We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great value & excellent location”
Review of Elysian Fields Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elysian Fields Inn
Ranked #5 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is a great value & excellent location”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Leigh and Jim run a terrific B&B. We went for QuarterFest, April 11-15, 2012. The Inn is a short 2 block walk to the Marigny section which leads right into the French Quarter. We loved our room and it was quiet after a very fun, but noisy day. Breakfasts were really well prepared each day and we just ordered for our home the coffee they use, Mello Joy, which is delicious.
We highly recommend Elysian Fields Inn and if you like jazz, zydeco, live music and would like it non stop and for free, QuarterFest is hands down a treat. The Saturday night fireworks competed with some of the best we've seen and you get to sit along the Mississippi and watch it right in front of you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PapaG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    44
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
36
231
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SARATOGA SPRINGS
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for two nights atElysian Fields Inn and enjoyed the whole experience. We were only 5 blocks from the French Quarter and three of those blocks along Frenchman Street had music venues and restaurants which we visited also. The owner couple were extemely helpful with advice on activities, restaurants and walking rooutes around town. The location was just outside the French Quarter and the neighborhood was safe enough for evening walks back to the Inn.( 10 to 11 PM). An extra plus is free parking. We do plan to return to this B&B on a future visit.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was quiet for us at 8AM breakfast, but could be noisier as other guests pass th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipjane077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is our 10th trip to NOLA and our second stay at the Elysian Fields B & B.
Leah and Jim are perefct inn-keepers. Welcoming, enthusiastic, willing to share their ideas about NOLA..food, music, events, arts, yet non-intrusive! Inn is lovely and comfortable. Beds are comfortable and rooms are nice size. Aveda bath products in bathrooms; good showers and jetted tubs. Front porch is very nice for a break. Breakfasts are delicious. Location at edge of Marigny is perfect for short walks to Frenchmen Street for great music and then to Quarter. We'll be back and highly recommend.
Cindy & Glen

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyRDelaware_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Elysian Fields Inn twice this past month during a road trip to Florida from Texas. We learned of the B&B from a friend who used to live in NOLA and highly recommended that we stay there.

The house is beautiful with gorgeous front and back porches, and lovely rooms with wood floors, giant wooden doors, clean bathrooms with jacuzzi tubs and TVs with dvd players (a selection of movies is available in the great room). The fabulous hosts stood out to us the most. Leigh and Jim are very easy-going and kind people. They are knowledgeable and very hip to what is currently going in New Orleans. From their suggestions we heard two amazing live music sets, ate a fantastic dinner, and shopped at a few key shops that we won't forget. They serve lovely breakfasts (amazing pancakes!!!) as Leigh cooks on the coolest old stove I have ever seen. You can take your breakfast on the porch, which I recommend, especially if there is a nice breeze. If you are lucky, their dog Zeke will join you out there. A Golden Lab/Retriever mix, he is 120 pounds of sleepy laziness and has the cutest face!

We stayed there on our way to our destination and then re-booked to stay again for our return trip. Not our original plan, but we loved the place and the location so much we decided to stick with a good thing.

The location is quite nice as it is near Frenchman street, which has a number of great jazz and blues music venues. It is walking distance to the french quarter, but just enough away to make you feel like you're in a cozy spot.

Lastly, this B&B was incredibly QUIET. I slept like soundly with no loud noises or street chatter. It was wonderful. All of the guests seemed to be respectful of the sound level and we felt like we were the only ones in the house, even though there were a bunch of other couples staying there. If I had to pick one thing that I didn't like, I would say that the beds were a little more firmer than I tend to like, but I am a very soft bed kind of person. We slept well anyway :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashton_haley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonial Heights, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were in NO for a business conference and it it hadn't been for Leigh and Jim, we would have been discouraged. They had all the answers: great suggestions for meals, places to visit, transportation suggestions, and so much more. Breakfast was alway good, I sure do wish i could cook eggs like Leigh does. I do, however, make a mean poached egg! The lounge was relaxing, and there was so much to read. I have already given out several recommendations to friends and family that Elysian Fields is THE place to stay! We really enjoyed our extended vacation with Leigh and Jim.

Room Tip: Loved being on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,717 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,209 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
517 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,315 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 139 in New Orleans
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Fields Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Fields Inn

Property: Elysian Fields Inn
Address: 930 Elysian Fields Ave, Between North Rampart and Burgundy, New Orleans, LA 70117-8536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,733 - ₹ 18,177
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Fields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight newly renovated rooms & one suite. Each has private bath and most have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms feature fine linens, digital cable flat screen TV, dataports, hairdryer and more. Located in the Historic Faubourg Marigny section of New Orleans and only 5 short blocks to the French Quarter and 2 blocks from the Frenchmen music district. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elysian Fields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Fields Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing