We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like living history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Slidell, LA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Felt like living history”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The place is a grand manison set on one of the most picturesque streets in New Orleans. The Street car is just steps outside the door to carry you to the French Quarter or other places of interest. That is the highlight of staying there, no need for a car and you are in 'more' of a residential neighborhood than staying in the Qtr with all the noise all night long.
Our room was spacious, the bed comphy and clean, everything we needed and more. We enjoyed having the free wifi so I could keep up with business and the complimentary snacks in the dining room. Joe was over the top with sharing information we felt like old friends.
I was saddened that the breakfast was a continental as I am use to the breakfasts at other B&B's but learned that it is not their choice, it is a city ordinance or such and they are not allowed to cook for guests. BUT with that said, they go out of their way to offer the best continental I have had at any lodging.
I am already planning my next adventure to the past.

Room Tip: Joe happened to show me a few of the rooms, glad he had already picked ours out or I would still be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyintheknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    45
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
175
370
39
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I'm glad I chose the Avenue Inn when I needed a quiet place to study for finals. Bebe and Joe made sure that I got a room with a desk, and I was very thankful for the complimentary wi-fi, tea, coffee, water, and snacks. While I wasn't there on vacation, it was such a stress-free and laid-back atmosphere that it almost felt like one :)

Room Tip: A room on the first floor near the back gives you quick access to the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We spent 5 nights, did all the things we set out to do, heard good music, ate great food, saw the sites. We had a very nice vacation. Joe & Bebe helped make our stay delightful. Any of our needs were taken care of immediately. We took the streetcar in to the French Quarter several times, simple and easy. This is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Joe and Bebe were wonderfully hospitable and helpful. We enjoyed the Inn it self, we loved the area around it, and the proximity to the streetcar and the main drag of St. Charles was perfect for exploring. On our next trip to New Orleans, (yes, we've already decided to go back) we'll certainly stay at the Avenue Inn again.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dpiotrowski35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My friend and stayed here recently during French Quarter Fest were delighted. My friend returned home, my husband arrived and our room changed to the honeymoon suite and again, we were delighted. The house is lovely, the rooms and bathrooms were spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. The parlor even has Miss Scarlett's green velvet portieres (sic?) hanging on the magnificent windows. We particularly enjoyed the verandah and garden. Rocking on the porch and looking out at St. Charles Ave. from a ways back was surprisingly serene. We also appreciated the proximity of the streetcar and Magazine St. The breakfast was plentiful and well-thought out if not inspiring. I can understand why they choose to serve a continental breakfast - it's a big B&B -- and I did know what to expect. We especially appreciated the welcoming chocolate chip cookies and the free water, fruit, and other snacks available all the time. All in all, Joe and Bebe seemed to have thought of everything we could have wanted to make our stay special - and Joe's wry sense of humor added an extra special touch. The Avenue Inn is a charming respite in my very favorite city in the world and I will be back. Thank you, Joe and Bebe!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GammyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 163 in New Orleans
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,202 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#5 of 163 in New Orleans
317 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,054 - ₹ 11,597
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing