We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time!”
Review of Green House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green House Inn
Ranked #14 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time this past weekend at The Green House Inn. We arrived Saturday for the Rock-n-Roll Half Marathon. Jesse, the InnKeeper, is a fabulous host. We stayed in the Bird of Paradise room. My favorite by far. It is on the balcony overlooiking a beautiful pool. And it even has its own balcony space with 2 lounge chairs. The hot tub was perfect before and after the race. The Inn is right on the race course. It was an east walk to the convention center to pickup my packet and an easy walk to the start. My husband was able to stand in the front of the Inn and cheer me on ....and everyone else who ran the race. He was even able to had me some Shot Blocks and water. I love this Inn....cannot wait to stay there next year for the race.

Room Tip: Bird of Paradise on Balcony over looking Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    47
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
9
223
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I loved this B &B. What an amazing little oasis in this neighborhood. The owner & manager were very knowledgeable and friendly. They are very hospitable and a great help if you don't know the area....just ask them anything and they will try to answer your questions as best as they can..!!
The pool area is amazing, it looks very tropical like if you were in a different country. It is a salt water pool and if you practice nudism you are welcome to do it there, although we haven't witness anyone naked there. It is a few miles away from the center but you can catch a trolley a few streets away and go to the French quarter and the touristy areas. Most tours will pick you up at the hotels. The breakfast is free and included.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickyYValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Great location and excellent management and staff. It's called the Green House Inn not just because it's painted green, but because it is truly a study in tropical flora. The salt water pool along with the large hot tub are immersed in a lush plant laden environment presided over by Rio, the resident macaw. Jesse, the innkeeper went out of his way to assure that the smallest details were attended to and was a fount of knowledge on everything to see and do. Staying at Green House was the key to our having a memorable trip to New Orleans for our first time. Paul and Carey

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandcva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Thought I had posted this earlier. We stayed at The Greenhouse Inn early in February. What a wonderful place. Jesse greeted us as if we were old friends. The courtyard is stunning. The furnishings and our room were absolutely beautiful. Off street parking, great breakfast in the a.m.-Jesse made us waffles. Love the beautiful German Shepherd-Steuben. Our older female lab had fun, although she was not amused by Steuben's attention (lol).

I want to rent out the entire place and have a big old fashioned house party!

Room Tip: We loved our room-right by a private area of the courtyard. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurabc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This amazing oasis, just a few minutes walk from Canal Street and into the French Quarter, offers all the comfort and hospitality one would hope for and more. Frank and Jesse are gracious hosts, and their beautiful inn is very inviting-to the point where it is very tempting to linger a little longer before venture out into the city. Whether in the gardens, with pool and hot tub, or in comfortable rooms...highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaybth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,201 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,545 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#54 of 163 in New Orleans
2,257 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Inn

Property: Green House Inn
Address: 1212 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,599 - ₹ 16,299
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House Inn is a fun and relaxed environment for your New Orleans experience. With a convenient location, we are a tropical paradise with a unique saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. We offer comfortable rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms, TVs, DVD, cable, Wi-Fi Internet, mini-refrigerators and other amenities. Included is free parking, tropical gardens, a library of movies and books, and desktop computer with printer. The Green House Inn, "stay... relax... just be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Green House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing