We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky charm in the heart of the French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Convento
Ranked #96 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quirky charm in the heart of the French Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Yes the rooms are bit run down. "Grandma" the elevator reminds me of a padded cell and who knows if it will make it to your floor. Would I want it any other way? No. If you want fancy go somewhere else. Perhaps in some other city I may not be so pleased with this place but in New Orleans Villa Convento just seems to work. Vince, one of the front desk staff was so helpful and has a truly encyclopedic knowledge of the city and excellent taste in terms of recomending places to visit and eat. An added plus is a great breakfast place right across the street. Its location makes it quiet at night too. If you are looking for a well priced, convenient place and can forgive the slighty run down aspects of the place, I strongly suggest giving this hotel a try. I'm only sorry my room wasnt haunted. I cant wait to come back to this amazing city and another stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Upper front rooms with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sand-Darwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    149
    46
    29
    23
See reviews for
63
181
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Unfortunately it was NOT what some reviews said. To start off the location is great but not the hotel itself. The rooms are very beaten up, the air conditioner unit is very noisy, there is great humidity which leads to mold, which is visible in bedroom and the bathroom walls, and not to even mention the smell of the room was just unbearable. The closet hangers are embarrassing- old abused-wire dry cleaning hangers, the door handle was broken. Every time we opened the door the handle would fall on our feet. I did let the front desk know, but there was nothing they could do about it, and no offer of any option to reacommodate us or look for a solution.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123noway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We had the best stay here compared to any other French Quarter stay. We were pleased with the location...close the French Market, Riverside Trolley line, Bourbon Street, and the Marginy District. There is a very nice coffee shop that opens at 6:00 AM right across the street (Croissant D'or). We had a ground floor room with a comfortable bed and excellent air conditioner. The staff was helpful and friendly and provided lots of helpful suggestions. This will always be our first choice for return trips.

Helpful?
Thank dlmifflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city, mo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Just stayed 4 nights and had a good time. Sure the building is old, furniture tired, and the hotel could certainly use some upkeep, but this is not the Hilton and our stay was pleasant. The room was clean, the staff friendly, and the location was perfect. If you want to experience old style, historic New Orleans at a fair and reasonable price, Hotel Villa Convento is a place to consider. If you are picky and looking for an up to date, modern room, with fancy fixing, just book somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redrockrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This was my second stay at the Villa Convento. We had booked room 302 for nine days, but then added a tenth day at the front. 302 wasn't available, but they were able to give us Room 301 for the first night, which wasn't a balcony room, but it did have the most charming canopy bed and a separate day bed. For the remainder of our stay, Room 302 was a perfect fit with a wonderful view. We could even see the tops of ships as they went down the Mississippi (the sea wall kept part of the view obscured) We also view many carriages going by in front of the hotel as well as a second line parade and the filming of a commercial. The bed was very comfortable which made it very easy to sleep. Even if you don't get a balcony room at the Villa Convento, there are plenty of outdoor stairways and balconies where you can take great pictures or just get some excellent views.

As on my first visit, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Vince was ever smiling and happy to tell us about area attractions and life in the French Quarter. Warren clued us in on some great spots in the nearby Marigny and Bywater, and Barbara was the most vibrant person I've ever encountered at a front desk. They all did so much to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable, and "Grandma" the very old, very unique elevator certainly adds to the charm of the Villa Convento.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Soulcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#99 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#116 of 161 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Convento? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Convento

Property: Hotel Villa Convento
Address: 616 Ursulines Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#69 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,882 - ₹ 14,415
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Convento 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the French Market and Mississippi River in the heart of the French Quarter, the Hotel Villa Convento is a warm and cozy guest house, offering guests the personal service of seventh-generation New Orleanians, the Campos. Rumored to be the legendary House of the Rising Sun, this building is a Creole townhouse dating back to the 1830s. Here you can encapsulated by the sounds and smells of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Hotel New Orleans
Convento New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing