We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #34 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
St Louis MO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed in the King Suite. Roomy, clean, lots of storage and quiet. Dated? Yes but that is part of the charm! Staff is very friendly. The location is prime if you are more interested in the quiet side of NOLA. Frenchmen Street is just a couple blocks away as is the open air market and numerous places to eat. You cant go wrong with this place!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    437
    123
    39
    14
See reviews for
167
532
39
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Hotel Le Richelieu in the French Quarter is a charming hotel in a historic building and is quite close to Bourbon St. , restaurants, shops, and places of historic interest such as Jackson Square. It is located on a quiet block and was very pleasant to stay there. The staff could not have been more helpful. Keys are still returned to the front desk when you leave the hotel. I enjoyed staying in my room with two double beds and a balcony. A few suggestions for improvement : bathroom could use some updating, better lighting would help. I would like a coffee maker in the room at least for hot water. A safe in the room would have been convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trudiNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Very nice old place, nothing fancy but all the essentials. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful with tours and such .NIce walk to French Quarter, Bourbon St and Riverwalk shopping. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This lovely small hotel combines atmosphere of bed and breakfast with services of a hotel. Located in the quiet section of the French Quarter, I was within easy walking distance of delicious bakeries, great restaurants, art galleries and shopping. The rooms were decently priced and well furnished. My bathroom could have used an update, but it wasn't a big deal. I stayed four nights in a one bedroom suite and thought it was well worth it. A great way to stay comfortably in the French Quarter and avoid big hotel crowds and prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CasualTraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our second trip to Le Richelieu. For this trip we booked a suite. There was no balcony and the air conditioning in the sitting room did not work. The bathrooms are really showing their age as is the hotel in general. The lobby and bar areas are very nice however. Each morning that we ordered room service, it was a guess as whether it would be as ordered. One out of three was correct. We very much like the location and the protected parking; but we won't be returning. There is also the POSSIBILITY that this was where our M/C number was swiped. The card was used the evening we checked in and we had not used it any other place that day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#39 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#31 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#43 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,113 - ₹ 25,990
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing