We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious breakfast!”

The Ruby Slipper Cafe
Ranked #52 of 2,036 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: A neighborhood cafe specializing in Breakfast, Lunch & Brunch. Breakfast served all day, every day! Conveniently located in the Central Business District, one block from the Canal Streetcar line, and just steps to the French Quarter and Warehouse District.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place gets packed EARLY and its no wonder because food is amazing. Tip - get the Nowait app and you wont have to wait long. My boyfriend and I both loved our breakfast here and the service was good. Definitely try if you're visiting NOLA

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NicG413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubyslippercafe, Social Media at The Ruby Slipper Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi NicG413! We are so glad to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed it and appreciate you mentioning the Nowait app - it can be a lifesaver. Thank you for the fab review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 2,809 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hour wait was way to long to wait for mediocre food. If it was not for the girl serving margaritas ( for purchase) we most likely would have left. I had the Migas. Sounded delish but it was just a small omelette laying on tortilla chips. My friend burger was over cooked, the Croque Madame was ok but my other friends BBQ Shrimp on grits was good.

Thank luluk565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubyslippercafe, Social Media at The Ruby Slipper Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi luluk565. We are sorry to hear that your meal wasn't exceptional as is our standard and we will discuss your feedback with the manager. Thank you for the information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tried our first morning but they had 1.5 hour wait and saw everyone using the app to pre-cue. Worked like a charm 2nd morning and only waited 20 min. Bacon Bloody Mary was very tasty as was the chix st Charles and salmon Bennie. Kids loved the French toast batons. Fun wait staff and active managers make this a must stop in NOLA.

Thank mjgreens123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubyslippercafe, Social Media at The Ruby Slipper Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so glad your entire family enjoyed it, mjgreens123! Sounds like you made great menu selections and we appreciate you mentioning the Nowait app - it is super helpful! We hope to see you next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lives up to the hype of other reviews! Excellent breakfast/brunch spot just off Canal Street. Great selection of dishes, including some specialities. As others have said, this is a really popular and busy place and she we waited 10-15 minutes for a table, but it as worth it! Great food and atmosphere and friendly staff. Highly recommend!

Thank dizzylizzie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubyslippercafe, Social Media at The Ruby Slipper Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow! Thank you so much, dizzylizzie55! We are so glad you hear that you enjoyed your entire experience. We appreciate the recommendation and will pass on your praises to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes -- what a place to have a fabulous breakfast or early/late brunch!
While there are 3 locations, we happened to choose to eat at the "Uptown" one on Magazine in the Garden District Area.
Food was delicious. Two of group had the Trifecta (sampling of 3 dishes --Eggs Cochon, Chicken St. Charles & Shrimp Boogaloo Benedicts). The third member of our party had the Shrimp Boogaloo alone. WE LOVED THEM ALL!!!!!.
Some might feel a slight drawback with the cost -$20 for the Trifecta as a breakfast. But it was more than a meal & welllllll worth it!
We would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubyslippercafe, Social Media at The Ruby Slipper Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

WOW! Thank you so much, SBU! We are so happy that you all enjoyed your experience with us. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ruby Slipper Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Ruby Slipper Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing