We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find in Lower French Quarter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #39 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great find in Lower French Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I have been going to New Orleans for fourty years and have stayed in many FQ hotels. I was looking for a hotel in the lower FQ with a pool. I am so delighted to have "discovered" Le Richelieu after all these years! The decor really captures that FQ ambience without those hefty prices. Our room was clean although dated but so what? Our bed was comfortable, the staff was very friendly, the pool was great for a summer stay in the FQ, we loved the quiet neighborhood around the hotel and loved the convenience of a bar and restaurant (breakfast and lunch) onsite. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayoubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    446
    126
    41
    15
See reviews for
174
549
42
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

This is a cute, cozy hotel on the far east side of the French Quarter. It is charmingly furnished with European designs. One of the nicest perks is the attached and secure parking lot behind the hotel. We parked our car there and left it there all weekend! Everything is within walking distance. It's far enough from bourbon street that it was very quiet at night. We were nervous about walking down some streets while returning late at night, but that is a citywide problem. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. It even had a walk-in closet! Overall this was a very nice hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssettless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McComb, Mississippi
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Cute hotel, okay rooms, friendly staff. Perk is the parking lot for sure, you can come and go as you please unlike many others in the French Quarter where you have to wait for valet. LOTS to see/do/eat within walking hours. If we get another good rate like we did, we will stay again :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank broadwayjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I wasn't sure about what to expect at Le Richelieu, but our friends were staying there because they'd stayed there 20 years ago and loved it. A lot can happen in 20 years :) so I was apprehensive.

I loved this hotel.

Our room was huge, with super high ceilings, and a small balcony. The king sized bed was comfortable and clean. These rooms used to be apartments, hence the size and the lovely little kitchenette. The stoves have all been dismantled (no loss there) and it was great having a fridge to store our beverages.

The pool is delightful and we spent more time there than I expected. It's a salt water pool which I love.

Best parts: friendly staff, super clean rooms, a bar where everyone actually talked to each other, a charming and hospitable owner. And all this for a reasonable price. I've stayed at more expensive hotels (5 star) and have been disappointed. Another reviewer mentioned that it's outdated, but that's part of the charm for me.

If you have difficulty walking, you might want to take cabs. It's about 7 minutes to Jackson Square, no problem for those of us who like to walk. The neighbourhood is also more residential and quiet. And Irene's (restaurant) is just down the block :) We're glad we stayed there. It really added to the wonder that's the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool. Bring a sweater because the little breakfast area is freezing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is not a modern business hotel. It still uses metal keys for the rooms and service is low key. But we didn’t go to New Orleans for business, rather to enjoy the city and for that the Hotel is perfect. The small courtyard pool was ideal at the end of a long day walking the streets during July. The 24 hour coffee was also welcome on odd occasions. As a party of four we had two rooms, one with a single King Bed and the other with two Doubles. There were no concerns from anybody about the quality of the beds or bedding. Both rooms were well furnished and comfortable. On the Saturday night there was a small amount of corridor noise, but we were isolated from street noise, and in a party town it is great to know others are also having fun.

The front desk staff were very helpful - ordering taxi to the airport and providing advice on how to get around. It was nice to sit at the Bar one wet afternoon and enjoy a refreshing beverage.

Pluses – very close to Frenchman Street and great music. A short walk from Bourbon street which can be either included or bypassed depending on your choice. Cafe Envie on Decatur st is a 2 min walk away and serves great coffee and breakfast.

Minus – Air conditioning was centrally set and although it was hot outside it was cold in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bearded_Beast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,442 - ₹ 25,916
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing