We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being pampered in New Orlean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #6 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The French Quarter has an Ora of it's
Own. It's A place no-one should ever touch. If you have never been there
Please go for yourself. Thank You

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,500 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

I liked this hotel a lot. Really nice staff, clean, fun and historic, and located right across the street from a trolley stop. My only complaint is that one of the reasons I booked this hotel was because it said it had a gym/exercise room. Where? There were two treadmills and one bike crowded together in a room. No weights or even room to stretch in. Why say you have one?

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoLiketoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for comments. With the new addition we will be adding a larger exercise room that will include more equipment along with a new pool area, coin laundry area and an expanded hot food seating area. The new addition will be complete in mid 2013.

Slade Stratman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We spent 5 days on this trip to New Orleans. First, the staff..Jayme was excellent in providing directions and all hotel needs. Our food servers were quick in providing drinks during rush hour and the others assisted with taking our dirty and completed meals from the table while we sat and chatted. Free popcorn and soft drinks are available from 3PM to 10PM.

There was no rental car this time as cab fare from the airport is $33 total. Across from the hotel, cables cars run frequently. An all day pass runs $3 per person which will take you to the Garden District and to Tulane University and beyond. You can also take a cable car to the cemeteries or to the Riverfront on Poydras/Canal Streets. Even the Riverfront has a cable car to take you from one end of the river to the other.

The room was quite pleasant with easy access to the elevators. I never heard any of the neighboring rooms either come or go, or any existing noises. Our room was equipped with microwave, refrigerator, and Jacuzzi bath.

Boarding Passes can easily be printed in the lobby. The hotel location is superb because you are a just a few blocks from the French Quarter and Bourbon Street. Spend time on Royal Street which is one block over and you will find many nice shops. Stay away from the "hand grenade"! :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Collegeprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I booked the Drury New Orleans based on the glowing reviews that I had read on TripAdvisor for our post-cruise hotel. While we found some of the positive experiences that I had read from shared reviews, we also had some not-so-good issues that clouded my opinion of this hotel.

To the hotel management's credit, they made it right (i.e., reversal of paid cost for night), but I would hesistate to stay here again, particularly since we had just stayed at the Renaissance Arts a week earlier pre-cruise for a lower rate (which offsets the free food at the Drury) and a much better experience and hotel atmosphere.

Pros: Staff was friendly and helpful; free popcorn in afternoon is a nice offering; our children enjoyed the rooftop pool; location was good for being away from hustle and noise of Canal Street and French Quarter, yet within walking distance and on the St. Charles streetcar line.

Cons: Cleanliness of room. While the room appeared to be generally clean, there were some very specific (gross) items that were found in the tub, on a blanket, and on the hair dryer (not to mention a french fry in plain view under the sofa).

This may have been a fluke on the part of housekeeping, but it did put a damper on our experience and our impression of the hotel. We normally only book through Marriott, and have never had any problem such as this before.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hfitzger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your comments. We strive to provide our guest with a clean comfortable room during their stay. I do apologize that we failed to provide the level of service that was expected by you as well the staff at the hotel. Our staff would have been more that happy to correct the issue when discovered if brought to their attention instead of at check out. Our rates will change according to what is happening in the New Orleans market and we remain very competitive with the other hotels on a daily basis.

Slade Stratman
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Went to New Orleans for the Final four as first time visitors. The Hotel met all of our needs,
The location was great, the staff was great, the room was great and the food was more than adequate. We were able to walk everywhere, didn't even have to rent a car, We spent 4 full days and were able to see a lot of New Orleans. We caught a trolley 2 blocks away on St Charles street and headed out towards the garden district and Tulane University. The architecture and the big houses were a pleasure to see (Get the 3 dollar trolley pass- good for all day on the trolley and bus systems which will take you anywhere you want to go until four in the morning.
There is store that sells fruit just a block away and there is a neat little pizza place two blocks away Reginelli's Pizzeria on Poydras Street (try the combo) so good we went back three times.
The WWII museum is worth the visit, Again, you can catch a trolley and be there in less than 10 minutes. The Flea market in the French Quarter is a cool place to shop, again accessible by walking or trolley. and you can meander down to Bourbon Street on foot and get happy feet listening to the great music (a 10-15 minute walk).
The NOPD were great, There was police presence everywhere, Not to rain on anybody's parade but just to make sure everyone had a good time So you felt safe whether it was four in the afternoon or four in the morning.
Had reservations about going to New Orleans but by the time the trip was over I was a full blown ambassador for New Orleans. Again, Thanks to the folks at the Drury for helping make this such a great vacation!

Room Tip: You can pay 1.25 for a one way fare on the trolley or for a 3 dollars get an all day pass which wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottSlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,508 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,805 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,653 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 8,168 - ₹ 21,506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing