We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book if your a travelling couple!! + bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Despite having a few good qualities this hostel lacks severely in two fundamental areas which I think makes a good hostel. These are the atmosphere and location.

The atmosphere I would best describe as a social hub for large groups of Americans and very few international travellers. During our stay we unfortunately had the company of approx 20 very inconsierate Jewish school children. They were on some kind of school trip and invited lots friends into the hostel and completed dominated the kitchen and common area. The were doing lots of group homework sessions and preaching in the small common area about God and life. This group combined with the various large groups of wanabe FRAT boys meant that nobody in this hostel were interested in meeting others but using it as a base for a group holiday. Definately not ideal if you are a young couple (25-35) looking to meet like minded travellers.
The location is also poor. It is 20 minute walk to the street car and a further 15 minute street car ride into the centre of New Orleans. It is NOT a 25 but at least a 45 minute walk to the French Quarter. This hostel is not really close to anything. It is right in the middle of a residential neighbourhood.
Good qualities about this hostel was the free shuttle, staff were OK and it was pretty clean with constant cleaning throughout the day.
As someone looking to meet other travellers who likes to be centrally located I would certainly not reccommend this hostel. My advice - LOOK ELSEWHERE.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

This hostel is located in a suburb just out from New Orleans touristy districts. About a 10-minute walk to Walmart, Cafes and the Streetcar that gets you to Canal Street (then roughly 10-minute walk to French Quarter).

Stayed in a private room, was small but fine for the price. Beds were okay. Bathrooms were pretty average, old but acceptable cleanliness. Did see a few bugs here and there but summer in New Orleans, it's a bit grungey so you're gonna expect that.

You're supplied with a common room and it's pretty easy to meet other travellers - we met some great people to venture out at night with which is what you need in this city. There's also a kitchen but didn't really use it as you're gonna be out trying all the flavours NOLA has to offer.

They have a noise curfew which is good because after spending all day and all night out you're gonna want somewhere chilled to relax. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jumbz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I booked 2 nights in a dorm bed over the phone. When I arrived they only had one night booked and said they didn't have a vacancy for the next night.
THEN they did, then they didn't, then they said they definitely did but they couldn't tell me which dorm until the afternoon.
THEN they didn't again, after I had waited until the afternoon - the guy on the desk said "I can say anything if I'm doing something else" - he couldn't care less.
THEN they had a private room for twice the price - when I said they had mucked me around and should really offer it to me for the same price they said "take it or leave it".
THEN they said they have a POLICY OF NO-ONE OVER 40 - ISN'T THAT ILLEGAL ???
THEN a young miss in the office told me I had 5 minutes to leave because she overheard me talking to an acqaintance about the situation.
THEN she said "no" when I asked them to call me a cab.
THEN they tried to get out of paying me back my key deposit. DON'T RISK IT.

Room Tip: tHE HOSTEL WILL DOUBTLESS TRY TO REFUTE THIS - BUT THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED. I have stayed in h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed there for five days, and that is literally the worst hostel I have stayed in ever!!!
the name is bourbon, but it's way far from bourbon, it's in the middle of nowhere
I saw a HUGE cockroach!
and the attitude of the stuff there was terrible, really rude!
also, the beds were extremely dangerous! they were really tall and there were no fence to keep you from dropping! and some are not by the wall, they are in the middle of the room.
by the way, there are no windows in the room
the soundproof of the wall is awful!
in a word, this is a terrible hostel!!!!!!!!!!!! it ruined my experience in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hostel was the final destination of our road trip. I kinda liked staying here, but that was more because I got used to this place after a couple of days. However, if I would go back to New Orleans, I would reconsider this hostel again. Let's agree: it's so cheap! And to be honest, what you get for that price is very reasonable. I loved the pancake breakfast and the spacious terrace behind the main building. It was very nice to sit there and chillax. We switched rooms 3 times (due to our late booking) and the first two were so so. The first one was small, with no windows, which made it hard to breathe at night. It got very hot in there, although we went in December. The second room was a dorm, with a separate entrance at the street. Hot as well. For one night it was ok, but I would have hated it if I had to stay there for a longer time. You have to enter the street first if you wanna go to the bathroom. Very inconvenient in the middle of the night especially. Oh, there was also no internet connection there. The last room was GREAT! It had a window and a comfy bed! Liked staying here for my last couple of nights. Room 11 it was!

The location is ok. It's very far from the French Quarter and the nearest street car stop is a ten minute walk, which is fine, but not late at night. Reconsider cabs! However, it's close to Walmart and Magazine Street!

Again: fun and great hostel for the price you have to pay! Miss the pancakes and the other guests over there.

Room Tip: Don't go for that big dorm room on the streets if you want a relaxing trip. We especially loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 37 in New Orleans
245 reviews
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#8 of 37 in New Orleans
78 reviews
Mid-City
NOLA Jazz House
NOLA Jazz House
#14 of 37 in New Orleans
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
Site 61 Hostel
Site 61 Hostel
#10 of 37 in New Orleans
80 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Madame Isabelle's House In New Orleans
The Quisby
#3 of 37 in New Orleans
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel

Address: 1660 Annunciation St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 1,245 - ₹ 5,437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are AAE Bourbon House Mansion and Hostel, located only 18 minutes walking to the French Quarter and famous "Bourbon Street". In the "lower Garden District" we are 5 minutes walk to the Convention Center and the only Guest House/ Hostel that provides a FREE Shuttle to and from Greyhound and Amtrack. We also have airport shuttle for as low as $15 a person. All guests, either dorm beds or deluxe private rooms get to enjoy FREE BREAKFAST, Free Internet, Free Shuttles, Free Parking and a great Guest House full of European Travelers that create an exciting environment. We welcome all ages and have private rooms for families that sleep up to 8 people available. We are the "top rated" hostel in New Orleans and there is a reason for that... because were the best choice from the traveling public viewpoint! Come stay with us and be happy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your AAE Bourbon House Mansion & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aae Bourbon House Mansion Hotel New Orleans
Aae Bourbon House Mansion And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing