We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good hotel, good free breakfast & wi-fi.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Ranked #28 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location, good hotel, good free breakfast & wi-fi.”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice now. Having been here 5 years ago it has not changed. Room sizes are immense. So much space and comfort. Ideally located for all sightseeing. Very close (5mins) from Bourbon St . But not close enough to be bothered by the noise. Also very close to shops and access to streetcars and buses. There is also a free breakfast included which puts other ,paying breakfast, hotels to shame. Such a choice and constantly being replenished. There is coffe and tea available thru out the day and night. Again this is also free. There is also free wi-fi too, which is speedy and consistent. The hotel is spotlessly clean and in good repair . I would definitely come back to this hotel again. Not sure how it compares price wise as our trip has always been part of a package so can't really comment on that. But I feel at home here and that's what matters.

Room Tip: Having been here twice both rooms have been spacious,clean and very comfortable. No street noise to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveljan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    632
    154
    39
    24
See reviews for
434
634
76
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I'm a big fan of Hampton Inns - in fact, when given the chance I will typically stay there if I am paying as I find they are clean and comfy for the money. I also love my Hilton Honors Rewards. :) HOWEVER....this one did not really make the mark for me. While the management was very accommodating in trying to fix a bad situation (I will not get into details but it was pretty bad), I can say that I would not feel comfortable staying in this property again. My concerns are mainly cleanliness and front desk attitude. The positives of the hotel are location - the beginning and end of the street car line is 2 blocks away which is very convenient. Its only a few minute's walk to the French Quarter, and Carondelet Street turns into Bourbon Street on the other side of Canal Street. The breakfast room is quite nice, the fitness room has a wide variety of equipment, although some machines are dated and in need of repair. Just not up to the standards of a typical Hampton Inn. I would opt for the Garden District Hampton Inn if I were to visit NOLA again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
339 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Located two block from the French Quarter and Bourbon Street without the noise and crowds. The hotels location is Excellent. The rooms were clean and good sized. Include a fridge and coffee pot and free buffett breakfast. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable amking great recommendations for restrauants and local attractions. I am staying here the next time I visit New Orleans. Book early, and the rates are very attractive considering the Great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sail2fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This Hampton Inn was clean, very large rooms, excellent service and staff. Breakfast buffet was great. Our room not only had 2 beds, but a couch, table, desk, microwave, fridge and coffee pot along with a large tv. The price was very reasonable

It was an easy walk to all the action, but hotel was in a quiet area, so it was away from the noise. Only issue with that was the street to get to it was a little creepy at night. It was just 2 blocks off Canal street, so a short walk, but it was dark street. .That is the only reason I did not give it a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tlk824Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel used to be pretty nice but has been 'let go" in my opinion. Our room was okay but nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LATESHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 162 in New Orleans
1,352 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#33 of 162 in New Orleans
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Address: 226 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,134 - ₹ 19,624
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter, Hampton Inn & Suites provides spacious, thoughtfully-appointed New Orleans accommodations amid the area's most celebrated attractions. Just a short walk from Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and numerous premier dining venues, we offer exquisite location near festivals, theater, music and nightlife, while providing a peaceful respite from all the noise and excitement. We also feature spacious, fully-equipped accommodations, contemporary amenities, free Wi-Fi and a delicious hot complimentary breakfast. Center your Big Easy adventure at our welcoming New Orleans hotel and discover a truly unique lodging experience in one of the world's most unique travel destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Downtown/French Quarter Area Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing