We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Class and charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PA
1 review
“Class and charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The team at Creole Gardens epitomizes what New Orleans knows best, southern hospitality! Kudos to both Bryan and Chris for the way they invited me into their B&B. Kris was a joy and never short on stories about the city or recommendations for a great time. The Bordello Mansion provided cozy, Victorian styled rooms with modern amenities (cable, wi-fi) in a secluded, relaxing setting. The Garden District location of the property is ideal, as it sits one block off St. Charles Ave, which is always bustling with activity from local restaurants and taverns. The property is within easy walking distance to downtown New Orleans, and the surrounding area is pleasant. I recommend Creole Gardens to anyone looking to stay in a place with a bit of original character. Go Cats!

Room Tip: Miss Bessie La Mothe's Parlor of Pleasure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CodyReese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    180
    43
    24
    11
See reviews for
123
358
58
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed in the "bordello annex". Smaller room, but still comfortable. The mansion rooms are larger and more elegant, if that's important to you. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We felt very much "at home". If you drive in, this location is great. We could walk around the Garden District and were just 2 blocks from the trolly to the Quarter. We could also jump in the car and hit some superb neighborhood restaurants. Really felt like we were living local in N.O. for 4 days. They're not fancy here. The place has a ton of funky, Nawlins charm and that's exactly what we wanted. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-n-Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raceland, KY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I was skeptical of finding a place to stay in New Orleans during the Final Four, especially since I didn't know I was going until Wednesday before the Saturday Semi's. Thought I would surely have to stay miles away, until B&B was mentioned and we stumbled onto the Creole Gardens. We were not in the mansion part, but we weren't looking for a mansion, just a clean place to rest after games and sightseeing. The people there were the epitome of Southern hospitality. I am satisfied that those who paid twice as much in nearby hotels did not get the attention to detail and personal help offered by those at Creole Gardens. Example: After giving us a walking route to the Super Dome, they reviewed it and decided we were being sent down a questionable street - they called our cell and re-routed us a better way. What hotel clerk w/hundreds of guests would've done that - and breakfast was included and was a full southern breakfast, not just a continental 'wanna be' breakfast. There were other examples of their unique hospitality as well and I would definitely consider Creole Gardens again. We parked right outside on Friday night and were in comfortable walking distance to WW II memorial, Super Dome, Street Car to French Quarter - couldn't have been happier - to not have to move the car again until Tuesday a.m.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We loved having you stay with us for Final Four and thank you for your kind comments! We love it when people stumble upon us and discover how much fun it can be to stay at a smaller unique inn like the Creole Gardens! Come back soon! We're having French Quarter Fest this weekend and Jazzfest in 2 weeks and there's always something fun going on in our town and our place! See you soon again, we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at Creole Gardens Bed and Breakfast for the Final Four 2012. We did not book our trip until the week before and were so grateful to find a place to stay in the city. Our room was in the Bordello Mansion. It was very quiet and we had a beautiful view of the courtyard. We walked in the area and found some nice bars/restaurants just down the street. Staying here gave us a different view of the city, less commercialized, more locals. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely consider staying here again when we visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lezleikelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We are so happy you got to try our little inn and enjoyed your time with us! The room you were in was one of the few with a full size bed....we hope next time to be able to offer you one of our larger rooms with a queen or king bed. It was a pleasure having you both and are so happy to have you as part of the every growing Creole Gardens extended family! See you again soon, we all hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Made last minute reservation during final four weekend, so we were lucky to just get a room. With that said, I expect a bit more for $219 plus tax and a 4 night minimum. The buildings are very quaint with lots of history and the setting is safe, quiet, and convenient. Not once during our stay did I hear another group while in our room and the patio is very charming and peaceful. The staff members are engaging, friendly, and helpful. On the downside: The view from our window looked like the yard from Sanford and Son. In fairness, they said they are renovating. The towels were paper thin and every day we had to request additional for our party of 4 - sometimes we got them, sometimes we did not. Not once during the 4 days did they come into our room and clean as they just dropped off a plastic bag of towels, and by the end the room was quite dirty. Breakfast was OK, but I have definitely had better at other B&B's.

Bottom line is that even though I expected to pay more at a premium time, I think they could afford to spend a little more and provide a better level of service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uabuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creolegardens, Manager at Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
We appreciate your nice comments about how unique and colorful our place is and how helpful we all were. We are very distressed, though, about your comments about the room service as we are always ordering and restocking new towels and linens. And our long standing and trusty housekeepers all swore that they completely serviced your room while you were there, which is what they are supposed to do. Short of hooking them up to some kind of Rube Goldberg lie detector apparatus, we don't know what to make of this, except to offer you a chance to come back and try us again. Yes, your room looked out on our third courtyard,, and where we have been doing renovations since Katrina blew the roof off that outside building (it goes slow down here when you have over 15000 square feet and a small village of antebellum houses to completely renovate --without full benefit of insurance, thank you very much! But who's complaining when you get to live in one of the most amazing cities in the natural (and supernatural) world?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1415 Prytania St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,780 - ₹ 24,500
Hotel Class:3 star — Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Lower Garden District, this property features 24 rooms in several 1840's historic mansions and converted servants quarters, centered around a lush, tropical courtyard and fountain. The Creole Gardens is one block from St. Charles streetcar and Mardi Gras parade routes, minutes from the French Quarter, Magazine Street and the Convention Center. All rooms open to outdoor areas, for that true Nawlins lifestyle. FREE Hot Southern Breakfast served daily. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Hotel New Orleans
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing