We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The French Quarter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau Hotel
Ranked #118 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Weatherford, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The French Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Chateau Hotel 1001 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, La. THe service and staff were wonderful, friendly and professional. Breakfast served to you daily with the paper in a comfort garden stay courtyard. I would recommend this stay for couples and families alike. We will be back next year for sure. Thank you Chateau for the greatest stay.
Mr & Mrs. Holloway

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holloway2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
We enjoyed having you! Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Sarah I Drake
Reservations Manager
Chateau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    240
    108
    67
    62
See reviews for
95
321
43
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This little gem is 2 blocks from Bourbon Street, about 3 blocks from Jackson Square, 3 blocks from Cafe Du Monde, 1 block from the art galleries on Royal Street -- yeah, it's pretty much in an amazing location in the quarter. It's at the corner of Chartres Street & St. Louis. When I go to NOLA, I like to divide my day into thirds: Part 1 is breakfast & light shopping, then back to the room to drop off the bags, use the restroom and rest my feet for 30 minutes. Part 2 is off to another activity and lunch - then back to the room for the whole resting of the feet/restroom thing. Part 3 is dinner & nightlife and then back to the room to sleep.

So the Chateau Hotel is perfect for this type of traveler ... someone who just needs a home base.

Upsides: They let me check in at 9AM because my room was vacant. Major plus! The front desk is friendly and informative. They have a free continental breakfast and get this - if you're too lazy to go down & get it, you can fill out a card and hang it on your door knob and they'll bring your selections to your room at the time you indicate on the card FREE. Loved this! They have free ice, in-room refrigerators and a soda machine onsite. Beds passed my thorough bed bug inspection (sheets, mattress, box spring, mattress cover, pillow cases, etc.).Overall, I felt safe here.

Downsides: OMG, noisy! The staff slams stuff around in the halls and in the courtyard at all hours of the day & night. Flapping garbage bags, vacuuming, squirting sidewalks, squawking on their walkie-talkies/cell phones, and other sounds that I couldn't identify. The paper boy drops the newspapers at each doorway at 5AM ... thump, thump, thump, thump, thump, thump, thump. The TVs are from the early 70s and include the static problems of that era too at no extra charge. The water pressure is equal to that of a kinked hose and the rooms have that "we used to let people smoke in here" aroma. No temperature controls - you have to go their preferences on this.

Bottom line: Hey, I paid $89 a night. I got a killer location and a place to store my crap and rest my head. That's more than fair. I'd stay here again -- and I recommend it to you if you can look past a few imperfections in exchange for an amazing location and great rates. Just get some ear plugs, a bottle of Fabreze and you'll be golden.

Room Tip: Reserve early and contact the hotel directly - via their website or by calling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmhnola2001, Reservations Manager at Chateau Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
You should write tavel blogs! I loved reading your review. It kept me smiling through the whole read.

I will give you a tip on our a/c system. You may control it...however it is either on or off. Check with the desk next time you stay with us for the ins and outs of the specifc room!

Again, what a great review!!

Sarah I Drake
Reservations Manager
Chateau Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pero, Italy
Level Contributor
209 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The hotel's location is excellent: Chartres Street in the French Quarter. You're just seconds away from the Mississippi, Jackson Square and the Café du Monde. Rooms are reasonably large and the staff very friendly and helpful. One notable ecxception was an elderly gentleman at the reception who, for reasons entirely his own, was extremely unfriendly. Still, being in the heart of N'awlins was worth the temporary aggravation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teerex51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville Al
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the Chateau Hotel in early January. While a bit worn, the Chateau was a tremendous value relative to any other place in the quarter - so much so that I debated putting a review here because I don't want them to get too popular! The bed and room were clean, comfortable and quiet, and there's a nice courtyard with a pool (valuable during the summer), giving the hotel some character. The location is absolutely fantastic - it's one block from Decatur, two blocks from Jackson square, and an easy walk to anywhere else in the quarter. In addition, the parking was free with AAA membership, which saved us a bundle. My only complaint was that their was no individual control of the room temperature - it was either on or off.

Room Tip: courtyard side is quiet. Need to ask for a well-lit bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreeceStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We visited New Orleans for the first time in January 2012. I booked through Priceline primarily for the cost and location. You are about two blocks from Jackson Square, three from Bourbon Street, and about four from Frenchmen Street. Prior to our visit (yet after we booked), I noticed several reviews online regarding Chateau Hotel's poor quality, particularly regarding cleanliness. As someone who is a bit of a cleaning nut, I assure you that our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. It is basic, however, and on the small side. But if you plan to spend the majority of your stay exploring the city, this wasn't a negative for me.

The front desk was very polite and helpful. I felt safe in the hotel, although there are no lock boxes in your room - I did not leave valuables.

My only complaint is the noise level of the cleaning staff. They began cleaning around 8am, with no concern for sleeping guests.

Overall: Safe, comfortable, clean, quiet. Great place to stay on a budget.

Room Tip: Request an upper level room, preferably of the courtyard for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klv82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#105 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#91 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#122 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel

Property: Chateau Hotel
Address: 1001 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,861 - ₹ 25,481
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chateau Hotel can enjoy an afternoon relaxing by the pool, set amongst a beautifully landscaped courtyard with classic statuary and fountains. In the evening, the courtyard transforms into a romantic setting for guests to enjoy evening cocktails at the Patio Bar before a night out on the town. The Chateau Hotel is perfectly positioned just two blocks from famed attractions such as Jackson Square, Bourbon Street, the Old French Market and the Mississippi River.We invite you to stay at the Chateau Hotel where you will be treated like royalty in a timeless and intimate setting as a visitor to our exciting city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Motor Hotel
Chateau New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing