We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Cafe Du Monde

Cafe Du Monde
Ranked #2 of 59 Coffee & Tea in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American, French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
pa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

No trip to new Orleans is complete without a trip here in the morning. The coffee is awesome and of course the beignets are the best

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjimjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

25,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,668
    7,151
    3,821
    1,072
    506
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, TX
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I'll start off by saying we have a very pleasant memory of eating on the patio our last time we were here. This time, not so much. We were waiting in the long line to get a table when we realized many of the people sitting at tables had nothing in front of them. So we opted for the long but fast moving to-go line instead. An employee approached us before we got to the window, asked us what we wanted, wrote nothing down, and told us to sit down on the wall behind the place, and get out of line. He screwed up the order, brought out my coffee with cream when I wanted black, rolled his eyes and sighed when I asked if it was possible to get a large (this must have been five or six ounce ... and since he had intercepted us before we could see a menu we didn't know what sizes they had). Anyway, $15 later we had our bag of six little greasebombs submerged in powdered sugar, and two large coffees. We'll skip it next time.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 66Champs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby in the UK
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice Coffee Stop”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Great coffee and fab beignets, it's a tourist spot which has to be done more than the once. It shouldn't be just for the tourists.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chariotchoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Coffee and Little Donuts”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Had a great experience service was fast and friendly even though packed at lunch time with a lot of tourists even had two singers/trumpet players on either side. Noisy though not for a romantic date.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pcbgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West St. Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A must stop in New Orleans for traditional fare.”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This little Gold Mine in the heart of the city is a must. It is busy most of the time, but either go early like before 10am or later in the evening. The beignets are little pillows or dough and powder sugar goodness. We stopped twice, they are so yummy. I did buy some mix to bring home and try at home. Some of the help was very friendly, some just doing their job. They make below minimum wage plus tips and are charged a base amount $40 or $50 per paycheck for taxes on their tips - so tip generously, they are hard working and the food is good/yummy. Brought some of their coffee home as well. Fun and nostalgic. Read up on the history and also check out the old photos in the closed in room of the eatery. A must see for sure.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank luvablkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Du Monde also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Du Monde? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing