place has a very inflated view of itself. The rooms are OK, about like a Holiday Inn. Absolutely nothing special for the exhorbitant prices. Bottom line, we, or no one I know, will ever stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank elkayandboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalls TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Traveled in December the week after Christmas and stayed 4 days.

WHAT A JOY these folks are! Hospitality and concern for your having a fun time was not just from the Concierge but from everyone from Housekeepers to Hotel Management staff

Check in was quick and courteous and Bell service awesome

Room was very nice and roomy with that special Harrah's touch of correct color coordination and style. Bathroom large with separate glass shower and tub was a nice touch. (LOTS AND LOTS of hot water was a good thing too)
Room location was a little low for my tastes (6th floor) and definitely too close to the Harrah's parking garage. Did not spend a lot of time in the room BUT if I had that would have been annoying. (CAR ALARMS!!)

Lobby area of the hotel and onsite Steak House very nice.
There is a covered area that connects the hotel to the casino underground system and it is well lit and maintained at all times.

Casino is across the street BUT it is connected via underground tunnel so even if the weather is bad NO ISSUES getting to the Casino

Casino was very well maintained and the staff on EVERY level there was exactly like the hotel. Courteous, prompt and knowledgeable (Found myself challenged by the drink ordering system that is embedded into the machines BUT a lovely Cocktail waitress helped me figure it out)
Great selection of slots and did not get rich but did not lose a lot either. VERY even play to win ratio for the most part.

Ate in every restaurant that was in the casino area and all were very good and the staff once again hospitable. Buffet was very good and a great selection of Southern style cooking with a complimentary glass of wine served at your table.

Gift shop was small and did not have ANY of Harrah's swag (shirts, jackets etc) that actually said Harrah's New Orleans on them. A little disappointed in that but otherwise good.

Within walking distance of Canal and Bourbon streets and everyone is helpful in getting you to where you are going.

AS a Diamond member I have been treated well in several different Harrah's locations gtom Vegas to Chicago but NEVER made to feel like I was the king of the Hotel as I was here in New Orleans. Highly recommend for the food, fun and staff.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask to stay on the side AWAY from the parking garage. Car alarms will annoy you for sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EZMARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Rooms were so nice! Beds are so comfortable. Great location. Close by the water, casino, great restaurants, and close to Bourbon Street.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraFrankino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,904 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
2,322 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,352 - ₹ 31,805
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing