We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hole-In-The-Wall Delicatessen”

Stein's Market and Deli
Ranked #76 of 2,156 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Deli
Neighbourhood: Lower Garden District
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Lower Garden District
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Went for a quick lunch upon recommendation (manager of Atchafalaya restaurant).
While decor is nothing, the food is great.
Had the Rachel and I can concur with other reviews; it is terrific, comparable to the best of New York.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hedgevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Eating the Rachel sandwich is a divine experience. It gave me a completely different perspective on pastrami. Well worth the exhorbirant price!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank scepticalscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Walked here after our walking tour of the Garden District. The place was packed but the line moved fairly fast and we got our food quickly. 4 of us split 2 muffulettas and some chips. The sandwiches were $12 but considering it's enough food for 2 people it's a pretty good deal. Other food we saw looked good as well.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank megklee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Recommended by a local for a mid-day meal, this was a wonderful find. You walk in and there are these coolers filled with a huge variety of beers, many Belgians, and a decent selection of wine too. However, it is not for consumption on the premises, only carry out. There was a mixer going in the back a sure sign they make their own bread. The selection of sandwiches was absolutely dizzying, making it difficult to make a selection. My egg salad was chunky, piled high on dark rye, fresh and perfectly spiced. My sister had the chicken salad which she was was the same. There are a few picnic tables out in front, and big communal tables inside. I would definitely go back. Oh, and to top it off, if you have room, it is right next to District Donuts on Magazine Street.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

I have been patronizing Stein’s for a decade because it’s smack on the intersection where I hang out most of the time I am in New Orleans. It’s the perfect place for a hassle-free sandwich and a soda. The food is good and the turn-around fast if one beats the 1pm crowd.

On the other hand, the place is filthy, it has not been renovated in decades, it’s not cheap, seating is insufficient, and the service is “NYC-rude” rude. So I don’t understand why hype it up and have people visit from the other end of town. If you are not five blocks away please don’t go there. Not worth the soles of your shoes. You will leave and be like: “what was that all about?”

Date of visit: March 2018
3  Thank romeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stein's Market and Deli also viewed

 

Been to Stein's Market and Deli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing