We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Green House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$ 349
US$ 337
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$ 264
US$ 231
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 382
US$ 349
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$ 289
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$ 408
US$ 333
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$ 386
US$ 221
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$ 301
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$ 263
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 310
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 447
US$ 380
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
339
51
7
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
51
7
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubtropical paradisemagazine streetparadise roomb bpool area islower garden districtthe clothing optional pooltropical poolcoffee shop next doordirect access to the poolthe salt water poolfrench quartergated parkingalready planning our next tripother guestsrocking chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This amazing oasis, just a few minutes walk from Canal Street and into the French Quarter, offers all the comfort and hospitality one would hope for and more. Frank and Jesse are gracious hosts, and their beautiful inn is very inviting-to the point where it is very tempting to linger a little longer before venture out into the city. Whether in the gardens, with pool and hot tub, or in comfortable rooms...highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaybth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed it. The best reason to stay here is the lovely garden and pool/spa area outside--wonderful! We used the hot tub all 3 nights. Also there is off street parking, which is always a big deal in this part of the city. But make sure you check out the inn's website and pay attention to details: adults only, clothing optional pool, serve yourself continental breakfast. This is a New Orleans kind of place, casual, not a lot of attention to detail. If you are into elegant B&Bs with breakfast served on china this is not your kind of place. Other things to be aware of: the rooms are kind of small, the serve yourself breakfast is simple--toast, yogurt, coffee, etc.--but that was fine for us. A bigger thing for me is that there is not much in the way of common areas inside to sit and relax (a sofa off the dining room area). In other words there is not a parlor or living room. Since it was a little too chilly to sit outside while we were there, this was a problem--sitting in the small room was the only option. My biggest complaint was that I found the common areas kind of dirty--the staircase to the second floor had dirty carpet that hadn't been vacuumed in a while. While our room was clean when we arrived, it was raining when we checked in and we accidentally tracked muddy foot prints into the room (wood floors). When the room was cleaned the next day, the housekeeper didn't even clean the floor. Re the clothing optional, of the 3 nights we were there, there was only 1 person who swam naked! All in all a casual, decent place to stay in a good location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kentisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGreenHouseInn, Manager at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for your comments! We always welcome comments from our guests and strive to exceed their expectations. Our guest rooms average over 200 square feet, which is much larger than many bed & breakfasts in New Orleans. Many of our guests use our Inn as a jumping off point to explore our Historic city, enjoy New Orleans' fine restaurants, relax by our saltwater pool, and read on covered back porch or cozy library. Our self service Continental breakfast is available to our guests 24/7. It includes fresh fruit, muffins, breakfast bars, cereals, oatmeal, Chicory coffee, bread and croissants for toasting, jams, peanut butter, Nutella, boiled eggs, yogurt, orange juice, milk, hot chocolate, teas, and homemade waffles upon request. For guest desiring a full/hot breakfast there are great two breakfast spots within a 3 block walk from our Inn. We are very proud of our 160 year old original hardwood floors. Each room is mopped daily and our carpeted staircase is vacuumed regularly. During inclement weather it is sometimes difficult to keep the floors spotless, with the large numbers of guests coming and going through out the day. Our housekeepers take great pride in their work and do a remarkable job cleaning our 1840's Inn. Thank you again for your comments. We would love to have you return for another stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Greenhouse Inn. Jesse was a great host as well as the rest of the staff. The pool and hot tup is like being in tropical pariadise. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The location is in a safe naborhood and walking distance to several attractions. We will return soon.

Room Tip: The three romms on the round floor has direct access to the poll and hot tup
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 556Butch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This is such a beautiful property! The historic home has been renovated beautifully. The lush gardens were like an oasis - you wouldn't even know you were in the city, while you are relaxing out there. So peaceful for reading the morning newpaper with coffee, an afternoon nap in one of the swings, or a late night dip in the pool or hot tub. The innkeepers, Frank and Jessie, were so helpful and welcoming. We will always return to this wonderful B&B. I highly reccommend this spot it to all!!!

Room Tip: The Orchid room where we stayed was the largest room with 2 separate bathrooms. Perfect for a couple!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheree_slaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We visit NOLA often, this is the first time we haven't stayed in the quarter.......now, this is the ONLY place we'll be staying.

We stayed in the 3rd floor suite---the MOST comfortable bed we have ever experienced!! This place is appointed very well, the courtyard pool space is divine, and we really appreciated the quiet time without presence of any children!! (no minors allowed)

Quiet neighborhood (there is a very low key bar across the street that opens late afternoon) and a few blocks to WWII museum, American Sector, and our new favorite sandwich shop: Butcher. You can definitely walk to the quarter from this b&b, but its a trek.

Prices are very reasonable here. A++++

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are tight. If you're a water baby, get a poolside room, as the swimming is around the clock, but quiet, and swimsuits optional ;)
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jezebelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews