We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting the Standard”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Setting the Standard”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

In the unlikely event that we ever had the opportunity to open our own B&B, Jill and The Chimes would be our inspiration and the standard we would aspire to.

The whole experience - Jill's friendly welcome, her helpful tips and suggestions, our fabulous room, the peaceful and relaxing courtyard, the main house and it's location, the outstanding breakfast and the banter with fellow guests across the breakfast table (I could go on) - made our stay in New Orleans a very memorable one.

I'm not easily impressed or usually one for giving out gushing praise but, very occasionally, an experience comes along that simply deserves it - The Chimes was one such experience.

I'm struggling to think of a downside to balance things up. The only thing I can think of is that we've been spoiled and from now on all future B&Bs will be judged against the very high standards set by The Chimes.

Do yourself a favour and treat yourself to a stay at The Chimes - you won't be disappointed.

Jo and Frank, West Yorkshire, UK

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dolly-jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
166
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Ellen, and our dog, Mia, and I had a wonderful stay at The Chimes right before Christmas last year. We stayed in room 3, a small, beautifully furnished room with a door to the street and a French window opening on the courtyard. Since room 3 is on the street side we did hear some occasional traffic, but we're from Chicago, so it didn't bother us. Our hostess, Jill, served a tasty breakfast and joined us for conversation with the other guests, making a fun and lively start to our days of exploring southern Louisiana. The Chimes is on the edge of the Garden District, with it's stately homes, and just a few blocks from Magazine Street, where we found great shops and restaurants. Jill had some helpful suggestions for places to eat, as well. I should mention that while we were out in the swamps or shopping the Vieux Carré Mia spent her days at doggie day care so she wouldn't disturb the other guests. We love New Orleans and look forward to staying at The Chimes again.

Room Tip: Check with Jill about bringing a pet before you book. Not all rooms are pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoTimChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cut Off, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

If you want a personal experience while staying in New Oleans The Chimes is the place for
you. Blocks from the street car on St Charles but also blocks from Magazine St. with dining and shops. Quite Uptown Garden district neighborhood without the busy downtown city. The personal touch of hostess Jill was nice and friendly. Nice patio area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I picked The Chimes so we could walk down Magazine St to my daughter's house. I had no idea I would have such a delightful B&B experience. The two quaint courtyards on the side and back were so inviting that I just wanted to sit and relax. Jill and Charles treated everyone like family. My favorite part of everyday was the conversation at the bountiful breakfast (see my photos). Charles helped guest plan their dining reservations with his enthusiastic commentaries on local restaurants. Each room also had a booklet listing restaurants by location,style and price. Even going so far as to list their favorite menu selections and why. Luckily the other quests who casually shared breakfast with us were equally excited to talk of their past days experiences which help guide our future plans. You could walk two blocks to the street car and head to the French Quarter or walk 2-3 blocks the other direction to Magazine Street for great shopping and restaurants. We were there for the St Patrick's Day parade which was hysterically fun. I hope to return toThe Chimes and bring friends. Because of the shared courtyard it would be a great place for several couples to stay because it would feel like your own home. There is a self serve stocked refrigerator with soda, beer and wine for a very small fee ( soda $0.60 , glass of wine $3) that is on the honor system!

Room Tip: We chose room #1 because it was the only room available. How lucky were we to find that this was lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had a wonderful room in the carriage house, there is welcoming outdoor space to gather and spend time out of the room, the breakfasts start the day with good coffee, good food, and lively conversation, and Jill is a passionate hostess, willing to offer advice and help to make the most of your stay and visit. It's also an easy streetcar ride to the French Quarter and to other sites, and the neighborhood itself features some excellent restaurants off the beaten tourist path. Highly recommended on every front and hopefully we can visit again.....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJB-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
300 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 138 in New Orleans
926 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 138 in New Orleans
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chimes Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1146 Constantinople St., New Orleans, LA 70115-2759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,199 - ₹ 11,305
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where you stay in New Orleans, matters. The Chimes is a hidden gem just off St. Charles Avenue in the residential Garden District/Uptown neighborhood. Restaurants, coffee houses and shops are within walking distance of this unique, private spot. The owners are on site with a singular goal: to make you feel comfortable and at home in their city. Five private guest rooms open to a courtyard that is beautiful, quiet and speaks of historic New Orleans. Queen size beds, shiny hard wood floors, private bathrooms, full breakfast, no stairs, French doors, stocked refrigerator and oh, so much more. New Orleans has cachet and when you stay at the Chimes Bed and Breakfast, you will feel it. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chimes b&b
Chimes Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing