We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super spot for French Quarter and Street Car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #28 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was the ideal spot for our 4 days over New Years for our family of 4 (2 daughters in college).. It is close to the French Quarter (one block) and on the street car line. The hotel is unusual for a Hampton Inn because it has enormous room size and high ceilings and huge windows. All the rest is the reliable Hampton with healthy breakfasts. The staff were helpful and the celebrations on the river were just an 8 minute walk away. Also it is away from the New Orleans Convention center which is nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street bring in a great light in daytime and there was no noise despite the hilarity of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,661 - 1,665 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very close to everything - Bourbon street is just a block away. Our room was very nice - the staff was friendly. Would stay again (and hope to).

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I recently stayed at this Hampton Inn for 2 nights on a girls' trip. First of all, the location is excellent. It's a 5 minute walk to Bourbon street - right in the middle of every place you want to be.

After a long drive, we made it to the hotel around 1:30, although check-in was not until 3pm. They let us check in early, so that was a plus! Once we arrived in the room, we noticed a couple of things. The tub faucet was running a steady stream of water and wouldn't shut off, and the bathroom sink wasn't draining. About 10 minutes after we arrived to the room, a staff member called to make sure everything was as expected. We told them about the 2 issues, and someone was up within minutes to fix both problems.

With 5 girls staying in one room, we had to call for extra towels a couple of times. Each time, towels were brought up withing 5-10 minutes. One night we called for an extra blanket around 2am and it was to our room within 5 minutes.

The hotel has a breakfast buffet that was good and is available until 10am. They also have valet parking ($29/night), but it was prompt and I'm sure that's standard for any hotel in the area.

Overall, I think that this Hampton Inn is a great place to stay - especially because of the outstanding service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mallorybsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed in New Orleans over the St. Patrick's Day weekend. Picked this hotel for price and location.Felt this was an okay choice. You should be aware there are less than desirable street people in the nearby area, however once we hit Canal Street (two blocks away) things were fine. Big rooms, okay breakfast and steep parking fee ($30.00 per day) Pleasant staff. Convenient location to French Quarter and streetcar stop is nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were in New Orleans for the NCAA Final Four.......and this property was the perfect spot for our stay. Stay here and you are within walking distance of everything.....Superdome, Bourbon Street (only 1 1/2 blocks away) and the French Quarter, French Market, Riverwalk and the Convention Center. The rooms are spacious and include a huge flat screen TV, refridgerator, microwave and a safe. They also offer fee breakfast and free wireless internet. Book this hotel for your next stay in the Big Easy and you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSquared007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 166 in New Orleans
1,479 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: ₹ 7,881 - ₹ 20,257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing