We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply THE BEST!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My overnight stay at Southern Comfort B&B was so enjoyable! The house is just beautiful and location is perfect. Cindee made me feel right at home not to mention the delicious breakfast. I only wish I could have stayed longer!! No more downtown hotels for me. This is by far a superior choice. Thank you, Cindee:)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FArrant71270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast in March of 2012 and LOVED it! This was a first time visiting New Orleans and we weren't quite sure what to expect, but Cindee's hospitality, kindness and knowledge of the city made our trip great and we can't wait to go back. Cindee makes you feel like you're her family and she is happy to help you find something to do or eat and give good directions. She takes a lot of pride in the city and wants to make sure that you experience it. She really is one of the best B&B hosts we've stayed with.

Southern Comfort is a beautiful restored house from the early 20th century and it's location makes it a great place to explore. It's close to the streetcar line,so you can get anywhere and it's located in a great neighborhood. Cindee even has bikes available and they were perfect. We had the best time riding to restaurants, bars, shopping and a locally owned movie theatre. They let you see so much of the architecture and you find great places to eat and drink by exploring.

Our room was great, too. It was clean and comfortable and was a good size. The bathroom had a claw foot tub and was really spacious.

The breakfasts at Southern Comfort are wonderful!! We had something different everyday and the breakfast was very hearty. For example on different days we had blueberry french toast, pulled pork and biscuits, quiche and an amazing egg dish with crawfish. There was always fruit and coffee and tea as well. Another thing we loved is that there is an honor bar in the kitchen so you can grab a bottle of beer or wine and sit out on the porch and enjoy some down time.

Here are some of our favorite finds from the area that might not be listed in the tourist guides:
-Sucre is a bakery / gelatto shop on Magazine street and is divine. The gelatto is the best I've had in the US and the cupcakes are to die for.
-The Delachaise is a restaurant bar that had a great atmosphere and wonderful food as well as tons of wine and beer choices. The french fries are fried in duck fat (oh.my.god) and the other entrees are just as good. Ride your bikes here!
-Prytania theatre is a fun locally owned movie theatre that has one screen and has the old time movie feel with velvet curtains, etc. Ride your bikes here, too.
-Southern Rep Theatre puts on amazing plays. We saw Street Car Named Desire and it was phenomenal.
-Magazine street has lots of boutiques and fun shopping plus antiques.
-Frenchman street was the best place to go for live music. Check out Three Muses.

Thanks, Cindee, for making our vacation great! We will be back :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erincita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Cindee, Jessica, Zoe, and I want to thank you for a very special Easter Weekend. We drove to NOLA from Memphis to spend Easter (and the Crescent City 10k Road Race) with our son. First of all the location was perfect. Close to the trolley, shopping, great restaurants and our son's apartment.

Most of all, your hospitality and B+B made the weekend comfortable and special. You definitely go out of your way to welcome guests. The rooms were very special and beautifully decorated. Brunches were off the chart. We really did enjoy spending Easter afternoon, reading and relaxing on the front porch.

See you next time we are in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

From the moment Cindee Quick opened the front door of her Southern Comfort B & B (SCB&B) to greet my wife, Susan, and I, we felt like family returning home. Cindee directed us to our five-night luxurious accommodations: "The Plantation Room." Our two-room suite was spacious, very clean, well maintained, well equipped, quiet, and very comfortable. At the beginning of our stay, Cindee sat with us for over an hour giving us ideas and brochures on things to see, dining, tours, and transportation in New Orleans.

Each morning, as we enjoyed the company of the other guests, we were treated to the finest southern breakfasts in the New Orleans tradition. Not having been in the New Orleans area before, Cindee’s recipes were a delightful first for us. As only one example of Cindee’s hospitality, Susan and I had to leave the SCB&B very early to take a tour and would miss one of Cindee’s special breakfasts. Cindee, ahead of time, prepared coffee, raisin bread for toast, fresh fruit with accompanying notes of instructions for us on the kitchen table. By the way, I forgot to mention to Cindee that the raisin toast was the best I have tasted. I wish we had some of it out here in California.

The SCB&B is located in the Garden District and is a short walk to local dining (in a pinch, try N.O. Hamburger and Seafood Co. on St Charles about two blocks away) and to the St Charles streetcar that took us to the border (Canal St.) of the French Quarter. We purchased daily passes, which cost us only $3 each.

There is nothing about SCB&B and Cindee Quick’s management I would change. I would highly recommend being guests at the SCB&B. Who knows, if Susan and I ever return to New Orleans, we’ll surely be giving Cindee a call.

Room Tip: Well, we loved our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We just returned from a few days in New Orleans, staying at the Southern Comfort B & B. What a lovely place. The 100+ year old house is immaculate and features three beautifully decorated rooms, each with a private bath. The breakfasts are both imaginative and delicious. The location couldn't be better - just a couple of blocks from the St. Charles street car. We parked our car when we arrived and never started it again until it was time to leave. The "secret" garden behind the house is a little piece of heaven and is the perfect place to sip a glass of wine.

Cindee Quick, the innkeeper, is a perfect hostess. We immediately felt at home. She was a wealth of information and advice on where to go and what to do. I would go back to Southern Comfort in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniferG909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#37 of 142 in New Orleans
171 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#21 of 142 in New Orleans
366 reviews
Hubbard Mansion
#31 of 142 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 142 in New Orleans
679 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 142 in New Orleans
941 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 142 in New Orleans
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1739 Marengo St, New Orleans, LA 70115-4729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 14,201 - ₹ 15,960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Comfort Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Comfort b&b
Southern Comfort Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing