We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Convento
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Provincial(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chateau Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Royal(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Soniat House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Inn on Ursulines(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cornstalk Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Place d'Armes Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
242
166
54
31
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
166
54
31
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench marketbudget roomcroissant d'orbeauregard keyes housebalcony roomrising sunfew blockspeeling paintcookie cutterchain hotelbourbon streetquiet streetdirectly across the streetghost tourlocation is greatparking garagejackson square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Unfortunately it was NOT what some reviews said. To start off the location is great but not the hotel itself. The rooms are very beaten up, the air conditioner unit is very noisy, there is great humidity which leads to mold, which is visible in bedroom and the bathroom walls, and not to even mention the smell of the room was just unbearable. The closet hangers are embarrassing- old abused-wire dry cleaning hangers, the door handle was broken. Every time we opened the door the handle would fall on our feet. I did let the front desk know, but there was nothing they could do about it, and no offer of any option to reacommodate us or look for a solution.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123noway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We had the best stay here compared to any other French Quarter stay. We were pleased with the location...close the French Market, Riverside Trolley line, Bourbon Street, and the Marginy District. There is a very nice coffee shop that opens at 6:00 AM right across the street (Croissant D'or). We had a ground floor room with a comfortable bed and excellent air conditioner. The staff was helpful and friendly and provided lots of helpful suggestions. This will always be our first choice for return trips.

Thank dlmifflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Just stayed 4 nights and had a good time. Sure the building is old, furniture tired, and the hotel could certainly use some upkeep, but this is not the Hilton and our stay was pleasant. The room was clean, the staff friendly, and the location was perfect. If you want to experience old style, historic New Orleans at a fair and reasonable price, Hotel Villa Convento is a place to consider. If you are picky and looking for an up to date, modern room, with fancy fixing, just book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redrockrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was my second stay at the Villa Convento. We had booked room 302 for nine days, but then added a tenth day at the front. 302 wasn't available, but they were able to give us Room 301 for the first night, which wasn't a balcony room, but it did have the most charming canopy bed and a separate day bed. For the remainder of our stay, Room 302 was a perfect fit with a wonderful view. We could even see the tops of ships as they went down the Mississippi (the sea wall kept part of the view obscured) We also view many carriages going by in front of the hotel as well as a second line parade and the filming of a commercial. The bed was very comfortable which made it very easy to sleep. Even if you don't get a balcony room at the Villa Convento, there are plenty of outdoor stairways and balconies where you can take great pictures or just get some excellent views.

As on my first visit, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Vince was ever smiling and happy to tell us about area attractions and life in the French Quarter. Warren clued us in on some great spots in the nearby Marigny and Bywater, and Barbara was the most vibrant person I've ever encountered at a front desk. They all did so much to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable, and "Grandma" the very old, very unique elevator certainly adds to the charm of the Villa Convento.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Soulcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We booked a two night stay at Hotel Villa Convento- it was "quaint" (as my mother would say). Quaint translated to "run down" upon inspection. The place does have a rustic charm if you can overlook tattered linens, mold in the bathroom and a stain that looked suspiciously like blood on the side of the tub. The sink was in the exceptionally small bedroom, btw. There are some bright spots,though; a location that makes it easy to visit many of the more popular tourist destinations by foot, and a nice and helpful staff. We wish someone on staff would've warned my husband that he might wake up in the middle of the night to some bizarre apparition standing in the corner glaring at him, though! When we talked to the lady at the desk about his experience the next morning, she just shrugged and said "this place just isn't right." This phantom certainly spooked my otherwise unflappable husband. With even a little renovation and TLC, this could be a very charming place. Of course, then they'd probably raise the very reasonable room rates. Luckily, we didn't have to pay extra for the ghost.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank breathleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews