We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green House Inn
Ranked #15 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We visit NOLA often, this is the first time we haven't stayed in the quarter.......now, this is the ONLY place we'll be staying.

We stayed in the 3rd floor suite---the MOST comfortable bed we have ever experienced!! This place is appointed very well, the courtyard pool space is divine, and we really appreciated the quiet time without presence of any children!! (no minors allowed)

Quiet neighborhood (there is a very low key bar across the street that opens late afternoon) and a few blocks to WWII museum, American Sector, and our new favorite sandwich shop: Butcher. You can definitely walk to the quarter from this b&b, but its a trek.

Prices are very reasonable here. A++++

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are tight. If you're a water baby, get a poolside room, as the swimming is aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jezebelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    45
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
200
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

This was our second visit to the Green House Inn.This visit was different mainly because of temperature, July versus December. What was not different was the quality of the stay coupled with the friendly and cordial host. Jesse and Frank do a good job of caring for the guest. Steuben, the house pet, provided some funny and laughter filled moments. Will not hesitate to stay again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockhill2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Mills, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

My girlfriend and I had such a great stay at The Greenhouse Inn. We were there for 4 nights, while she had a conference at the convention center. The location was perfect, right at the north side of the garden district. We were a 10 minute walk from the convention center, and a 15-20 minute walk from bourbon street.

As far as the accommodations, they were amazing! the location IS a little close to the highway, but you don't hear it at all!! the the plant life and pool truly transport you to a tropical lagoon somewhere. Bird Of Paradise (our room) was perfect. the hardwood floors and 4 post bed really gave it that classic new orleans feel. The staff was great! Jesse, the innkeeper, was SO nice. had some very good suggestions about where to eat and drink. Yessica, the housekeeper was also very nice. she had our room SPOTLESS every day. One helpful thing was the information binder in the room. It had literally ANYTHING you would need. food within 5 minutes walk, food greater than 5 minutes walk, bars, delivery, EVERYTHING!! it was truly a great help!

All in all, comparing it to B&Bs from a recent trip to italy, The Green House Inn met or exceeded our expectations. The next time she has a conference in New Orleans, we WILL be staying at The Green House Inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Green House Inn--very friendly and expert staff, ideal location (right where the Warehouse District, French Quarter and Garden District intersect), updated room that's retained its historic feel, and a gorgeous outdoor setting for a cocktail (provided by the great bar just across the street). I found the shower a bit cool and variable (not a problem if you're there any other month besides December I am guessing) and the breakfast a bit lacking. But these minor issues were balanced by the cost of the room and the quality of our overall experience. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: I'd avoid the main floor rooms by the front door just for the noise factor of people coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Just the trip we needed to relax from the hussle of D.C. Jesse and Frank were kind, helpful and welcoming. Their advice, "It'd be a shame if you came to New Orleans and had a bad meal,"- really stuck out and they offered lots of great recommendations.

Rooms had character. Pool looked very nice (little too cold though), and hot tub was good for letting the feet relax after a day of walking.

B&B's can't make hot breakfasts (it's a city rule/law) which was a downer, but they had plenty of other goodies for a quick breakfast grab or late night snack.

Magazine Street is a 15 minute walk to Canal. We felt very safe in the area. Miss NOLA and the Green House Inn already...we'll be back!

Recommended Do's- Dinner at Cochon, World War II Museum (both the actual Museum and fim narrated by Tom Hanks were very, very much worth it), Dome Patrol at a Saints game (very lively experience), Po Boys at Mother's, ALL the live (spontaneous) music on Bourbon, Howl-at-the-Moon Piano bar is a fun night well spent.

Just So-so Breakfast at Brennan's. Pretty steep and it appears they are relying more on their reputation. Fine to go to, but not a must-go.

Room Tip: We had the room closest to the front door. Pro- You have a private courtyard type of area with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,390 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,943 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Inn

Property: Green House Inn
Address: 1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,978 - ₹ 16,433
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House Inn is a fun and relaxed environment for your New Orleans experience. With a convenient location, we are a tropical paradise with a unique saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. We offer comfortable rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms, TVs, DVD, cable, Wi-Fi Internet, mini-refrigerators and other amenities. Included is free parking, tropical gardens, a library of movies and books, and desktop computer with printer. The Green House Inn, "stay... relax... just be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Green House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing